Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Three Trips on the Knight Bus by St Margarets

Showing 1 to 20 of 29 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
J-TGriffy
Friday 13th April 2012 15:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
  Quote
Wotcher_harry
Tuesday 3rd January 2012 02:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
I somehow stumbled upon this fanfic and loved it! I love Harry-Ginny, and this one does good justice to their relationship. I believe JKR left a lot unsaid in the books, but she did give a lot of fodder for H/G relationship material. Quite often, I've seen writers treat their relationship poorly - making Ginny look needy or haughty. I think this fanfic really nails her character and makes it abundantly clear why Harry & Ginny work as a couple.

Also, when I started reading it, it started as a smut but ended as a nice warm, fuzzy tale. Good job!
St Margarets
Wednesday 4th January 2012 02:16
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it! H/G certainly have passion, but it's not the only thing they have going for them. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
MollyW
Tuesday 11th October 2011 15:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
I LOLed at Ginny's binding the wallpaper into a book. Hee. And her interaction with Kreacher is priceless.

My heart broke for Harry's not being able to save the little girl, but his drunk Patronus was hilarious.

Every parent's worst nightmare . . .

LOVE this story!
St Margarets
Wednesday 12th October 2011 10:45
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
LOL - I tend to *say* ridiculous things when I'm mad, so I thought trying to remember a spell would be just as bad.

Thanks for reading this ooooold story. *hugs*
  Quote
kash2210
Saturday 4th October 2008 11:40


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 172

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
“But a daughter is going to kill me.” - As a father that's so true!!!

3 nice tales which were well written and nice to read!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 26th April 2008 10:13


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
haha very cute!! I love how this had three parts to it
and at least lily knew what to do
haha i love the ending! thats when we let her out of detention!
St Margarets
Tuesday 29th April 2008 12:24
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
The three parts seemed like a good way to cover a lot of time. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
bookish327
Tuesday 22nd April 2008 18:52


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
I've read this before, but I decided to re-read it (since your work is always worth re-reading several times ). However, it doesn't appear that I left a review after I read it the first time, so I will now.

I really liked this story. I liked how fiery Ginny was during the first part, with all of her interesting hexes that she was firing at Harry. I also liked how Harry took care of her and took anything she had to dish out to him, even though he wasn't really the one with whom she was angry. Another thing I really liked was Kreacher's role in that part of the story. I've often wondered what role JKR felt that Kreacher played in Harry's life, post-DH: if he served Harry happily and devotedly, or if he was still served him in a somewhat grudgin way, or if Harry freed him, etc. Since I love happy stories (at least, happy endings), I always hoped that Kreacher would end up being as he is in this story: wanting the best for Harry (and Ginny, by extension) while still having some of his own unique personality (e.g., what he said to Ginny that caused her to call him a brat). That would be my first choice. If that wasn't possible, I would prefer for Kreacher to be a free elf, or to have died when he led the house-elves' charge in the Final Battle (since he would be proud to have died doing his part to avenge his beloved Master Regulus). So, my point is that I love how you have portrayed him here: funny and a bit sarcastic, yet devoted to Harry and Ginny.

I loved the drunken Patronus image that you wrote so descriptively. It makes sense that the Patronus itself would appear quite tipsy also, if the one casting was drunk. I loved how Ginny pulled the information out of Harry (since he's always had some problems expressing his feelings when he's upset) and took care of him. Yet she was still a bit feisty, getting snappy and impatient with him here and there; the real Ginny, not the sanitized, idealized persona in which some writers seem to get stuck.

I also loved the last section of this story. Ginny was a more "in control of her emotions" mother than her own mother had been, not flying off the handle when she realized Lily had been at the Hogsmeade party.
She snapped her mouth shut. Lily wasn’t going to tell her anything if she was doing all the yelling.
I don't think Molly would have been able to control her emotions that well in the face of her child's brush with a dangerous situation. She did a wonderful job of finding out what happened in a calm way, as well as handling Harry's reaction to the news. Because she diffused the situation by tabling the conversation until the next morning, she helped Harry and Lily get to the point where they could hug and Lily could apologize to Harry for what she did. If Ginny hadn't been there, Harry's fear and anger and Lily's defensiveness about doing the right thing in the end could have made the conversation spiral into a worse place.

Finally, one of the aspects that I like the most is how Harry and Ginny talk to each other in this story, especially in the last section. They're so funny and teasing.
I thought the boys fighting constantly was the worst part of parenting,” Harry said. “But a daughter is going to kill me.”
I see that harsh punishment didn’t quash your spirit.
Is that like reverse parenting or something? Our kids are so bad, they’re locked up and now they’re safe?
We have to have the stamina to yell at Lily again in the morning.
He’s our honeymoon baby — that’s my story and I’m sticking to it
That’s when we’ll let her out of detention.
You write their relationship so well. Also, your Ginny (as in canon, also) keeps Harry from getting too dark and morose, reminding him of the other side of the situation (e.g., their earlier punishments and learning their lessons and Lily having to experience the same results of her actions). Yes, you write Ginny well: funny, level-headed, loving, but also with hints of temper (although it's more controlled as a parent).

