Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Strangers in the Night by Sovran

Showing 1 to 15 of 15
khm7
Friday 9th April 2010 13:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Strangers in the Night
I enjoyed this oneshot of Ginny/Harry. I think it sets a firmer foundation for their friendship and later courtship/ marriage. The way that Ginny is defiant even in her fear is intriguing and shows an aspect of character that isn't expounded upon often. I liked it. Thanks for sharing.
  Quote
bookish327
Wednesday 2nd April 2008 12:29


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Strangers in the Night
Yes, this was very interesting. I didn't figure out when the story was set until a little ways in, and then I went back and re-read the beginning of the story again. (Since Harry's life has involved quite a few ordeals, the "shared ordeals" reference in the story's summary wasn't really informative enough for me to know when it was taking place. One of my first guesses was that maybe this was the night after the Department of Mysteries battle. However, I was wrong, obviously. Once I figured out that it was set right after the visit to the Chamber of Secrets, I realized I should have known more quickly. Oh, well.)

As I said, your take on this moment in Harry and Ginny's relationship was very interesting. I could understand why she felt safest when he was near her. It was very thoughtful of him to be there with her when she needed him, even if it meant no sleep for him.

Great work, as always.
Sovran
Thursday 3rd April 2008 04:54
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
One of the things I hoped to do was to make the reader think about when the story takes place. As you say, there are lots of ordeals, and even shared ordeals, to pick from. Hopefully, reading about this one makes you think of others . . . the end of OotP, the end of DH, and so forth. Someone might even think of Luna and Dean in DH, too.

I wonder if Ginny wasn't also reassured by being able to see that Harry was okay. She was horrified at the idea of endangering him, and I think it did her good to know he was there and healthy. So it was definitely about him keeping her safe, but I think there was a tiny bit of her keeping him safe, too.

Thanks for reading.
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Sunday 23rd March 2008 10:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Strangers in the Night
Very endearing. However I am a tad confused about the timing. Is this after the battle (DH) or after the Chamber of Secrets?
Sovran
Monday 24th March 2008 19:52
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
This takes place at the end of Chamber of Secrets, but I admit that I like the idea that it sounds a bit like DH, too. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Tuesday 11th March 2008 17:59


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

Strangers in the Night
Good story, are you going to add more to this later? I hope so!
Cheers!

Sovran
Wednesday 12th March 2008 18:31
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
I really don't plan to. I pictured this as a missing moment more than anything else. I'm very glad you liked it.
  Quote
drummersgirl
Monday 10th March 2008 08:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Strangers in the Night
I must be new, lol...cause this is the first time I read this scenario of this. I thought it was a bit short, but very fitting as well. The emotions were brought out enough as well as the feelings.
Sovran
Tuesday 11th March 2008 13:48
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
Well, I'm definitely glad this is the first story of its type you've seen. There are others that are quite good. Thanks very much for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Friday 7th March 2008 09:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

Strangers in the Night
One would think the gaps for "Missing Moments" have been used up. But One, reading this One story, realizes that is not true. A One-derful vignette from a time when two were less than One.
Sovran
Friday 7th March 2008 14:05
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
Well, this One has been done before, but hopefully not with such singularity.

Your reviews are always worth a Chuck-le. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
girlspell
Monday 3rd March 2008 18:09


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 98

Strangers in the Night
Just terrific to read anything of yours. This is a wonderful, and tender renditiion on something that had to be written. You wrote it very well.
Sovran
Friday 7th March 2008 14:04
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
Thanks very much. "Tender" is about what I was going for.
  Quote
The_Critic
Monday 3rd March 2008 15:04


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

Strangers in the Night
Good story, I'm a big fan of your Meaning of One series so of course I read this. ( ) I was a but confused by the timing, it being "post-DH" but somewhat CoS-ish
Could you clear that up for me? that'd be great if you could. and keep up your work on Meaning of One!
Sovran
Friday 7th March 2008 14:04
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
The story takes place later in the night after Harry brings Ginny out of the Chamber. However, I admit that I didn't want the timing to be blatantly obvious from the start. I like that, in some ways, it can be read as occurring after the battle in DH.

MoO is definitely still in progress. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
nerd2006
Sunday 2nd March 2008 10:51


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 111

Strangers in the Night
Cute.
Sovran
Thursday 6th March 2008 11:32
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
Thanks.
  Quote
FireFairy
Sunday 2nd March 2008 10:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Strangers in the Night
This was interesting, I really like it but i was confused about one thing...does this take place in the 7th year of the 2nd. Either way I really like it!
Sovran
Thursday 6th March 2008 08:52
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
It takes place later in the night after Harry brings Ginny out of the Chamber in second year. However, I think it's a bonus that it could sortof sound like it happened in DH. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
lantis222
Sunday 2nd March 2008 08:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Strangers in the Night
I liked it. I've never read a fic that took place right after the Chamber of Secrets. I thought it was well done and I think that if Ginny had really sought out Harry after it was over she may have healed faster. Great job!
Sovran
Thursday 6th March 2008 08:47
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
Thanks very much! Ginny did seem to heal very quickly in canon, so I thought there might be more to that story.
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Sunday 2nd March 2008 07:43


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Strangers in the Night
A very sweet Harry/Ginny fic, I liked seeing a connection between them before the event of Harry's sixth. Great job!
Sovran
Thursday 6th March 2008 07:08
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
Yeah, it's nice to think that they had some sort of contact before HBP, especially right after the Chamber. Thanks!
  Quote
lisaq294
Sunday 2nd March 2008 05:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

Strangers in the Night
This was a nice story which needed to be told, no one really knows how Ginny coped with being in the chamber and posessed by Tom Riddle. I think it was nicely done.

If you are going to up date?

Thanks for posting.
Sovran
Thursday 6th March 2008 07:07
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
This one is just a one-shot, because I think it fits right into canon without anything added. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
blue artemis
Saturday 1st March 2008 21:40


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Strangers in the Night
I thought it was a lovely rendition.
Sovran
Thursday 6th March 2008 07:04
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
Thanks very much!
  Quote
majolie
Saturday 1st March 2008 18:19


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Strangers in the Night
When I saw you had posted something, my heart leapt with joy, "Yay! A new chapter of MoO already!"

This was almost as good.

Actually I liked it quite a lot. Obviously, that same bunny has been going around biting various people over the years, with varying results. I thought you had enough originality to make it worth reading and, of course, your writing style and general skill (let's hear it for good grammar!), as well your facility with believable dialogue and your great characterization make anything you write worth reading. So feel free to follow any other plot bunnies who are rude enough to bite you - I may send some over this very night!

I especially enjoyed the kind of vague beginning - it took a little while to figure out when this was happening and exactly what Ginny thought she was doing in Harry's dorm. She obviously was not there because she was scared to be alone, it was more than that. But it's nice the way you lead us to come to our own conclusions and discoveries rather than baldly stating everything you mean.

Okay, I'll shut up now so you can go write some more lovely fic for me .. or for whomever - just as long as I get to read it!
Sovran
Thursday 6th March 2008 07:03
Strangers in the Night (Author Response)
Sorry to disappoint re: MoO, but I'm glad this didn't bother you too much.

I'm also glad you liked this in spite of the sortof re-treaded plot idea. I liked it enough to post it, obviously, but I wasn't sure others would agree.

Some folks didn't like the vague setting at the beginning, but that was part of the point for me. I wanted to get people to think about what was going on and when it might fit into the canon plot. And you're right. . . there's definitely more to it than her fear of being alone. You're one of few to comment on that.

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing so thoughtfully. I'm hard at work on more MoO for you.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004