Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Skipping to the End by St Margarets

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
LoonyMae
Saturday 24th January 2009 22:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Part II
This story is amazing. I love the references to Twilight as well, as I love that too. 10 out of 10!
St Margarets
Sunday 25th January 2009 05:11
Part II (Author Response)
Glad you liked it. Thanks for letting me know!
  Quote
QuidditchLover
Saturday 7th June 2008 12:48


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 79

Part II
that was really good! i especially liked the starlight references and the main character edmund . that is one of my favorite books (besides harry potter obviously).
  Quote
Hollu
Monday 21st April 2008 12:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Part II
That was so beautiful. I was so so so sad (sad can't even begin to describe how I felt) when Fred, Remus, and Tonks died. *sigh* I've always thought that Charlie should have someone......while we don't know that much about him, what we do know makes me like him a lot. .


~Hollu
St Margarets
Monday 21st April 2008 15:41
Part II (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! I think Charlie should have someone, too! All those Weasley genes should be passed on. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Saturday 15th March 2008 12:30


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

Part II
What a brilliant and lovely story. Good setup with the correspondence. If Kathleen was real her situation would be firing new plot ideas. I am really impressed with your writing. Good interaction against the background of the war, the intimate scene was handled delicately and with real feeling. Humor was the herb adding taste to the story. Well done! 10/10.
St Margarets
Sunday 16th March 2008 02:19
Part II (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! It's amazing how much info you can convey in letters, but then some readers so don't like that format. Thanks for giving it a chance and for reviewing!
  Quote
tante
Wednesday 12th March 2008 18:18


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

Part II
Oh, you darling!
I really enjoy the way you match the proper personalities to each other. Each love story for your minor characters are so believable.

Your timing is marvelous. I'm giggling one moment, eyes bluring with tears the next, and grinning like a mad fool to finish things out. Well done. Kathleen's thoughts on the funerals were particularly poignant.

And, I love, LOVE the clock!!! It's the rich little details that make your writing SO fun.
St Margarets
Thursday 13th March 2008 05:23
Part II (Author Response)
Since I'm currently working on something original, it's wonderful to hear that my minor character stories are belivable! I'm also glad to hear about the pacing, since that's a huge part of writing within the confines of a publishing house's word limit. So thank you so much your appropriately timed review! It was just what I needed!
  Quote
JenMusic
Wednesday 12th March 2008 03:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Part II
So here is a funny story (to me at least, sorry if it's a bit long):

I tend to run hot and cold on things - I obsess over books, TV shows, people and foods in cycles. I can't get enough of something, then one day I'm done for awhile (currently it's pasta, Bones and Google Earth).

So a couple of years ago I was HUGE into HP fanfiction, reading everything that came out on the "better" sites (obviously like PS ) and going back every day or two to see what was new. After awhile my attention cooled but I still had favorite stories and authors, of which you are undoubtedly one of the best.

For the past month or so I've had a new book and fanfiction obsession - someone gave me the Twilight books and I was hooked. I've been reading tons of stuff, but the more I try and find excellent fic the quality just doesn't compare. Then today, I was moaning and thinking that I should stop looking, because it's just drivel, when I remembered PS and thought, "I'll go read something good, written by people who can write!"

How wonderful to see things of yours I hadn't read before, and then the best laugh I've had all day: An inside joke about the Twilight fandom and how vampires just don't make believable romantic heroes. I may not agree, but I was rolling!

Thanks so much for all of your effort and time. If more fanfiction of any fandom were as well-written as yours, I wouldn't be able to tear myself away from my computer.
St Margarets
Thursday 13th March 2008 05:20
Part II (Author Response)
First of all, I love long stories! And secondly, thanks for remembering little ol' me. I haven't written very much since DH came out, although there is plenty of room for interseting fic. Like you, I think I needed a break.


I'm glad you got the Twilight reference. I've heard so many raves about the series that I just had to include it. And of course, the publishing industry would be just as happy to flood the market with vampire novels if they thought it would bring in the $$.

Thanks again for your sweet review!
  Quote
Ardie Bea
Sunday 9th March 2008 00:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Part II
Aww. Did I tell you how much I enjoyed this when it appeared on your LJ?
Cheers
RDB
St Margarets
Tuesday 11th March 2008 08:13
Part II (Author Response)
I'm glad to hear it again! And thanks for reading again! It's always nice to hear from you.
  Quote
Mullvaney
Thursday 6th March 2008 18:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Part II
*sigh* This was such a great story! It has all your trade marks of no-nonsense heroines, dead-on Weasleys, and realistic romance. I love that Charlie's so blunt; I always thought that someone who worked with dragons would not mince words or be particularly shy!
St Margarets
Friday 7th March 2008 05:03
Part II (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! And I'm glad to see you again! It's been a while.

I'm glad the romance seemed realistic - even though it was mainly conducted by letter and I tried to keep the word count down.

