Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond by snuggle the muggle

Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Kaspi
Sunday 5th October 2008 06:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
I loved this! We got to see Snape actually being the person we found out he was, if that makes any sense.
  Quote
juliakissfreak
Saturday 10th May 2008 16:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
this was awesome!!! fills in some of the gaps...and makes Snape out to be at least part of the hero we know him to be...
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 22nd April 2008 19:43


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
haha!!! this was awesome!!! Im glad that snape was trying to help them It was a sweet story
  Quote
Zula Bean
Saturday 12th January 2008 12:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
Wonderful!
snuggle the muggle
Saturday 12th January 2008 17:06
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you liked the story.
  Quote
Shilow
Saturday 29th December 2007 13:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
I loved this story! It truly makes me sad that Severus was vindicated after his death.
snuggle the muggle
Saturday 12th January 2008 17:05
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed the story! It was really a fun one to write. And thanks for taking the time to review. I'm not sure, however, that if Snape had not been killed, we ever would have known his innermost secrets. So, maybe he wouldn't have ever been completely vindicated had he not died. I guess we'll never know, but maybe that will make you feel a bit better about the situation. Anyway, that's neither here nor there. I'm happy that the story meant something to you.
  Quote
Ladybug
Saturday 15th December 2007 19:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
I enjoyed these scenes so much, it's really interesting to see how all that background stuff in DH played out. Now that we know Snape's true motivations, it's great to see him be his true self, in moments alone with Dumbledore's portrait like that. I particularly like the way this story is rounded out by the opening and closing scenes - I really had no idea what the opening paragraph was about until the very end - really well written!
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 13th December 2007 23:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
This is very good! I was definitely afraid for Ginny, Neville and Luna. Your portrayal of Amycus is as vile as I've imagined him to be as Snape's was as uncharacteristically caring. (I would not have believed this was truly Severus Snape had I not read the memory chapter in DH. You've done a nice job making Snape out to be the kind and caring adult we never knew he could be!) I thoroughly enjoyed your story and look forward to reading more of your work. This story definitely deserves for its creativitiy and unexpected turns.
  Quote
Lily Flower
Wednesday 12th December 2007 11:37


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
Quite good. It was funny. I feel so bad for Snape, because he was a hero the whole time, just in his own funny way. So sad what happened to him, but I'm glad that Harry was able to forgive him. And it's nice to see Snapes POV in this book. Because you don't really know until the very end of the book if Snape is good or not.

So enough of my ramblings. I loved the story. Great job. The writing was wonderful and you did the characters brilliantly.

Lily
  Quote
majolie
Monday 10th December 2007 08:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
Great missing moment. I long for more peeks into what was going on at Hogwarts that year. I thought you did a nice job with everyone's characterizations as well ... except maybe Snape - he seemed a bit too soft to me. Despite not being a traitor, I think he would still despise Ginny, Neville, and especially Luna. But everything else was perfect. I'd love to read another missing moment by you!
snuggle the muggle
Monday 10th December 2007 08:40
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
I agree that he did despise Ginny and Neville. I'm not sure he really despised Luna as she seems mostly to have been overlooked by the teachers.

I'm sorry that you thought he wasn't strict enough with them. We know from canon that this detention with Hagrid was actually the punishment they received for trying to steal the sword, so I had to justify that somehow. But, I am glad you liked the story. I appreciate the encouragement to write another missing moment. I've actually got another one in mind, so hopefully, I'll be able to write it.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 1st December 2007 12:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
lol! I loved this The ending was really cute.
and i guess that he really does like the dark :p

