Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For That Terrifying Momentum by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
Dun8y
Monday 2nd June 2014 07:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
A good start, I was feeling the horrendous atmosphere of an unusual hot English summers day, rare as rocking horse poo these days! I look forward to reading the rest of this tale, and then onto your wip story! Thank you
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 3rd June 2014 08:21
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
And thank you for reviewing. I hope you enjoy the rest.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 15th June 2011 12:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
hmmm... interesting... I wonder what Scotts part will be in everything. Cant wait to read more!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th July 2011 01:10
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Lucky you, there's a lot more to read.
  Quote
xaphanea
Tuesday 2nd November 2010 18:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
As I was leafing back through chapter reviews I realized I hadn't gone back and reviewed every chapter since I started reading this story on phoenixsong... and for that I apologize. I diligently followed you on FF.net and you graciously asked me to read it here so that you could reply to my reviews (which is an awesome feature), and there I went not even reviewing enough. ^_^' My bad.

Anywhoo, I thought I'd start reading through it again and review every chapter that I haven't yet done so. They won't be as entirely accurate as I've already read the story once, and a few chapters randomly over again, but I obviously don't remember all 26 chapters word for word and I can still give you constructive feedback. Well I hope it's constructive feedback, I don't usually write in depth reviews because it's quite rare that I find such gems online that I even feel like commenting on. Anyway enough rambling.

Upon coming back and starting from the beginning, I remembered what it was like to first meet and fall in love with Scott. He is so very tangible and real to me, and I know he was right from the start. This first chapter is a great opening (love the irony in the title), because it's a quick introduction into the fact that there's a new character with tons of mystery being introduced. It also is right in the reader's face what he's there for, though not why, which leaves us clicking 'Next'.

I also really like how it gives insight into how Scott is a pretty up front and honest person, due to the fact that he blatantly tells Harry he was going to lie to him but didn't want to. It takes balls to tell somebody that, and for me it makes Scott instantly likeable, though I remember being a little wary of him when I first read this.

Also I love how dark Harry is here, the part about not being able to keep a grasp on any given emotion. 'Sporting several holes' is pretty awesome imagery. Now that I've read your author's notes in chapter 26 it makes a lot of sense why you describe things in the unique and beautiful way that you do. You have an artist's eye and imagination for sure.

(On a side note, I understand the frustration of having wonderful ideas and not being able to draw them... I'm a photographer for that reason.)

Anyways, beautifully written. It's what hooked me in the first place.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 13th November 2010 04:39
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
As I was leafing back through chapter reviews I realized I hadn't gone back and reviewed every chapter since I started reading this story on phoenixsong... and for that I apologize. I diligently followed you on FF.net and you graciously asked me to read it here so that you could reply to my reviews (which is an awesome feature), and there I went not even reviewing enough. ^_^' My bad.


It was never my intention to ask for reviews concerning material on which you have already opined. Unless of course, your opinion has changed or you have discovered some sort of error that might need addressing.

But if your boredom has descended to such dire chasms that you actually want to do such a thing, then I guess I can't stop you.

Anywhoo, I thought I'd start reading through it again and review every chapter that I haven't yet done so. They won't be as entirely accurate as I've already read the story once, and a few chapters randomly over again, but I obviously don't remember all 26 chapters word for word and I can still give you constructive feedback. Well I hope it's constructive feedback, I don't usually write in depth reviews because it's quite rare that I find such gems online that I even feel like commenting on. Anyway enough rambling.


I don't remember all 26 chapters word for word either. Sometimes I read over my stuff and it's like somebody else wrote it, I can't recall the thoughts behind it.

Hah. Assuming there were any thoughts to begin with.

Upon coming back and starting from the beginning, I remembered what it was like to first meet and fall in love with Scott.


Love, exciting and new!

He is so very tangible and real to me, and I know he was right from the start. This first chapter is a great opening (love the irony in the title), because it's a quick introduction into the fact that there's a new character with tons of mystery being introduced.


Yes, very mysterious, as he doesn't appear in any of the canon books, which leads us straight into my next response:

It also is right in the reader's face what he's there for, though not why, which leaves us clicking 'BACK '.


I fixed that for you.

I also really like how it gives insight into how Scott is a pretty up front and honest person, due to the fact that he blatantly tells Harry he was going to lie to him but didn't want to. It takes balls to tell somebody that, and for me it makes Scott instantly likeable, though I remember being a little wary of him when I first read this.


You fall into the category of people who were wary of Scott. This was lucky for me, because I gained a great reviewer. Had things been slightly different, you would have fallen into the much more common category of people who instantly became suffused with a deep and abiding contempt for Scott, as he makes no appearance in the books and appears to be both smart and powerful.

Deep within the minds of the fanboy\girl, klaxon sirens sound. ACHTUNG, ACHTUNG - ORIGINAL CHARACTER.

Also I love how dark Harry is here, the part about not being able to keep a grasp on any given emotion. 'Sporting several holes' is pretty awesome imagery. Now that I've read your author's notes in chapter 26 it makes a lot of sense why you describe things in the unique and beautiful way that you do. You have an artist's eye and imagination for sure.


