Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Skipping to the End by St Margarets

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
bbnaz
Monday 3rd March 2008 06:20


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

Part 1
Terrific as usual. I love the format of this story too. In this day and age, letter writing has become a lost art (with instant e-mails) so it was even better for those of us who remember writing letters.

Okay off to read the next chapter.

Chapeau to you!
St Margarets
Monday 3rd March 2008 14:38
Part 1 (Author Response)
I'm glad you didn't mind the letter format - that turns a lot of readers off. But I think the extra effort in reading them does pay off with a lot of info in a fairly short time. Getting the voices right was the real challenge. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
amamama
Saturday 1st March 2008 13:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Part 1
Oh Mary... this is just as lovely as it was back when I first read it. And the ache for Fred and Remus and Tonks still hurts. Why did they have to tell JKR to write'em like that? (have you read Hazel's post party post?) And I can SO figure you sitting like Kathleen, plotting and writing and never skipping ahead, because that would be cheating... *hugs*
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 05:05
Part 1 (Author Response)
LOL - I am like that - I don't get my fluffy dessert until I eat my veggies of plot and conflict. Thanks for reading this again! *hugs*
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Friday 29th February 2008 18:41


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

Part 1
What an epistolary gem! I loved the format, and you did a nice job of maintaining several levels of tension between Charlie and Kathleen. Her letters, for all she dances around the matter, offer eloquent testimony to the kind of fear that she feels for Charlie, for Tonks, Teddy and Remus, and just as a result of the uncertainty of living in Lord Voldemort's Britain.

Charlie packs a lot into his few sentences, doesn't he? I especially liked his last letter. With but the one, it wasn't hard to read between the line(s), was it?

You are normally so strong at dialog; it was a nice surprise to see you attempt something different with this exchange of letters. I thought both characters came through clearly and that you gave us about the right level of detail to lay out the story.

Thanks for sharing this with us. It was a real pleasure to read.
St Margarets
Saturday 1st March 2008 03:55
Part 1 (Author Response)
I do like the letters format because you can pack in so much information in very little page space. I thought I'd try it for this pairing, since it seemed to fit the spirit of sacrifice and hope in DH and would allow me to show the progression of their relationship. The real challenge was writing Charlie since he's not a well known character *and* I had to figure out his writing style. I think all of the Weasleys are intelligent, so I did give him a command of the language - I just didn't want him to be too eloquent. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Jacynthe
Friday 29th February 2008 11:11


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 143

Part 1
Lovely as always. Your writing always brings a bit of sunshine to the day.
St Margarets
Friday 29th February 2008 11:52
Part 1 (Author Response)
I'm glad to hear it! Sunshine in the winter is often severely lacking around here. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
lantis222
Friday 29th February 2008 10:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Part 1
Loved it! I can't wait for more. Update soon!
St Margarets
Friday 29th February 2008 11:51
Part 1 (Author Response)
The second part is ready to go - so it shouldn't be long! Thanks for reading.
  Quote
oompaloompa
Friday 29th February 2008 07:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 20

Part 1
aw!
10/10
St Margarets
Friday 29th February 2008 08:01
Part 1 (Author Response)
Hope the second part gets just as high of a score! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
girlyswot
Thursday 28th February 2008 14:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Part 1
He is much happier with someone. *nods*

Now, I wonder how I should 'thank' you for the brown eyes. *evil grin* Maybe I'll write an Auror Ron story.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 15:02
Part 1 (Author Response)
Poor Ronnie - then he has to shopkeep on top of it all. At least we know he has blue eyes!
  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 28th February 2008 13:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

Part 1
Aw I love this story. I remember reading in on your journal and when I saw you uploaded it here I just had to read it again. So sweet and adorable! I'm so upset that JK ended up making Charlie a lifetime bachelor.. so I love reading this story!
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 14:22
Part 1 (Author Response)
It's sweet of you to read this again! I'm glad it was still enjoyable. I'm happy with my AU Kathleen/Charlie. He's much happier with someone. *nods*

  Quote
girlyswot
Thursday 28th February 2008 13:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Part 1
Did I ever thank you properly for writing him with brown eyes in this story?
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 14:21
Part 1 (Author Response)
LOL - I think you thanked me for many things in this story, but brown eyes wasn't one of them.
  Quote
brios
Thursday 28th February 2008 12:22


