Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For King's Crucio by Ardie Bea

Showing 1 to 10 of 10
hpnopart
Thursday 6th March 2008 05:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

King's Crucio
Great work! Your understanding of voldemorts mind is as good as Dumbeldores! But, I didnt understand why he had to send narcissa when he could have used leglimency to check if Harry was dead.
Ardie Bea
Sunday 9th March 2008 00:10
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thanks hpnopart.
Sorry it's taken me so long to respond; real life and all that...
I think Voldemort avoided using Legilimency on 'dead' Harry for two reasons; one is that he has recently dipped into Harry's mind again (according to my story at least) and found it as painful for him as ever, so he was avoiding that experience (not that he would admit that to himself - that would seem too much like a weakness...), and secondly, he chose someone expendable to check for him, indicating that he was afraid that Harry's 'body' may hold more surprises for him. Having just been knocked off his feet a litle caution does seem advisable!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Saturday 23rd February 2008 13:52


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

King's Crucio
Awesome story! I liked reading from Voldemort's point of view, and seeing how he was able to read everyone else's minds as he waited for Harry. And he picked up that Harry thought of Ginny before he died too

Excellent story, great job!
Ardie Bea
Sunday 24th February 2008 13:44
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thanks ibelieveintruelove.
You'll know from my pre-DH 'Dear Ginny' why I think it so sgnificant that Harry thought of her as he faced death. I still think it.
  Quote
nogas10
Thursday 21st February 2008 14:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

King's Crucio
A good story! It's the same misterious, scary feeling that was in the original scene. It's intersting how you took the same scene, change the main character - and so, the whole story.
You manages to get into Voldemorts's mind, and still make him be Voldemort. It isn't easy as he's such a terrible character.
Good work!
Ardie Bea
Friday 22nd February 2008 19:08
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thank you Nogas. I'm afraid I found Voldemort's mind only too easy.
  Quote
sweetdreamer285
Tuesday 19th February 2008 15:13


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

King's Crucio
haha, great title!
Ardie Bea
Wednesday 20th February 2008 12:10
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thanks sweetdreamer
  Quote
Krypa Dakay
Monday 18th February 2008 21:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

King's Crucio
Oh yeah, and I think it was a perfect place to end your piece. Excellent 'case study,' as it were.

And I also liked your explanation of why V. chose Narcissa to check if Harry were dead - because she was expendable. I always wondered why he did that, knowing that she wasn't very fond of him at the time, and was more likely to lie about it. Again, very well written piece!
Ardie Bea
Wednesday 20th February 2008 12:09
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Yeah, it was fun to tie down some of those speculations - trying to read JKR's mind as well as Voldemort's!
  Quote
Krypa Dakay
Monday 18th February 2008 21:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

King's Crucio
Wow, nice job! Excellent use of words and imagery. You totally nailed it!
Ardie Bea
Wednesday 20th February 2008 12:08
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thanks Krypa
  Quote
Miri
Monday 18th February 2008 13:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

King's Crucio
Very, very well done. I really like the concept of this piece, it's name and how well it could fit into canon, especially the character of Voldemort.

The idea that it was not only the casting of AK that destroyed the Horcrux within Harry but also Tom Riddles's utter determination to be alone, connected to no one and therefore the only important one. That the malformed suffering baby of King's Cross ( I found that scene in DH rather painful to read--I wanted someone to comfort the baby) was deliberate as Tom chose hate and fear instead of any hint of warmth. You can almost, but not quite, feel a smidgen of sympathy for Bellatrix whose love for her Dark Lord was apparently soon going to lead to him probably killing her, simply because she dared to care.

Your insight into Riddle's mind makes me wish that you had taken this a bit farther and let us see his reaction to the rest of the battle sequence.
Ardie Bea
Monday 18th February 2008 16:47
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thanks Miri. That's a fantastic review. Like you, I wanted someone to comfort the 'baby' and I guess part of my motivation for this story was to show why it couldn't be.
Sorry It wasn't longer, but see my response to gymnastgal's review on that. Besides, best to leave you wanting more eh?
Cheers
RDB
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Monday 18th February 2008 11:47


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 36

King's Crucio
WOW.

You are the epitome of descriptive writing. I can honestly say that JK could not have done better in that area herself (though she'd certainly give you a run for her money).
Ardie Bea
Monday 18th February 2008 16:41
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thanks Pharaoh. That's made my day.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 17th February 2008 22:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

King's Crucio
wow! this was really interesting to read from voldemorts perspective
wouldve been nice if you did all the way to voldemorts actual death
but that was a good point to cut off at
Ardie Bea
Monday 18th February 2008 16:38
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thanks Gymnastgirl. The story was centred around Voldemort's 'King's Cross' decision-making, and so really needed to end there.
  Quote
majolie
Sunday 17th February 2008 20:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

King's Crucio
Wow - really powerfully written. I read the description and was not sure I would enjoy it ... but it was really good.
Ardie Bea
Monday 18th February 2008 16:36
King's Crucio (Author Response)
Thanks Majolie. I guess the description isn't actually inviting is it - but then, who would want to be in Tom's mind?
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004