I don't think any of the Weaselys are shy - they couldn't be with all that competition to be heard at home. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
AriesGirl
Wednesday 5th March 2008 18:16


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

Part II
Charlie has guts, very much liked the story over-all. A good man will, feed his woman. Liked that he had such a Hard time talking to her.
St Margarets
Thursday 6th March 2008 03:52
Part II (Author Response)
Charlie is indeed a real man - in all the ways you mention. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
snowbear96
Wednesday 5th March 2008 00:24


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

Part II
I love this chapter too and what a wonderful happily ever after
St Margarets
Wednesday 5th March 2008 15:18
Part II (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! A romance novelist deserves her happy ever after. I'm glad you friended me on LJ - I'll friend you back.
  Quote
kagome1
Monday 3rd March 2008 21:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Part II
Thanks for posting this Charlie/Kathleen story on PS. I just couldnt resist
leaving a review after I had read it on your lj. I loved how he proposed marriage and then went on to prove that he was attracted to her. Kathleen was so unsure and thought he had come to say goodbye. Loved it and wish there was a middle part to read.
St Margarets
Tuesday 4th March 2008 03:13
Part II (Author Response)
That's so nice of you to read it again! I did like this dynamic (the w hole romance novel sequence out of order) and I'm glad these minor characters were so well-recieved. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
bbnaz
Monday 3rd March 2008 06:33


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

Part II
HAH! wouldn't it be grand if life worked like this?

I love this story, it has me grinning ear to ear and what a wonderful way to start the day!
St Margarets
Monday 3rd March 2008 14:40
Part II (Author Response)
In *my* world life works like that! I'm glad you liked it. I really loved these characters and enjoyed giving them a happy ending. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Sunday 2nd March 2008 13:25


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Part II
I loved this story! It was so cute and sweet and funny and romantic. Charlie is just too adorable and I was "awwing" every time he spoke in Part II (and I laughed my head off when he said that he got hard right when he saw her) Excellent story, Charlie and Kathleen are perfect. Plus, Kathleen sort of reminds me of myself, so I have hope now that one day I'll meet my own Charlie and we'll live happily ever after. Great job!
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 15:07
Part II (Author Response)
I didn't know if the line you laughed at was too crude or not - but it seemed like something Charlie would say since he's so straightforward. There's no reason at all why you can't meet you're very own Charlie someday! He's out there somewhere - not reading a romance novel.
  Quote
freshwater
Sunday 2nd March 2008 01:23


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 148

Part II
The exchange of letters was wonderfully full of personality and voice! And this part was so sweet and yet so grounded in reality.....so all the more believable.

Where is this story about Charlie and Kathleen meeting on the Abraxan Stagecoach and having an adventure in the forest? Is this fic posted on **gasp** some other site? Or is it just intriguing backstory with which to tantalize us? Either way, I definately want to read it! **puppy-dog eyes**
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 04:43
Part II (Author Response)
I post a lot of stories on my live journal that don't make it here:

I did write the first chapter (called "The Flying Coach") of Charlie and Kathleen's story before DH came out, but I never had a chance to finish it. Then girlyswot wanted more Charlie/Kathleen and I thought of a way to make them book canon compliant.

Here's a likt to the masterlist of the fics. I wrote last year:

http://stmargarets.livejournal.com/62315.html#cutid1

"The Flying Coach" link is about 2/3 of the way down. You're welcome to look around all you want and you can comment even if you don't have a lj account. I just wrote a story about Charlie/Kathleen in Romania. That's in one of the more recent entires. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Patches
Sunday 2nd March 2008 00:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Part II
This is a great love story. It is really wonderful that Charlie, who is fairly quiet and Kathleen who is so gregarious have gotten together. I love the way your worked the story Kathleen wrote into the story with Charlie. The whole distraction thing with vampires was really timely. I also love the clock. That was great. I love all your stories and I'm so glad you took the time to write this one. p
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 04:45
Part II (Author Response)
I liked the contrast in their personalities, too! I can't imagine writing a vampire story, so that was a little bit of me in there. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
blue artemis
Saturday 1st March 2008 21:37


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Part II
I absolutely loved that. But then again, I love Charlie.
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 04:46
Part II (Author Response)
Yay, Charlie! I'm so glad I wrote this before JKR made him a bachelor - he's too much fun to be single. *nods* Thanks for reading!
  Quote
girlyswot
Saturday 1st March 2008 20:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Part II
Or maybe he was just gorgeous.

*happy sigh*

You know, I was just thinking about this chapter earlier today because I seem to be writing a vampire story by accident. It's for Ken's prompt, though I'm very sure it's not what he was expecting. I know nothing about vampires, so I think a trip to Romania 'for research' may be in order. *grins*
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 04:47
Part II (Author Response)
LOL - you and Kathleen think alike! I'll try to read your vampire story today - but we have hockey action again today. *sigh* Thanks for reading - again!
  Quote
honourary_weasley
Saturday 1st March 2008 16:19


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 173

Part II
Aww! A little too sacharine for my liking, but still a very sweet read.
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 04:48
Part II (Author Response)
Well, the romance novelist needed the fairytale ending! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
lantis222
Saturday 1st March 2008 15:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Part II
(sigh) It don't get much better than that. I loved it. It's a shame Rowling doesn't have Charlie getting married. I mean who wouldn't want a dragon tamer? I love how you've written him. Great job!
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 04:49
Part II (Author Response)
I mean who wouldn't want a dragon tamer?

I agree! I'm so glad I wrote this before the family tree came out! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Saturday 1st March 2008 15:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Part II
Kathleen and Charlie are perfect for each other. I think it's the brown eyed Charlie that likes grey eyed girls who are not too amply endowed. Maybe the Charlie with blue green eyes tends toward English Roses.

May I have Hermione give Ginny an early Kathleen Pen Novel?
St Margarets
Sunday 2nd March 2008 04:56
Part II (Author Response)
Of course Hermione can give Ginny an early Kathleen Pen novel - she did start writing right out of Hogwarts while she was nursing her Muggle uncle (curate of St. Margarets church)! I like your blue-eyed/brown-eyed theory!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 22 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004