Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Natural Order by moshpit

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
SomeGuyFawkes
Tuesday 8th April 2008 20:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

2: Royal Gifts
Well paced, few typos and intelligent... This chapter is great!
There are some plot holes but the story telling more than made up for that.

  Quote
Narumi
Tuesday 18th December 2007 10:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

2: Royal Gifts
Nice, swift movements on Harry's part. Even though I'm only two chapters in, I'm very dissappointed to know that there's only five chapters total! This is a really good setup you've got going, and I'd love to be able to pour over more chapters in greater detail!
moshpit
Thursday 20th December 2007 21:17
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
I suppose if I really worked at it, I could probably have doubled the length. Maybe even as much as tripled it. But there really wasn't any need to. It's a walk through the playground, not an investigation of every toy present. Perhaps it will inspire some (new) thinking of the re-do theory, and a new author will rise up doing a more detailed exploration of the space. While I wouldn't have minded doing something more, in all fairness, I don't want to write more than short bunnies while Echoes is in progress. It just doesn't seem right, so to speak.
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Saturday 15th December 2007 20:18


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

2: Royal Gifts
I loved the image of harry frollicking in the daisies!
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 23:07
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Glad people are enjoying that, as twisted as it may be. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
thwaaack
Friday 14th December 2007 20:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

2: Royal Gifts
Oh my...I can just imagine Snape's response to what he saw in Harry's mind. I'm looking forward to Harry's first meeting/corrospodence with Sirius.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 23:07
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
As you may know by now, it's more the first meeting than it is anything else. A lot of the exacting detail has been glossed over to keep the length and scope tractable for a bunny that wouldn't leave me alone during a particularly slow cycle of EoP chapters. Cheers.
  Quote
The_Critic
Friday 14th December 2007 19:02


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

2: Royal Gifts
Snape would find himself looking at a naked Harry Potter frolicking in the giant flowerbeds of Hyde Park whilst random Muggles walked right past. He would be able to see Harry eating flowers, rolling in them, and rubbing vigorously against them. Harry had taken particular care to frolic extensively with a set of very vibrant, over-sized yellow daisies. AH! LOL I would pay good money to see that on Snapes face! (your not selling photos are you) AWESOEM!
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 23:06
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
If I had photos of Snape after encountering that particular memory, I would post them free of charge. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
lantis222
Friday 14th December 2007 07:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

2: Royal Gifts
Now this Harry I like. Thanks for showing his humanity a bit. I liked that he would forever be haunted by what he did to Malfoy if he let himself feel it. I also like the very perceptive Sorting Hat.

Well done I can't wait to read the next chapter.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 23:05
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Thanks for giving the remainder of the fic a chance. If you focus on the parts of Harry you were concerned about, and read carefully, you may "find the truth" of the matter. If you get lost, though, I've decided to put a map on the end of Ch5 that points out the major turns involved. Hope you enjoy the rest of it. Cheers.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Friday 14th December 2007 06:24


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

2: Royal Gifts
Ring of Gyges - Huh! Not only are your stories entertaining, they are also educational.

Unity, peace, and prosperity. Dangerous words. Isn't that what Grindelwald and Dumbledore thought about? Or the bait on the hook Riddle used to bring the pureblood families under his thrall.

So we have an insane (but very functional) Harry Potter walking a very fine tightrope. Obviously Harry never heard of Tiny Tim or he would have staged his "memory" for Snape in a bed of tulips. On second thought, the visual imagery from that scene is already disturbing enough.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 23:04
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Shouldn't any story, on some level, be educational? Conflict, history, psychology, vocabulary, something? Reminds me of that poem -- "Fleas: Adam had'm" -- which, I suppose, was about as minimalist as you could go and still have some educational value (don't stand near Adam).

Ahh, you didn't like the parallels of the promises? And yet, the promises were only to a Hat, not to a wider audience of followers... or is that Hat a follower of some sort? Deep psychological questions lurk therein. As for a tightrope, I'd think it's closer to a straightjacket, but that might just be my preferences coming out a tad. Disturbing imagery is good for the soul.
  Quote
girlspell
Friday 14th December 2007 06:15


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

2: Royal Gifts
Pettigrew’s head as a doorknocker ...that whole sequence was hilarious. The pièce de résistan was the daisies in thie park. Snape really has his work cut out for hi, but he is razor sharp. Lets hope Harry dosen't get too confident.


Hmm..I wonder what a certain writer would think about the new fortunes of his pure blood family?
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 23:01
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Well, if you know that the rat's got rocks for brains, surely a bit of door-knocking would be an honest job for him? Daisies in the park . . . sounds like a cwarbeck fluff special. I should suggest that title to her. Now, Snape is a character. What does he know, and what does he suspect? Hmmm. It's all off the page in the fic, but there are clues here and there. I've bowed to the review rate -- which has greatly surprised me -- and put together a long A/N to explain some of the off-the-page stuff for the uninitiated. Shrug. We'll see how it goes. Almost done now. Glad you're still out there, enjoying the random things that creep forth in the dark of the night...
  Quote
nas4a2
Friday 14th December 2007 05:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

