Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Transformation of Ducklings by MagnoliaMama

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
BookRose
Friday 28th March 2008 09:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2
Huh. I always thought Malfoy would marry Pansy, but Grazia is much better. I wonder if Rowling ever published something that listed every single Wizarding School in the world, then we'd know where Grazia went to school. This really is very interesting, pleasant & captivating never really seemed like Malfoy's cup of tea. Anyway, moving on!
MagnoliaMama
Friday 28th March 2008 09:54
2 (Author Response)
Well, Rowling has since revealed that Draco actually married Daphne Greengrass' younger sister, but it was apparent from the epilogue that he hadn't married Pansy - if he had, she would have been acknowledged as such when Harry and Ron saw them at King's Cross. I'd already written too much of this when we learned the identity of Draco's wife and was too dependent on Grazia's character and personality to revise it. I have to admit, though, that I prefer Grazia to Rowling's choice.

Thanks for reviewing! I hope you continue to enjoy this.
  Quote
D.A.D.A.chik
Monday 26th November 2007 13:59


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 93

2
great! i love this story! intresting htat Al's in slytherin, wouldn't be my idea, but its all opinion.
  Quote
crystal_warning
Wednesday 21st November 2007 04:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

2
I absolutely adore this story! I hope you update really soon
  Quote
damabeth
Tuesday 20th November 2007 03:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

2
How Ron and How Draco! Leave it to the Mrs. to both know what is best for their children! Thank You! Grandma Beth
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Friday 16th November 2007 01:28


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

2
Excellent. Very well written with interesting possibilities. Well done.
  Quote
Antosha
Thursday 15th November 2007 11:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

2
What a pleasure—and of course the mothers see things differently and sweep through all of the testosterone-fueled posturing.

I've always thought it would be nice if Albus actually were sorted into Slytherin and Harry and Ginny had to put their money where their mouths were. I wonder—are we going to see them at all?

It's funny—as I was reading this I found myself thinking of all of the Draco/Ginny fics out there, and how many of them would like to have been this story—and I asked myself why those fics rubbed me so emphatically the wrong way, while this one is such a pleasure.

The answer, of course, is two-fold: first of all, your writing is always a pleasure to read; and more to the point, this isn't Draco and Ginny! These two actually like each other—what a concept!—and Scorpius as you've shown him here is an infinitely more pleasant and interesting human being than his father ever was (or, in this timeline, apparently is). I wonder if Draco felt as conflicted about what happened in Diagon Alley as Ron eventually did. And I wonder what will happen when he finds out that Grazia has brought his son and heir to visit that haven of blood traitors, mudbloods and Gryffindors, Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes!

Hmmmm...

I suppose these icons work for our new couple, don't they?

MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 21st November 2007 11:58
2 (Author Response)
You always do leave the best, most thought-provoking reviews, Antosha. The Potters will (probably) make a brief appearance several chapters down the road--even though I've written 2 more chapters tan have been posted here, the story is still in flux, but there's a thread developing involving James that will probably require Harry's intervention to resolve it. That's all I can say for now.

I've seen a lot of people describe Rose/Scorpius as Draco/Ginny (or Draco/Hermione), Take Two, and I can see where they get that idea from but I don't agree with it. But then, maybe that's just because I never saw the appeal of Draco/Ginny. The truth, as you said, is that Rose isn't Ginny and Scorpius isn't Draco. I think the distinction is even more important for Rose, because Ron is very different from Ginny, and the traits Rose inherited and learned from her father are quite different from those she'd have if Ginny were her mother. With Scorpius, there's the added advantage of not knowing who his mother is--thereby eliminating Pansy or anyone else known from the books--and thus being able to construct for ourselves how much of an influence Draco would be on his son's personality.