snuggle the muggle
Monday 10th December 2007 08:43
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked the story. I picture this as being a very difficult time for Snape and I think sitting in the dark brooding just seems like the sort of thing he would do.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 20th October 2007 18:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
wow! this was well written! i think that this is the first fanfic that ive read about this topic
snuggle the muggle
Sunday 21st October 2007 07:35
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Yes, I had noticed that as well, which is why I picked this prompt from the lineup. It is sort of strange, really, as we aren't told very much in the book, and yet it must have been a major event in Ginny/Neville/Luna's lives, and for Snape as well.
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 16th October 2007 06:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
Sorry, premature hitting of review buttons should be prohibited. - I liked the insight into Snape's situation very much. I've never given it much thought until now, but I think you painted a very realistic picture. So, once more: Well done!
snuggle the muggle
Sunday 21st October 2007 07:33
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Thank you, again.
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 16th October 2007 06:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
Well done!
snuggle the muggle
Sunday 21st October 2007 07:32
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed the story.
  Quote
KirstenAnnex3
Saturday 13th October 2007 19:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
it was not what was happened
snuggle the muggle
Saturday 13th October 2007 21:42
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Um, well, I'm sorry that you didn't like the story or didn't feel it was realistic. Obviously, we don't know exactly what happened, so it's fine if you disagree with my interpretation. Thanks for at least reviewing.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Saturday 13th October 2007 13:34


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
They could spend hours talking, playing exploding snap, and cursing his name. After all, the three of them really did deserve it.

i loved that bit. Made me smile. good ending. are you continuing?

t really made me think at the bit about Voldemort and the sword, how hard it must have been for Snape to keep up the act. Being good and pretending to be bad to everyone, good side and bad, except dumbledore. man, Snape had a BAD life. but i love him. so its fine.
snuggle the muggle
Saturday 13th October 2007 21:40
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Yes, I agree. I think that was probably the hardest year for Snape, because even Dumbledore, who had been the only one to know before, was now gone. I picture it as being a very lonely, hard time for him, which is what I hoped to portray in this story. I'm glad you liked the story.
  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 11th October 2007 10:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
liked the story, although I think gave away his cards.
snuggle the muggle
Thursday 11th October 2007 10:53
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "gave away his cards" unless you mean that they could tell he was faking being angry at them. If that's the case, then you could be right. However, it is canon that that is the detention punishment they got, so at some point, he must have agreed to it.
  Quote
lantis222
Thursday 11th October 2007 08:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
Very nicely done and a very interesting view into Snape's head.
He now needed to send word to Hagrid that he should expect three very stubborn students for the next seven nights. He hoped that Hagrid would do as he expected and feed them tea and his horrible rock cakes and dreadful treacle fudge. They could spend hours talking, playing exploding snap, and cursing his name. After all, the three of them really did deserve it.

This part made me laugh. Very good!
snuggle the muggle
Thursday 11th October 2007 08:43
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Thank you. That part made me chuckle, too, when I wrote it. I'm glad you liked the story.
  Quote
everylittlething
Thursday 11th October 2007 07:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
nice missing moment! I find Snape such a difficult personality to get my head around, especially with the Carrows at Hogwarts and I have wondered to what extent he approved of their activities.
I like the way that you've redeemed Snape a little for me in this story, I find your version very believable! Thanks!
snuggle the muggle
Thursday 11th October 2007 10:56
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Good, I'm glad that I redeemed him for you. I'm not a big Snape fan, even after book 7, but it's obvious he was a "good guy" and was trying to do some good in the world, even if he went about it rather awkwardly. Writing this story really made me think hard about whose motivations were what and when and I really do think I came up with a plausible explanation. I'm glad you thought so as well.
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Thursday 11th October 2007 00:38


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
Nice concept! Very very nice, especially Luna's little outbursts.

Good Luck!
snuggle the muggle
Thursday 11th October 2007 04:31
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Thank you for the review! I am glad you liked Luna. Anyone who has ever tried to write her in character knows how difficult that can be, so I appreciate your comment.
  Quote
Delfino
Wednesday 10th October 2007 15:10


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 238

The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond
This was brilliant! Absolutely perfect! I pictured it almost exactly the same way. I especially like the ironic paragraph at the end. Very well written. Thanks for writing!
snuggle the muggle
Wednesday 10th October 2007 16:31
The Sword of Gryffindor, or, How it Came to Be in that Icy Pond (Author Response)
Thank you so much for the nice review. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004