Either that, or I'm trying too hard.

(On a side note, I understand the frustration of having wonderful ideas and not being able to draw them... I'm a photographer for that reason.)


I like photography.

Anyways, beautifully written. It's what hooked me in the first place.


I'm so glad I didn't throw you back in.
  Quote
Danikay
Sunday 3rd May 2009 18:31


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
Well now, that's certainly an un eventful day isn't it?
Lol just found this story, and it's really good so far ^_^ I can't wait to see what else you have for it.
DaniKay
Caleb Nova
Sunday 3rd May 2009 21:34
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Thanks. I hope you like the rest of the story as well.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Sunday 29th March 2009 16:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
Even forgetting about the good plot and the promise of canon pairings, this is just really well-written. I look forward to reading the rest of it.
Caleb Nova
Monday 30th March 2009 01:17
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Cool. Tell me what you thought once you finish up, point out anything that stood out to you, good or bad.
  Quote
The Boss
Sunday 29th March 2009 03:59


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
Good beginning to this story - got to keep on reading it to find out who this Scott is. But on the whole looks very good

The Boss
Caleb Nova
Monday 30th March 2009 01:07
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Thanks. Let me know what you think when you finish.
  Quote
jakjakattk
Friday 22nd August 2008 16:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
I'm not so sure about this story yet but I will give review later after I have soaked some more of it in.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 23rd August 2008 07:42
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Fair enough. Let me know what you think.
  Quote
jakjakattk
Friday 22nd August 2008 16:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
I'm not so sure about this story yet but I will give review later after I have soaked some more of it in.
  Quote
jakjakattk
Friday 22nd August 2008 16:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
I'm not so sure about this story yet but I will give review later after I have soaked some more of it in.
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Friday 30th November 2007 07:45


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
Good start to your story! Keep writing, it should be interesting to see how Scott interacts with Ron, Hermione, and Ginny!
Cheers!
Caleb Nova
Friday 30th November 2007 08:44
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Thank you. Scott's interactions with the canon cast have been a constant source of both amusement and hardship for me, but I hope that they come across as being plausible when you read them.
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 29th November 2007 14:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
Very interesting... A non-Dumbledore deus ex machina... I'm looking forward to reading more!
Caleb Nova
Friday 30th November 2007 08:47
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Scott does represent a sort of deus ex machina in his own way, though you'll see that he has just as much tendency to cause problems as he does to solve them - on a personal level, anyway. Thank you very much for reviewing.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Thursday 29th November 2007 10:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
You're off to a really interesting start! Well written, and you've got Harry voice right, I think. American exchange students usually make me bail, but who - or what - this Scott might be has be intrigued. I always think post-OotP is the best time for fanfiction, and I'm eager to see how you have Harry approach the prophecy and the loss of Sirius.

When Scott first appeared with blonde hair and grey eyes - I was on high alert . Still very curious though, and I hope Tonks is running back to DD to check on that story. I'm looking forward to more.
Caleb Nova
Friday 30th November 2007 08:55
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Let me say that I highly appreciate your review for two main reasons: one, I know you are yourself an accomplished author. Two, you stuck it out despite being confronted with what you (rightfully) saw as a perpetuated cliche.

Without giving anything important away, I can only assure you that Scott is not an American, nor is he an exchange student. And to silence that insidious, ever-present suspicion that I know entered your head the minute you were introduced to my original character (a suspicion that, confirmed, would instantly turn you against this story), Scott will never, ever, become romantically involved with a canon character.

Things will become clearer in progressive chapters, but I am well aware how many potential readers my concept has cost me. That's the price of my ideas. But I was compelled to write them anyway.

Thank you again.
  Quote
lantis222
Thursday 29th November 2007 09:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
Very interesting start to a story. I wonder who this Scott guy really is. You've done a good job, I can't wait to see what happens next.
Caleb Nova
Friday 30th November 2007 08:57
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
Who Scott is (and who he isn't, for that matter) is a question that will be wrestled with for some time to come. Suffice to say, I'm not even certain that he understands himself very well.

Thank you for reviewing.
  Quote
midnightwriter1213
Thursday 29th November 2007 08:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
Wow. Very confusing, and yet, intriguing. All a bit unclear, but still very well-written. I'm sure everything will be explained eventually. Great work! Can't wait for another installment!

~ MidnightWriter
Caleb Nova
Friday 30th November 2007 08:59
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
The next few chapters will clear things up a little bit, yes. I hope you enjoy the illumination as much as you did the darkness. Thanks for the kind review.
  Quote
dougalpotter
Thursday 29th November 2007 05:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

1: Nothing Important Happened Today
Really good start, I like the approach you are taking so far. Look forward to your next instalment.
Caleb Nova
Friday 30th November 2007 09:00
1: Nothing Important Happened Today (Author Response)
The next installment should be posted within a reasonable time frame, I hope. It's not always a matter of writing, but of polishing, you know. Thank you for reviewing.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004