Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Incontrovertible Truth by Ladybug

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
Zula Bean
Saturday 12th January 2008 11:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

The Incontrovertible Truth
Beautiful...you took me somewhere my imagination had never considered! Thanks you!
Ladybug
Monday 14th January 2008 19:33
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
That's lovely, thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed the journey!
  Quote
DebbieO
Saturday 29th December 2007 19:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

The Incontrovertible Truth
Wonderful, wonderful work! I loved every line. Ariana is so beautiful. The magic doesn't work because it's real. I so agree with what you've written and think it is very in-line with JKR's intent for the series. Great job.
Ladybug
Monday 7th January 2008 18:18
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Oh, thank you so much. Originally, I was focused on Harry's predicament in this scene, but as it was Ariana whom Dumbledore met, her story slowly took me over and I felt tempted to put my own spin on that whole episode. Of course, I adore JKR's themes and intents, so I'm pleased this seems to fit. Thanks for reviewing, I appreciate it so much.
  Quote

Saturday 29th December 2007 13:24


The Incontrovertible Truth
What a beautiful story!
Ladybug
Monday 7th January 2008 18:21
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Thank you, that's very pleasing to hear.
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 29th December 2007 00:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

The Incontrovertible Truth
This is really good. I like the feeling that Dumbledore is struggling to understand things that he had thought would happen. Ariana is the perfect one to greet him in the afterlife. Thanks so much for writing. I look forward to more. p
Ladybug
Monday 7th January 2008 18:14
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Thank you! Through most of the series, Dumbledore seemed so self-assured, but I loved his imperfections coming to light in Deathly Hallows, and I especially loved seeing him one final time at Harry's "King's Cross" experience.
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Monday 24th December 2007 01:07


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

The Incontrovertible Truth
Wow, what a fantastic story! Dumbledore was one of my favourite characters throughout the series and I was so sad when he died. I always hoped that he would have the opportunuty to make his peace with the ghosts of his past and receive some closure. Such a well written piece, good job!
Ladybug
Monday 7th January 2008 18:11
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Thank you very much for your review. I loved discovering Dumbledore's own history in Deathly Hallows - and I loved exploring it a bit further and twisting it sligthly to fit my own interpretation. Thanks again!
  Quote
majolie
Monday 26th November 2007 15:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

The Incontrovertible Truth
What a lovely continuation to the story of Dumbledore's death. You did a great job.
Ladybug
Monday 26th November 2007 19:39
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Thank you! You can imagine that once I'd read Deathly Hallows I was so delighted to see a whole chapter devoted to that mysterious state of being between death and life. Thanks for reviewing - I really appreciate it.
  Quote
anniep
Thursday 8th November 2007 17:08


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 165

The Incontrovertible Truth
What a truly wonderful story! I think you're right about Ariana, Albus, and Gellert--Albus was following the Pied Piper down the path to his own damnation and Ariana's death was his salvation.

The scene with Harry & Dumbledore in King's Cross was so touching, when Albus is explaining his youthful folly and life's regret. Throughout the book I knew that the truth had to be somewhere in the middle between Doge's and Skeeter's stories. On second reading of the book I was amazed at Jo's skill in weaving bits of truth, distorted with misconceptions, into both viewpoints. And now I feel like your story is part of DH, it's such a perfect continuation of the book, the chapter that didn't get printed. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Ladybug
Thursday 8th November 2007 22:57
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
I'm very honoured by your comments, thank you for such a generous compliment. I, too, really loved that chapter of Harry and Dumbledore at King's Cross. And even though I felt drawn to the story of Ariana, Albus and Gellert, my very first idea when it came to write this story was to show how Harry's realising the 'incontrovertible truth' of his necessity to die was not, in ultimate terms, so incontrovertible. I really did want to believe that Dumbledore did not require him to die without having made provision for it in some way. There is just so much to ponder and wonder about in DH. Thanks again for your review.
  Quote
B. Nonymous
Friday 2nd November 2007 21:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

The Incontrovertible Truth
You can thank Nundu for plugging your work on SQ. This was AMAZING, the thought of sweet little Ariana taking one for her brother like that never crossed my mind, but it sure will from now on. It's now *canon* in my brain...
Ladybug
Saturday 3rd November 2007 20:32
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
I certainly do thank Nundu - that was very kind to recommend my story. Especially so, as it brought you here - thank you so much for your review. I'm stoked that it's made such an impression on your "canon" understanding - that's certainly how I like to believe it all happened.
  Quote
vega black
Friday 2nd November 2007 18:44


The Incontrovertible Truth
I liked the story very much. It is a nice explication of the Corinthians quote and yet is entirely consistent with the Harry Potter universe.