What I find particularly ironic about this exercise, if you can call it that, is that I've become much more sympathetic to Draco than I would have ever imagined.
  Quote
haileythefan
Tuesday 13th November 2007 20:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

2
can't wait till the next chapter
  Quote
Ladybug
Tuesday 13th November 2007 19:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

2
Intriguing family! You've made me actually want to read more about Draco, even if it's just to find out how he found himself in such a well-adjusted family! Lots of lovely things here - I love Ron's relationship with Rose and I chuckled at the memory of Lavender Brown! But this is how you'll know how engrossed I was in this chapter - when Hermione admonished Rose to stand straight I found myself sitting up straighter and trying to improve my posture - because like Rose I was a tall, gangly, skinny teenager. I loved your description of her - coltish - I've never seen that simile before, but it's a perfect description. Anyway, I'm really enjoying the awkwardness between our two ducklings and the parallel parental comparisons.
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 21st November 2007 12:09
2 (Author Response)
I was so delighted to see that you'd decided to give this one a chance! I've found myself increasingly intrigued by and sympathetic to Draco as I've worked on this--I don't like him, but I've enjoyed working out the gradual path to redemption he's had to take since the end of DH. It's contributed a lot to my characterization of Draco, just as Ron has contributed a lot to Rose. It's been an absolute joy writing this, and I'm so glad you've enjoyed reading the first 2 chapters.
  Quote
sweetdreamer285
Tuesday 13th November 2007 13:18


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

2
I like Mrs.Malfoy here, so unique from the other Mrs. Malfoys I've read so far (which are not any less pleasant)
  Quote
mary-v
Tuesday 13th November 2007 09:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

2
Very cute chapter. I really like Grazia (and her name; its so unusual and beautiful!) and I love Scorpius! And Rose. And evryone, really. Lovely work!
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 13th November 2007 10:39
2 (Author Response)
I really like Grazia (and her name; its so unusual and beautiful!)

I couldn't resist the symmetry of a name that means the opposite of "Malfoy." I'm really glad you're enjoying this, because I love writing about Scorpius and Rose. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
BabyRuth
Tuesday 13th November 2007 08:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

2
Glad you didn't have Draco marry Pansy. Never could picture that one. Looking forward to future chapters!
MagnoliaMama
Wednesday 21st November 2007 12:11
2 (Author Response)
I couldn't see Draco ending up with Pansy either, and the fact that his wife wasn't identified in the epilogue as someone we know pretty much confirms it. I'm glad you liked this. Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
oompaloompa
Tuesday 13th November 2007 07:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

2
Give us tthe next chapter, pleeeeeeeeeeeease!
I'm Maggie.
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Tuesday 13th November 2007 04:32


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

2
I'm loving this story so far, very Romeo and Juliet! Can't wait for next chapter!!
  Quote
brad
Monday 12th November 2007 22:53


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

2
I was a bit surprised to read that Rose had been sorted into HUFFLEPUFF? With the second-best brain in her year? Hmmm.

Story reads very well!
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 13th November 2007 03:31
2 (Author Response)
I hope you're not implying that Hufflepuff is the House for dimwits. Just because Rose has brains doesn't mean that she'd be a shoo-in for Ravenclaw (any more than her parentage means she'd be a shoo-in for Gryffindor)--there are other factors the Hat takes into consideration.

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying this.
  Quote
Dollface
Monday 12th November 2007 16:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

2
aww i loved it! keep up the amazing work. Do try and update quickly won't you? =] 10/10
  Quote
fire_faerie
Monday 12th November 2007 14:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

2
WOW! that's one of the best chapters i've read in a while!!! I love the contrast between Rose and Scorpius, and Draco and Grazia (lovely name, by the way, it feels nice on the lips if you say it out loud!) My only question is: How ON EARTH did Draco marry such a nice woman??? Anyway, you have a beautiful writing style which I haven't seen frequently, and trust me when I say this: I read a LOT!! Update soon!!!
MagnoliaMama
Tuesday 13th November 2007 07:31
2 (Author Response)
My only question is: How ON EARTH did Draco marry such a nice woman???

Ron and Hermione are asking themselves the same thing. You'll get some answers in the next chapter.

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you're enjoying this, and was very flattered by your comment on my writing style.
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Monday 12th November 2007 13:59


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

2
Aww... that's sweet! Although I'm not sure any daughter of Ron and Hermione's would have made it into Hufflepuff, that doesn't matter too much. I like the 'we're practically family' bit - I'm sure with so many Weasleys that in another generation the whole of Gryffindor tower will be related either by blood or by marriage!

Can't wait for more!
  Quote
The_Critic
Monday 12th November 2007 12:29


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

2
lol, Great job on wife, I love how your writing this story, keep up the good work!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004