Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Mother's Sacrifice by Katieay

Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
carrotycake
Sunday 26th January 2014 08:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

A Mother's Sacrifice
Oh wow. This is so powerful. I think it was Tonks and Remus' deaths that hurt the mist when I read the Deathly Hallows, and this is no less gut-wrenching! Wow. I'm just going to go and cry now.
  Quote
majolie
Saturday 1st November 2008 18:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

A Mother's Sacrifice
Wow ... sitting here crying and feeling total sympathy for this mother and any mother faced with a similar choice. We are only to sadly aware of mothers around the globe, in this very real world, making similar choices on a daily basis. As I read the lines,
you think of Lily Potter and Alice Longbottom. You borrow their strength, the amazement in their sacrifice and you tap into their maternal love as you turn to leave the room.
I felt sure that Lily, at least, was really there, giving her support and strength.

When I read DH, the death of both Tonks and Lupin was one of those punch in the gut moments for me ... it hit me hard and I could not really believe it at first. I was glad for your insight into Nymphadora's mind ... I was not all outraged that she had left Teddy to go fight - it seemed to me to be inevitable, she was an Auror after all. But your story satisfied a need in me to see her thought process spelled out and clarified for me. To walk through it with her and feel her pain.
  Quote
lantis222
Tuesday 27th November 2007 11:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

A Mother's Sacrifice
That was beautiful. I don't know if I would have the courage that Tonks showed. I don't know if I could leave my children. Though to know that they were taken care of and that I was fighting for a better world for them...still it would be the hardest thing that I could ever be faced with. I consider myself lucky that I will never be faced with that horrible decision.

Anyway great job, I really liked this.
Katieay
Friday 1st February 2008 05:01
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I don't know if I'd have the courage, either, but I like to believe I would. As long as I knew they'd be well looked after, I think I'd like to die rather than lose my husband that way, fighting for what I believe in.

When push came to shove, I'd probably stay home.

Sorry I'm two months late in replying. Life got crazy!
  Quote
D.A.D.A.chik
Monday 26th November 2007 16:20


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 93

A Mother's Sacrifice
omg tears! beautiful writing and ideas
Katieay
Friday 1st February 2008 04:59
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm very glad you liked it (sorry for not replying sooner!)
  Quote
knightsbridge
Saturday 24th November 2007 17:19


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

A Mother's Sacrifice
Thank you so very much for taking the time and the care to tell Tonk's story. We all know how it ended, but mostly it's told from Harry's perspective of his never-ending guilt complex. To me, Remus and Tonks were the saddest of all of the deaths...and yet they died as they had lived, side by side; doing as is oft said in the books and fics: 'what is right, not what is easy' and doing it for Teddy, so that he could grow up in a world free of tyrany.
I won't say awwww, or how sweet, because I don't think you meant it to be any of that. You wrote a story of love, above and beyond most of our understanding, for husband, for child, for family, for freedom!
Darian
Katieay
Friday 1st February 2008 04:58
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
I'm sorry I've taken so long to reply, things got crazy hectic in the lead up to Christmas, and now we were away for four weeks.

Thank you very much for such a fantastic review. I really connected with Tonks's decision, because I like to think I would fight by my husband's side for the love of my child if I were ever in that kind of situation. I don't know if I actually could, but she's a Hufflepuff, so it makes so much sense that she went. The last line of your review almost made me cry. Thank you.
  Quote
pyromain
Sunday 18th November 2007 09:44


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

A Mother's Sacrifice
I've got mixed emotions about this story but then again I had them when I read the book. Feels so like another harry to me but then again Teddy will have love in his live.
Katieay
Friday 23rd November 2007 03:07
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Indeed. The book sure was crazy on terms of mixed emotions. Thanks for the review
  Quote
Dunby
Saturday 17th November 2007 04:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

A Mother's Sacrifice
Wow! I am sat here with tears running down my face. so beautifully written. I could always understand why Tonks and Remus left their baby but seeing some of the emotions (albeit your thoughts not JKRs') from behind the scene as it were, made so much more sense of the story. Thank you for your time and trouble in writing this for us!
Sue
P.S. I hope you had a lovely time on your son's birthday
Katieay
Friday 23rd November 2007 03:06
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad this piece garnered such an emotional response. Thanks for going to the trouble and taking the time to review, Sue.
Katie
PS I did, thanks, though it's taken me a week to recover
  Quote
Patches
Saturday 17th November 2007 01:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

A Mother's Sacrifice
This is very good. This is a really good explanation of what Tonks must have been thinking when she went to help Remus. To leave her son behind and probably face death was an exstreamly difficult decision to make. So many women in war torn countries have probably had to make decisions like this. Thank you so much for writing. I look forward to more stories from you. p
Katieay
Monday 19th November 2007 12:59
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thank you so much! Sadly, mothers are faced with this decision every day in the worst parts of the world. Thank you so much for reviewing! I have more stories lined up /shamelessness
  Quote
The_Critic
Friday 16th November 2007 19:29


