Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Detention With Professor Longbottom by jncarlin

Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 28th June 2015 03:47


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 144

Detention With Professor Longbottom
Nice
It's good to see Neville as a teacher, well done.
  Quote
Thorn
Tuesday 9th December 2008 08:43


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Detention With Professor Longbottom
is Luna Neville's wife?????!!!!!!
  Quote
joes12321
Thursday 31st July 2008 01:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Detention With Professor Longbottom
ahhh neville. there's no character in the books who grew more than him and for that, you have to love him.

the one thing struck me hard while reading this is that it seemed like neville has a little bit of dumbledore in him - and that is a really pleasant thought.
  Quote
rich.sanidad
Monday 19th May 2008 09:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Detention With Professor Longbottom
Great fic! Your characterization of Neville is very well done, in my opinion. You show a logical maturity without losing the personality established in canon. You had free rein to do whatever you wanted on Teddy, but you kept him human and realistic. He's having a better orphan life that Harry did at that age, but he still has issues to deal with. I have no idea what the parameters of the original challenge were, but I think the fact that the story stands well on its own without needing any references to the challenge speaks well of your skill.
  Quote
Hot48cricket
Sunday 17th February 2008 05:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

Detention With Professor Longbottom
This was nice, I really enjoyed it.
  Quote
Hot48cricket
Sunday 17th February 2008 05:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

Detention With Professor Longbottom
This was nice, I really enjoyed it.
  Quote
Lizzie_Harrison
Saturday 16th February 2008 06:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Detention With Professor Longbottom
Really good
  Quote
aharkins
Friday 15th February 2008 12:08


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 178

Detention With Professor Longbottom
excellent story - Thanks for writing and sharing
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:37
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thank you.
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 14th February 2008 19:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Detention With Professor Longbottom
This was very well done. What a great gift for Neville to give to Remus son. It is really great that Teddy has a teacher who knew his father as well as Neville did. Remus was a great teacher and his example really helped his own son even though Remus wasn't there to help him himself. It just goes to show that people that live with adversity can become better because they have overcome the things they had to go through. Harry and Neville would be great examples to their children and their god-children. You have done a great job putting this piece together. Thank you for writing. I look forward to more of your stories. p
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:37
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thank you so much. I had lots of fun exploring the similarities between Teddy and Neville, and highlighting the ways Remus was a mentor and inspiration for Neville. I really love Neville and enjoyed writing him. Thank you for the lovely detailed comments.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 13th February 2008 14:59


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Detention With Professor Longbottom
nice story! i never though of teddy being scared of that althought that does make sense... and you never read this kind of fanfic its a refreshing change
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:33
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thanks so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
mollyw4
Tuesday 12th February 2008 15:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

Detention With Professor Longbottom
Very nicely done.
  Quote
mollyw4
Tuesday 12th February 2008 15:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 45

Detention With Professor Longbottom
Very nicely done.
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:31
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thanks.
  Quote
TreyFury97
Tuesday 12th February 2008 14:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 46

Detention With Professor Longbottom
I like this ficlet. It was interesting seeing a Neville themed story, and him using his experiences with Teddy. I had never connected how much he and Teddy are alike, and I can see him and Teddy bonding in a special way that others might not realize. Great Job, and I hope to see more Post Hogwarts ficlets from you, because this one left me wanting more.

Trey
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:30
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thanks! I actually didn't see all the similarities between the two characters until I started writing. I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
lantis222
Tuesday 12th February 2008 12:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Detention With Professor Longbottom
I'm speechless. This was wonderful. Neville is one of my all time favorite characters. I knew he was destined for great things. Although he is a destroyer of Horcuxes and every bit as much a hero as Harry, I do believe he has just accomplished one of his greatest works.

Well done, I hope you write more.
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:25
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thank you so much! That is amazingly high praise, and I really appreciate it.
  Quote
majolie
Tuesday 12th February 2008 12:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 477

Detention With Professor Longbottom
That was great. I really enjoyed seeing Neville taking on the role Professor Lupin played for him. They both had difficult childhood's and used them to help others ... and how fitting that the child Neville helps is Lupin's son.

Loved it.
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:23
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thank you. I'm glad you liked my take on Neville as a Professor so much. I really had fun exploring the impact Lupin had on his life, and the similarities between Neville and Teddy.
  Quote
Worldmaker
Tuesday 12th February 2008 11:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Detention With Professor Longbottom
Excellent. Most excellent.
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:12
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
brios
Tuesday 12th February 2008 10:49


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Detention With Professor Longbottom
Aww, I love it, so sweet. I've always like Nevile as a character and I think you pictured him here beautifully as a caring teacher.
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:06
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thanks! I've always thought Neville would make an excellent teacher.
  Quote
Gardengirl
Tuesday 12th February 2008 05:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Detention With Professor Longbottom
Very nice! I love your compassionate, still slightly hesitant Neville. That Teddy should be somewhat afraid of his werewolf heritage is a very insightful thought, too. Neville's way of helping Teddy feel comfortable with him by means of their grandmothers is just SO Neville. And that Neville's desire to go detention-less until Christmas being in honor of his Gran's memory... really beautiful. Great job!
jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 14:01
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm really happy you enjoyed my story so much. I do love Neville, and I'm sure he is an excellent teacher and mentor. I had fun writing this.
  Quote
southatxchris
Tuesday 12th February 2008 04:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Detention With Professor Longbottom
outstanding work, bravo.

jncarlin
Friday 15th February 2008 13:58
Detention With Professor Longbottom (Author Response)
Thank you.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Tuesday 12th February 2008 04:34


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Detention With Professor Longbottom
wow that was lush! i never imagined teddy being insecure and having those little problems but it really worked. and i love how neville became like lupin was with harry! i think he'd make a great mentor!
loved teddy too. can't get enough of stories about him, he's so adorable but mysterious!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 11th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004