I especially liked Ariana's protrayal. Well done explanation of the effect of Ariana's death on Dumbledore and how it saved him from becoming Grindelwald. Having her chose to die and be with her parents and save Albus from his fate was very in keeping with Harry's fate in the book.

I liked the reasons given for Grindelwald killing Ariana very logical. I also liked your way of dealing with Grindelwald's redemption.

Fine story.
Ladybug
Saturday 3rd November 2007 20:30
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Thank you indeed for your comments - I'm glad you noticed the similarities to Harry's position as I fully intended that comparison. I'm a bit of a fan of Dumbledore (where others, I'm aware, are a little jaded by some of his decisions/actions), so I wanted to show him in the light in which I see him. I'm very glad JKR left enough mystery around those events for us to imagine them how we wish to.
  Quote
lantis222
Friday 2nd November 2007 13:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

The Incontrovertible Truth
That was beautiful. It gives us some closure for dear Albus. Thank you!
Ladybug
Saturday 3rd November 2007 20:22
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Thank you, I've always been a fan of Dumbledore, so I'm glad you thought it appropriate.
  Quote
gypsy
Tuesday 30th October 2007 07:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

The Incontrovertible Truth
Another beautifully insightful piece from you, 'Bug. Very nice (and very different) companion piece to Twinkling. I liked your choices - that GG had intentionally killed Ariana and that she chose to die for Albus' sake. Very interesting and they work really well. I was pulled back a little from my "Dumbledore-must-be-strung-up-to-the-goalposts-by-his-gonads-for-what-he-did-to-Harry" attitude with your touching portrayal of his insecurities and grief. Something that requires a medal of some sort - I'm quite a stubborn little Slyth, you know. It was this side of me that chose my favourite line: "For the first time he can ever remember in life or in death he is struggling to keep up with the conversation."
How lost we often are, like life is a play we have not learnt our lines for. Wouldn't it relieve us all to Know as they are now able? But it is not for us. Ah, improvisation: life as it is. And I didn't plan on this being nearly as philosophical as it became. *sigh*
I think this is more my usual:
Great stuff!
T.
Ladybug
Thursday 1st November 2007 15:13
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Goodness gracious, philosophical? You mean melodramatic! But a very d&m analogy all the same. And didn't you know it's my mission in life to cure you of your flawed view of Dumbledore?

I'm glad you like my idea of how Ariana died and thanks for your assistance - esp. in the 'blocking' of my characters, who would just give up their bodies and be talking heads if they coulld! You theatre types do come in handy now and again!!

Thanks for the review, T. Here's something for you ...

  Quote
fire_faerie
Monday 29th October 2007 08:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

The Incontrovertible Truth
WOW! Brilliant! I love Albie and Ariana
Ladybug
Tuesday 30th October 2007 21:37
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Thank you! It's wonderful to have a new character (Ariana) to play with - I think she has great potential for all sorts of stories. And I've always loved writing about Dumbledore. I'm so glad you liked it.
  Quote
The_Critic
Sunday 28th October 2007 14:41


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

The Incontrovertible Truth
great job!
Ladybug
Tuesday 30th October 2007 21:04
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Wow a 5-Dumbledore rating! Thanks! I'm glad you like it.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Sunday 28th October 2007 14:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

The Incontrovertible Truth
You have written another story as beautiful as the last one. What a wonderful afterlife you have given us.

This gave me chills-

'He was jealous; jealous of your family especially me and how much it took for you to care for us. He took Abe's offer to its logical conclusion. If you didn't have me to look after, you could go off with Gell and change the world. He wanted you to do that, and he thought this was the way.

'Had I survived that terrible fight, Albie,' she says gravely, 'you would have been convinced that you were not adequate to care for me.'

He understands the truth of what she is saying.

'You would have accepted Abe's offer and left me in his guardianship.' She places a hand on his arm. 'And you would have gone away with Gell, changed the world, and destroyed your soul.'
Ladybug
Tuesday 30th October 2007 21:01
The Incontrovertible Truth (Author Response)
Thank you very much for your kind review. After that wonderful chapter at King's Cross that JKR gave us in Deathly Hallows, I couldn't resist finding out where Dumbledore had his similar experience - and it seemed to flow naturally from the story I'd already written for him. Apart from that, I was very keen to right the wrongs of that awful Rita Skeeter woman!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004