Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For That Terrifying Momentum by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 15th June 2011 12:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2: Shape and Diverge
interesting... its like Scott knows the outcome, but not how it was achieved... he also seems sort of old school...
im enjoying this story! Cant wait to read the next chapter
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th July 2011 01:10
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
Old school? An interesting description for him. On to the next chapter...
  Quote
xaphanea
Tuesday 2nd November 2010 18:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

2: Shape and Diverge
What I love most about this chapter is that Scott questions everything that I questioned while reading the HP books... The whole bit about the robes (referencing 'a Jedi' stilled my heart ) really cracked me up. It was a good transition to see the wizarding world through Scott's eyes, even though at this point the reader doesn't know who or what Scott is. But it was a neat depiction of the world that we already know and love, from the cynic and sarcastic mind of Scott Kharan.

It's also nice to see him stroking Neville's ego. That poor kid needs some positive feedback. At this point it's nice to learn more from Scott's point of view, I remember what he said about the shape being extremely confusing but intriguing as hell the first time I read it, but now it's a lovely bit based on how far I've read. The thirst for knowledge of Scott's world will never be completely satiated for me, I don't think, so even going back and reading some pieces that I forgot about... it feels like Christmas.

I'm also loving the semi-awkward transitional phase of Harry and Scott's relationship, it's obvious from the start that it's going to get heavy, but you're very good at making sure it doesn't happen to fast. Mentioning that Harry is still wary of him, and of course, Hermione's careful and calculated curiosity, and Ron's simple indifference... all very in character, done very well.
Caleb Nova
Wednesday 17th November 2010 07:15
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
What I love most about this chapter is that Scott questions everything that I questioned while reading the HP books... The whole bit about the robes (referencing 'a Jedi' stilled my heart ) really cracked me up. It was a good transition to see the wizarding world through Scott's eyes, even though at this point the reader doesn't know who or what Scott is. But it was a neat depiction of the world that we already know and love, from the cynic and sarcastic mind of Scott Kharan.


Scott comes from a very technologically advanced society, and often finds the wizarding world 'quaint', at best. Rowling's rejection of modern conveniences seems very selective. Apparently confining her characters to the usage of outhouses was too far, even for her, and plumbing was a must.

It's also nice to see him stroking Neville's ego. That poor kid needs some positive feedback. At this point it's nice to learn more from Scott's point of view, I remember what he said about the shape being extremely confusing but intriguing as hell the first time I read it, but now it's a lovely bit based on how far I've read. The thirst for knowledge of Scott's world will never be completely satiated for me, I don't think, so even going back and reading some pieces that I forgot about... it feels like Christmas.


Like a very sad and lackluster Christmas.

I'm also loving the semi-awkward transitional phase of Harry and Scott's relationship, it's obvious from the start that it's going to get heavy, but you're very good at making sure it doesn't happen to fast. Mentioning that Harry is still wary of him, and of course, Hermione's careful and calculated curiosity, and Ron's simple indifference... all very in character, done very well.


When still in the theoretical stages of this story, it was always my thought that Harry would probably like Scott. Trust him, no, not immediately, but Harry seemed predisposed to like Scott's personality in all its tactless glory. After the events of fifth year I thought Harry would appreciate honesty, no matter how blunt. And while Harry's sense of humor was always a bit understated in the books, he definitely had one.
  Quote
Danikay
Sunday 3rd May 2009 19:13


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

2: Shape and Diverge
Scott certainly has one hell of a way to intruduce himself doesn't he?
Lol, amazing chapter. I love the way how you're using The Half-Blood Prince to outline your story- well, at least it seems that way if you aren't
DaniKay
Caleb Nova
Sunday 3rd May 2009 21:36
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
This story follows the general outline of HBP with assorted deviations. Nothing is ever exactly the same, even if the change is merely a different point of view. The differences can be that subtle or far more extreme, depending.
  Quote
cckeimig
Thursday 31st July 2008 18:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

2: Shape and Diverge
Oh, this has been SO much fun so far! I am really enjoying this.
Caleb Nova
Thursday 31st July 2008 22:43
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
Hey, thanks. I hope you continue to enjoy the story as it progresses from here.
  Quote
potterlovesginny
Wednesday 20th February 2008 13:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

2: Shape and Diverge
Hey, really interesting story! In keeping with the cannon in a way, but an entirely different spin on it!
One thing though, Scott says that Harry must defeat Voldemort, as that's his destiny, and the universe will be messed up. But If Voldemort kills Harry, then destiny has been fulfilled, as the prophecy says "neither can live while the other survives"
I liked your criticising of the robes and quills and other such clichés. I've often wondered why J.K.R. uses them as I think that it's very improbable that wizards would use such unproductive items. Pens aren't electrical, and hence wouldn't malfunction in Hogwarts. And there's a reason why muggles don't use them. Same with the cloaks. I think J.K. could have been more original in those respects.
Now I must go read your new chapter, good luck!
Caleb Nova
Friday 22nd February 2008 16:20
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
Well, it depends how you read into it. Destiny is not generally an 'either\or' situation. It does say that neither can live while the other survives, but that just means that they will at some point have to come into conflict. One of them is going to die.

Now, Voldemort is the one who started the entire situation in the first place. He's the catalyst. As far as the shape of the universe is concerned, he's an imposition. Harry's been chosen to get rid of this 'problem'. Voldemort achieving victory cannot be considered an acceptable outcome because that will only exacerbate the situation. In other words, why would the universe accept Voldemort winning? That's not going to fix the reason why there was a prophecy in the first place! It is of course a possibility that if Harry loses, the universe will simply choose someone else to take his place - but who knows what kind of time frame that would happen in. Nothing really guarantees a second chance, so Scott considers it his job to see to it that the first chance doesn't get wasted.

