Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Hope and Loss by Thorny Rose

Showing 1 to 9 of 9
Lauberry
Saturday 26th January 2008 15:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Hope and Loss
This is so beautifully written. Thanks for sharing it!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 25th January 2008 12:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Hope and Loss
this was a lil confusing.... kinda jumping all over the place, i thought
not bad though
  Quote
Aggiebell
Thursday 24th January 2008 20:09


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 102

Hope and Loss
Oh. Very, very nice. This was incredibly poignant, all of it, and beautiful and hopeful at the same time.

Dean was...perfect. He's not a character that I spend a lot of time thinking about, honestly (I'm a Neville fangirl, so most of my time is spend wondering about him instead ). But I think Dean was the perfect choice for the main character and POV of this fic. It really brought home to me how much everyone went through and how much they all were affected. I love, love, LOVE that you had Dean help Madam Pomfrey; I love even more that you didn't make it easy for him (which sounds cruel, I know, but it's the reality of war that people die).

Little details caught my attention, too. "Undesirable 387" and Luna and the holes in the knees of Ted's jeans and OMG, "Madam Lestrange" and the mud in Ted's wounds. I think that's an image that will stay with me for a while, honestly. That just took the knife and twisted it, where my heart was caught in my throat for the horror that she'd do something like that and then make certain that her *sister* saw (not to mention the fact that the coroner obeying Bellatrix shows how bad things had gotten). On a happier note, Dean's comment about Neville never having to buy his own drinks again made me squee.

Like others have said, I really like the fact that this ended on a hopeful note. Not happy, but I really feel like Dean helped Andromeda to start healing here.

Excellent missing moment.


~Julie
  Quote
pyromain
Wednesday 23rd January 2008 11:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Hope and Loss
great story really loved it surviver guild I think the call it. Well I hope dean will be all right.
  Quote
Narumi
Tuesday 22nd January 2008 11:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 368

Hope and Loss
"Go home and make her the happiest woman in the world."

Oh, wow, that one had me in tears. Very well done. I absolutely love to read the 'immediate aftermath/funerals' fics, and this is definitely right up there at the top of my list. Morbid of me, I guess, but I love the sharpness of moments, the poignant images that penetrate the fog of surviving when so many others died... It's just great to read a fic that can really capture that. Keep writing!
  Quote
majolie
Sunday 20th January 2008 18:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Hope and Loss
Okay, that is the 2nd story I have read tonight to make me cry. Whecnever I think of poor Andromeda, I always feel so bad. To lose so much in such a short time would be too much for many people, so I have enjoyed reading stories that show her starting to recover a bit. Obviously, she is not really in recovery in this story, but I see you are giving her something to work with and hold on to. And manybe she and Dean will develop an ongoing relationship.
I also really liked how you showed the persepctive of one more person not quite feeling in the mood to celebrate yet. So many fics deal with Harry, or, one or more of the Weasleys not being ready to party etc ... but it makes sense that they would not be the only ones. There would be a good number of people who had lost friends, family and acquaintences, who would feel it difficult to rejoice when there had been such a price paid.

So - although I am going in search of some fluff to put me in a better place, I really liked this and thought it was well-thought out and written.
  Quote
lucyjekyll
Saturday 19th January 2008 22:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

Hope and Loss
Wow, that was really touching and well-written.
Thorny Rose
Monday 21st January 2008 00:24
Hope and Loss (Author Response)
Thanks, I'm glad that you liked it.
  Quote
Arnel
Saturday 19th January 2008 02:40


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Hope and Loss
I really enjoyed your story. The hopelessness that both Dean and Andromeda feel is palpable. I was deeply touched by Andromeda's memories of identifying Ted's body and how much pain the situation was causing her and Tonks and Lupin. I'm really glad you ended the story the way you did; there definitely was hope in Dean's offer to help and he might just have given Andromeda the comfort she needed when he recalled her husbands words. Nicely done. This is a story I'll be coming back to read again.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Friday 18th January 2008 12:58


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Hope and Loss
oh my god that was beautiful. i love your style of writing! that opening was just amezin! - 'The pink blush of the morning had been replaced by clear blue skies and a strong breeze which bedecked the surface of the Lake in white lace ruffles.'
perfect, you gripped me all the way through and i had tears in my eyes at the end. i am now off to see what else you have written!
Thorny Rose
Saturday 19th January 2008 00:28
Hope and Loss (Author Response)
Thanks! I'm rather fond of the opening as well, I feel that it shows off Dean's slightly poetical nature, after all, being an artist, when he looks out of a window he's got an eye for the potential of a view.

If you are really interested in other fics of mine, I have a WIP up at the SQ under a different (and very much older) pen name:

http://www.sugarquill.net/index.php?action=profile&id=1104
  Quote
Showing 1 to 9 of 9
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004