Wonderful story (as yours always are)!
St Margarets
Wednesday 23rd April 2008 10:15
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
What a lovely, long review - from someone who loves Ginny as much as I do! (Both her strengths and weaknesses). I do love the H/G dynamic and I enjoyed following it through different problems in their lives. While I don't want either one of them to have any problems in their post-canon lives, it's realistic to think that they will have a few. Hopefully, nothing worse than this. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Hollu
Monday 21st April 2008 12:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
Fun!
St Margarets
Monday 21st April 2008 16:17
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for all of your nice reviews today. It's sweet of you to let me know you're reading!
  Quote
lantis222
Friday 29th February 2008 11:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
I've just had time to finally catch up on my reading. I loved this, it was well done. I'm not looking forward to having my little girl turn 13. I'll just have to trust that I've taught her well like Harry taught Lily. Great job!
St Margarets
Saturday 1st March 2008 03:57
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
I think you're right about teaching your children well. That's really the only control we as parents have in a crazy world. I'm glad that came out in this story (although a Knight Bus in real life would be nice) Thanks for reading!
  Quote
bbnaz
Monday 25th February 2008 12:35


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
Excellent! This taps in so well with my own experience (except maybe the honeymoon baby) and made me smile. Children forget that their parents have "been there, done that" and so do the parents!

Thank you for making my afternoon brighter.
St Margarets
Monday 25th February 2008 15:55
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. It's amazing how the wizarding world can contain the same problems and anxieties our world has. Just because you get rid of Voldemort doesn't mean all of your troubles don't go away. It's so true about the generations. *sigh*
  Quote
cordelia47
Sunday 24th February 2008 06:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
Another wonderful story, St. Margarets. I love everything you write.
St Margarets
Sunday 24th February 2008 09:51
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for letting me know!
  Quote
EJH0904
Saturday 23rd February 2008 11:00


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
I just love Harry and Ginny, and you do them so well!
St Margarets
Saturday 23rd February 2008 15:59
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
I love them, too! So it's good to know this story did them justice. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
majolie
Friday 22nd February 2008 17:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
That was fabulous. I loved it. And I cringed. I have a 3 year old daughter! What am I going to do?

But really, that was just great - exactly what I was looking for this evening. You are one of the few people who can write about some of life's most traumatic, angst-filled moments without too heavy a hand - and with some humor and happiness thrown in.

Thank you!
St Margarets
Saturday 23rd February 2008 06:10
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
*soothes* You have time - and you probably won't have to worry about her at boarding school hundreds of miles away. So there's that.

I do think humor is necessary - not just for a story - but to keep yourself going in the dark times. I think H/G both have a gift for it. (Why they're my favorite pairing) Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Friday 22nd February 2008 07:24


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
How nice to see a reprise of Seraphina, even as a cat.

This was such a sweet story, especially the final piece. As the father of two grown daughters, it really brought back memories of how much you just want everything to turn out all right for them. And how hard it can be to let them find their own solutions. Perhaps we should have tried the detention until thirty option with our younger one...

As always, thanks for sharing this with us.
St Margarets
Friday 22nd February 2008 11:47
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
Yay! Someone remembered Seraphina!


And how hard it can be to let them find their own solutions.

This is so true - and so necessary. I'm glad the last part rang true - even if we don't have Knight Buses for our nearest and dearest.
  Quote
brios
Thursday 21st February 2008 11:19


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
Detention until 30!? poor Lily! LoL.

Excellent story.
St Margarets
Thursday 21st February 2008 11:46
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
LOL - well, it will feel that way to Lily. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Thursday 21st February 2008 09:18


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
YAY! Definitely one of the best post-DH one-shots I've read so far. Great job!
St Margarets
Thursday 21st February 2008 09:24
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. The Knight Bus was a good way to explore different times in H/G's life. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
MartinDean
Thursday 21st February 2008 01:15


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 63

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
Hi there, really enjoyed these short stories.

Keep writing

Martin
St Margarets
Thursday 21st February 2008 04:00
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
Thanks, Maritn! I have another short H/G in the works. I can't seem to stop writing.
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Wednesday 20th February 2008 20:41


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
I really liked your 3 stories of the Knight Bus! Very good! You are a great writer! Keep on writing! Cheers!


St Margarets
Thursday 21st February 2008 03:59
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
Hee - I can't seem to stop writing. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Worldmaker
Wednesday 20th February 2008 17:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
Oh bravo.
St Margarets
Thursday 21st February 2008 03:58
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Wednesday 20th February 2008 14:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
nice story!!!
I love all your stories!!! This was really neat! It all connected together and flowed nicely
haha ncie ending love how harry didnt get a punishment and james was the silver lining
haha
St Margarets
Thursday 21st February 2008 03:58
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
Hee - I think a spirited boy like James would have had an interesting start in life. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
potterlovesginny
Wednesday 20th February 2008 14:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

Three Trips on the Knight Bus
Oh, I really loved this story! In lots of places it was really funny, and I liked ur take on the characters at that age. Keep it up!
St Margarets
Thursday 21st February 2008 03:57
Three Trips on the Knight Bus (Author Response)
Aging the characters was the real challenge, so I'm glad it worked. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 29 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004