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

A Mother's Sacrifice
Katieay
Monday 19th November 2007 12:57
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
  Quote
mlc872
Friday 16th November 2007 16:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

A Mother's Sacrifice
WOW! That was a fantastic but sad story. I also never understood why people bashed Tonks for doing the same thing that Lily and Alice did. I also liked how the story is told in the second person. You really transport the reader into Tonks’ feelings so well.
Katieay
Monday 19th November 2007 12:55
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad I was able to do that. I wrote this in an hour, so it's a very new thing for me. Receptions like the one its gotten from you is very nice, indeed. Thanks so much for reviewing.
  Quote
Ilikeolderwerewolves
Friday 16th November 2007 15:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

A Mother's Sacrifice
Oh.. my...god. The part of me that is Nymphadora Tonks just died. Again. Ahhhh!!! Sob.
Your writing is soo heartbreakingly beautiful, you got the emotions, the thoughts for such a huge decision just right. I hope you right other stories soon!
Katieay
Saturday 17th November 2007 01:11
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm sorry to make you sad, but I'm really glad a big Tonks fan such as yourself liked this story The emotions were the easy part -- my own little boy turned one yesterday. Thanks again for the review!
  Quote
myketje
Friday 16th November 2007 09:34


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

A Mother's Sacrifice
Beautiful...

thank you!!

Kiss kiss

mee xxx
Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 12:18
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Kelleypen
Friday 16th November 2007 08:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

A Mother's Sacrifice
KTA--This is so lovely. You did a brilliant job with this. I especially liked the dynamic between Tonks and her mum. Brava!
Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 12:17
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thank you, Xena I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
hedwig5221
Friday 16th November 2007 07:23


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

A Mother's Sacrifice
Thank you...beautifully written. You make us all understand the sacrifice and bravery of both Tonks and Remus...to make a better world for their son. It was something they both had to do...just as Lily and Alice had to fight and sacrifice.

*wipes tears from cheeks*

Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 12:16
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
It was something they both had to do...just as Lily and Alice had to fight and sacrifice.


Exactly! That's exactly what I was trying to portray. Thank you for your kind review
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Friday 16th November 2007 01:43


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

A Mother's Sacrifice
that was amezin!

really, really good you did an excellent job. loved the second person as well; made me feel a lot closer to tonks and what she went through! sob.
Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 12:09
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thank you, I'm really glad you liked it! The second person was pretty new for me, and I was skeptical when Antonia suggested it, but it was perfect for the story. Thanks again for your review
  Quote
tante
Thursday 15th November 2007 19:09


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

A Mother's Sacrifice
Well done, Honey!
Very, very well done.

Very.
Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 01:23
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Hee! Why, thank you
  Quote
cckeimig
Thursday 15th November 2007 18:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

A Mother's Sacrifice
This was amazing. As a mother I feel that it'd be impossible to leave my kids. But at the same time, if the world was in danger of becoming somewhere not-worth-living and I did nothing to stop it from happening, I don't think I could forgive myself. What a choice.

Congratulations on capturing this dilemma so fully.
Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 01:22
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Wow, what a lovely review. My own little man was only 8 months old when DH hit the stands, and I could absolutely see why Tonks had to be at Hogwarts. I was disappointed that she was judged so harshly, when Lily Potter and Alice Longbottom did essentially the same thing and are held up as heroes.

Thank you so much for reviewing.
  Quote
Ladybug
Thursday 15th November 2007 17:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

A Mother's Sacrifice
Beautiful. I love how Andromeda, the mother, understands Nymphadora, the mother, and frees her to make this decision. You capture all the physical sensations so well that the emotions swirl in me as I read it - lovely work, Katieay!
Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 01:21
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
I love Ladybug reviews! *squishes you* Thanks for reading and reviewing, I know you're insanely busy right now.
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Thursday 15th November 2007 15:18


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

A Mother's Sacrifice
Awesome. The choices this fictional character had to make are made in the real world, but thankfully, not often.

Well written, good work.
Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 01:20
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Thanks. It's true that mothers are often faced with similar dilemmas, and it happens more often, sadly, than it should. Thanks for leaving a review
  Quote
finchley
Thursday 15th November 2007 14:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

A Mother's Sacrifice
Whooooo. Now I DO understand! Thanks for a lovely, love-filled story.
Katieay
Friday 16th November 2007 01:19
A Mother's Sacrifice (Author Response)
Oh I'm glad! Thanks for reading and taking the time to leave a lovely review
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004