As for technology, I too find it difficult understand the willful technological isolationism of the wizarding world. It seems self-defeating in a lot of ways.

Thanks for the review and the questions. I always enjoy trying to answer them.
  Quote
Narumi
Thursday 13th December 2007 09:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

2: Shape and Diverge
Great chapter. Very exciting followup to the intro. I look forward to reading more!
Caleb Nova
Thursday 13th December 2007 20:06
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
There's quite a bit more to be read, though currently it's not really in great shape. This is the first story that I've ever had edited by someone else prior to posting, and while it does provide a drastic increase in quality, I've found it also slows things down considerably. But the alternative is undesirable. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Wednesday 12th December 2007 19:35


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

2: Shape and Diverge
Good chapter! Keep on writing!! Cheers!
Caleb Nova
Thursday 13th December 2007 01:49
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
Thank you. The next chapter should only require a little work before it's ready.
  Quote
midnightwriter1213
Wednesday 12th December 2007 07:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

2: Shape and Diverge
Hmm... interesting developments. Great stuff! The addition of this Scott character to the regular 6th book seems to throw a wrench into things, but so far I suppose it's very helpful, at least for now. Scott's interaction with Borgin was great! Where did he learn to act like that? Can't wait for the next installment!!

~ MidnightWriter
Caleb Nova
Thursday 13th December 2007 01:48
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
Scott has a rather close relationship with violence, a fact that is in conflict with many of the views held by the canon characters. That will a recurring theme. As for where he learned it, inflicting pain is an art like all others - perfected with long practice.

I appreciate your taking the time to review.
  Quote
midnightwriter1213
Wednesday 12th December 2007 07:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

2: Shape and Diverge
Hmm... interesting developments. Great stuff! The addition of this Scott character to the regular 6th book seems to throw a wrench into things, but so far I suppose it's very helpful, at least for now. Scott's interaction with Borgin was great! Where did he learn to act like that? Can't wait for the next installment!!

~ MidnightWriter
  Quote
Chatmandu
Tuesday 11th December 2007 12:31


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

2: Shape and Diverge
I have never been interested in "Student Exchange" genre stories. Not really my cup of tea. However, your story has changed my mind about that. Your writing style is witty and quite descriptive. Two quotes in this chapter had me laughing out loud:

"These morons hadn’t even figured out that time and space were the same thing."

"...it didn’t look like he was brooding – he seemed to be in more of a contemplative mood. Most people wouldn’t draw much of a distinction between the two, but with Harry the subtleties of self-pity were very involved."

Just those quotes alone are worth following this story, let alone the intriguing AU plot line. You've caught my interest as much as Scott caught Hermione's. I look forward to your next update!
Caleb Nova
Thursday 13th December 2007 01:44
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
Ironically, I've never been interested in Student Exchange genre stories either. Logical natural progression simply dictated that it was the most quick and convenient way for Scott to integrate himself at Hogwarts. Of course, it's also a fairly inelegant solution that's caused him some delays.

I've done my best to twist the exchange student cliche beyond recognition, but that's not entirely apparent yet at these early stages. I can only offer you my reassurances that Scott is not a representation of me, the author, he is not a great wizard, he is not universally liked, and a female canon character will never fall in love with him, and concurrently offer my deep thanks for giving this story a chance.

Oh, and I don't think there's anything quite so gratifying as when someone identifies quotes that made them laugh. Though I've tried in the past, I've found my sense of humor is far too pervasive and self-serving for me to excise it from my writing, so I've given up and now indulge my juvenile spirit on frequent occasions (this story has been edited down to a T rating for this website, so some of the more reprehensible, and therefore most common, forms of my deplorable humor will not be apparent).

Thank you for reviewing.
  Quote
lantis222
Tuesday 11th December 2007 12:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

2: Shape and Diverge
Another very interesting chapter. I love how you've taken cannon and made it your own. You make it flow effortlessly so that it's a pleasure to read.

It was so much fun to watch Malfoy get his...well you know. Scott is an interesting character and I can't wait to learn more about him. He seems to have been around forever yet he has teenage angst down to a pat. I can't wait to find out what happens next. Update soon!
Caleb Nova
Thursday 13th December 2007 00:32
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
I'm glad you think that the story flows fairly effortlessly. I've always felt one the main weaknesses of my narrative is that it relies so heavily on a the reader having strong knowledge of 6th book canon, but since I don't want to simply repeat the book I haven't got much of a choice.

Since helping Harry is Scott's priority that automatically makes him an enemy of Malfoy - the encounter on the train merely accelerated the inevitable. Scott's teenage feelings are an unavoidable result of his age. Hormones are powerful enough to override experience at time, unfortunately for him.

Thank you for reviewing, and I hope to see you again next chapter.

  Quote
DailyProphetReporting
Monday 10th December 2007 23:07


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 180

2: Shape and Diverge
Just wanted to give you a quick thumbs up. This is very well written and intriguing so far. You've done a nice job throwing a number of fanfic cliches on their head.

I look forward to your next chapter!
-KC
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 11th December 2007 00:21
2: Shape and Diverge (Author Response)
Those cliches, as much as I've enjoyed twisting them, are increasingly discarded as the story progresses. Once the readers understand who Scott really is and what he's trying to accomplish, the initial impressions of him are no longer relevant.

Or at least, that's the idea. I won't know whether I've succeed until you and my other reviewers read further.

Thank you for the positive review - as always, they are like fuel for me. I also apologize for the flawed formatting of this chapter. I wasn't aware that Phoenixsong discarded the Word border lines that I use to separate my scenes, and as a result this chapter is all blended together. I see you've posted some stories here - I don't suppose you could recommend an alternative? All the different fanfiction sites have their own filters for rejecting various keyboard characters, so I never know what will work.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 12 of 12
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004