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Part 1
Very interesting and touching. Eagerly awaiting part 2.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 14:20
Part 1 (Author Response)
Part II is written and ready to go! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
girlyswot
Thursday 28th February 2008 10:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Part 1
*melts*

I tried to read this as if I'd never read it before. It still makes me so happy. And much as I adore Part II, I'm really glad you gave us Part I as well. It's so much fun watching them learn to read between each other's lines.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 10:43
Part 1 (Author Response)
LOL - you really didn't have to read this again! I'm glad you still like it after all of this time. Part I is necessary since it establishes that Charlie has brown eyes - I mean - it sets the scene and shows us why Charlie must spirit Kathleen away with him!
  Quote
mlc872
Thursday 28th February 2008 09:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Part 1
I told myself no new stories because I have a huge list of ongoing stories I am reading that are all getting jumbled in my head. Of course I always just peak at new stories when the title gets my curiosity and when I saw the letters format I could not help myself. I love the letters because it gives a more intimate peak into the people writing them. Great job on this story I just have to add it to my list.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 09:15
Part 1 (Author Response)
Hee - there's only two parts, so you're not on the hook for anything too long. The second part should be up soon! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 28th February 2008 06:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Part 1
I love the letters. They're a great way to convey the friendship between Charlie and Kathleen. However, depending on how Part II shapes up, I see no reason for Charlie not to be involved with women; even with JKR's family tree showing that Charlie never marries I have never seen him as someone who is celebate! My theory is that he look for the ideal woman and never found her because she would have to be as dragon-crazy as he is as well as someone just like his mother! That's a tough pigeon-hole to fit into because it seems likely that he would find one but not the other in the women he went out with. Also, if he's as dedicated a Dragon Keeper as I think he is, his life is fairly solitary and full of other males instead of a mixed group!

Anyway, this is a terrific story and I'm really looking forward to seeing how it all pans out.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 06:58
Part 1 (Author Response)
Hee - since Im a fluff writer, I think you can guess how this story turns out. I did write it way before JKR's intereview, so I'm not being purposefully contrary - just AU from interview canon. And you're right - it would take a special someone to marry a Dragon Keeper! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
snowbear96
Thursday 28th February 2008 01:07


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

Part 1
I love it! So much. *grins happily* You have this way of making me love your OCs. Anyway, Charlie is only single cause JRK didn't know about Kathleen.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 03:59
Part 1 (Author Response)
Yes! If only JKR knew, she would see that Kathleen is perfect for him. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
HGRHfan35
Thursday 28th February 2008 00:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

Part 1
This was so amazing and there were so many little hints and details that it would take ages to name them all. Little jokes and sprouts of humor like only you can do. I don't review often but this was defenately worth it. I don't think there are enough stories out there about the weasley brothers and I do love your Charlie, why can't I find a bloke like him LOL. I eagerly await the next part. Thanx Collinda

PS: Sorry to read about your decision not to write Ron the Builder 'cause I would have loved it. Your caractherasation of Ron & Hermione is brilliant but I do understand.


St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 03:58
Part 1 (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! I didn't know how many readers would have patience for the letter format, but it seemed the easiest way to follow the DH structure and still get into the heads of these characters.

I did write the ending of Ron the Builder and put it on my journal. I did it so I could have some closure about that story. You can read it here:

http://stmargarets.livejournal.com/62949.html#cutid1

Comments welcome!

The second part of this story is my favorite of all the scenes I wrote last year. I think you'll like it.
  Quote
ProfessorBinns
Wednesday 27th February 2008 22:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

Part 1
I love your stories. You're always so clever, and I think this time you've outdone yourself. Looking forward to part 2.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 03:55
Part 1 (Author Response)
Part II is my favorite thing that I wrote last year - very romantic. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 27th February 2008 21:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Part 1
Oh St Margarets, this is such a treat to read. You write Kathleen and Charlie so well. It is amazing how much information you can pack into their letters.

I laughed out loud at this-
You have her brown eyes.


No pigment of girlyswot's imagination in this story.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 03:54
Part 1 (Author Response)
LOL - I do love the blue/brown "feud" with Ros. We're like the fairy godmothers in Sleeping Beauty.
  Quote
blue artemis
Wednesday 27th February 2008 20:28


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Part 1
That was really cool. I love Charlie.
St Margarets
Thursday 28th February 2008 03:52
Part 1 (Author Response)
I love Charlie, too! And he must be shipped!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004