2: Royal Gifts
i like what happen when snape looked into harry's mind and saw that type of image. so i though it was funny. can't wait for the next chapter. this is looking to be a great storie
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 22:59
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
I'm glad people are finding the humour in it. I don't know how many knock-offs of it may creep up, but the whole idea of knowing when someone is probing your brain just begs for "prepared" memories to deflect them. I'm sure any relatively disturbed mind can cough up a few thousand ideas, but the daisies were the tamest I was willing to write.
  Quote
Memory King
Friday 14th December 2007 01:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

2: Royal Gifts
Excellent work, loved how Harry dealt with Wormtail. What will he do with Quirrell, and when? Looking forward to more!
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 22:57
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Quirrel, Quirrel, wherefore art thou Quirrel? You can expect a full resolution on that topic very, very soon now. Of course, there's only a couple of chapters left, so you'd expect it soon regardless. Cheers.
  Quote
Wolfric
Friday 14th December 2007 00:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

2: Royal Gifts
Good chapter. Malfoy wrapped in lead at the bottom of the lake certainly works for me. A fitting end for all who enjoy tormenting others. I am quite curious as to how many "pure bloods" will buy their way free so that Harry has to deal with them in some other fashion. Thanks for writing. W.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 22:57
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Ah, the pure bloods and their financial wherewithal. By now, you should know where that leads, in Ch3 and Ch5, but . . . at this point, it's still a bit of a question. Glad you're still enjoying it, despite the fleeting sanity behind it all.
  Quote
johnapple
Friday 14th December 2007 00:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

2: Royal Gifts
Wow! What a wonderful story you are writing. Thank you for sharing your talent. I look forward to more.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 22:56
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Glad you're enjoying the story. It's a bit over the top at times, but it was fun to write.
  Quote
skippy agogo
Thursday 13th December 2007 22:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

2: Royal Gifts
Bwa ha ha! Very well done, well written and enjoyable take off of viridians nofp. Looking forward to the other 3 chappies of this slapshot short.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 22:55
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Slapshot? That would be one spin on it, but it's a valid way of looking at it. Glad you're enjoying it. What will you think of the next time you pass a bunch of yellow daisies? Cheers.
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 13th December 2007 22:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

2: Royal Gifts
Oh, justice is very sweet the second time around! I love Petigrew's fate and that of Umbridge, Crouch and Fudge. It's rather ironic that I read of Draco Malfoy's entombment while listening to a broadcast of Modern Marvels on the History Channel that was dedicated to torture devices. I just hope that all of Harry's scheming doesn't backfire on him. I think my favorite part of this chapter is the fact that Harry befriends Rita Skeeter so early in the story and uses her to make sure people know the truth. Well done. I'm looking forward to chapter three.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 22:54
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Modern Marvels is an amusing program. Sometimes the trivia you can pick up from it is pretty neat, but I think I learned a lot more back in my undergrad years when I was in the History of Technology classes. A bigger bunch of geeks is hard to imagine, but we got really excited about spring steel... At any rate, glad you're amused and enjoying it. I wanted it short to explore the idea and show what was possible, rather than go through every detail carefully. That's what my other story is for, although the premise is far from this one. Cheers.
  Quote
blue artemis
Thursday 13th December 2007 21:42


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

2: Royal Gifts
That was fun with Snape. But wow, Harry really should have thought through what the hat wanted.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 22:52
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
I'd ask the question of whether anyone could possibly guess what the hat wanted? Especially while in the middle of a sorting?
  Quote
brad
Thursday 13th December 2007 21:19


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 136

2: Royal Gifts
My exclamations of 'good grief!' must continue ... cavorting with giant daisies in Hyde Park?!?!?!

On the serious side, this was interesting - "then he could take the steps he planned on to eliminate his future knowledge". What, is Harry going to obliviate himself, so as to put himself on a level playing field with his peers? Hmmm. Makes sense ... I mean, if *I* knew I was destined to end up with Ginny I'd obliviate myself too ... :-)

I'm sort of surprised that Harry hasn't killed Quirrel already; what's stopping him? Horcruxes, I suppose?

Curious as to what the hat's going to do with, or ask of, Harry, at the end of this story.
moshpit
Sunday 16th December 2007 22:52
2: Royal Gifts (Author Response)
Brad, watch out, you're being posses by Charlie Brown! Duck and cover!

C'mon, surely you found that scene in Hyde park amusing. Doesn't it seem like the kind of thing someone would do? I liken it to going into the Dept of Mysteries, breaking the "real" prophecy orb, dropping in a replacement that _anyone_ can pick up, only to have it play back Queen's "We Are The Champions". Can't you imagine V's face at that moment? Or the fun his followers will have at their "success"?

Now, your biases on poor Ginny are showing. Of course, why you're on an H/G site is a tad confusing, given your biases, but that's okay. They let me post here, and it's pretty clear I'm not entirely stable upstairs, so who am I to point out such minor trivia?

Quirrel is alive for a very good reason. If you think about canon, and what the bit o' snakey is doing vs all those inert other bits . . . mayhaps an answer will pop out at you. And bear in the mind the order of destruction matters, in that ol' snakey has to be the last bit.

The Hat has a role to play. You know I can't write a fic with the Hat just being a hat. No, it has to be The Hat. There's a reason for it, actually, which I'm sure will bother a lot of people. That's okay. I have kevlar clothing with asbestos lining. Cheers!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two — A Duet
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004