Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Maybe Not Today by Wings

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
joes12321
Thursday 31st July 2008 02:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Maybe Not Today
A great piece. I like the idea of Harry being a guest DADA teacher. I don't think he could ever stay away from his "first home," even if Ginny had not returned to school

The thing I liked best about this story is it made me rethink Ron. You might be right about Ron being a changed man post-war. It's not something I've given a lot of thought to previously, but now kind of accept to be true - because how could it not be?

Well written!
  Quote
majolie
Wednesday 26th March 2008 06:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Maybe Not Today
Loved this. The feeling of peace really filled the entire story, and the mixture of happiness and sorrow was perfect.
Wings
Wednesday 26th March 2008 07:27
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thank you, majolie! It's interesting how one can feel at peace, but still feel intense sorrow and even lingering fear. I try to put a lot of what I feel into what I write, so I'm glad you felt that the feelings were communicated well!
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Sunday 23rd March 2008 13:18


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Maybe Not Today
Excellent characterisation. Very good description of scenes and scenery. Interesting conversation and thoughts.

Well done, you.
Wings
Sunday 23rd March 2008 18:26
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm glad that you felt each of those elements were well written. Those are probably my top three concerns in any story ... getting the character moods right, describing what I'm picturing in my head, and writing realistic dialogue. Thank you for taking the time to review and let me know what you thought of my work. I hope that you'll read my other stories as well!
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Sunday 23rd March 2008 10:27


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

Maybe Not Today
Excellent! 10/10. Well written and great interaction.
Wings
Sunday 23rd March 2008 18:24
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad that I got an A+, and that you liked the interactions between the characters. It can be really hard to make that realistic sometimes, especially when characters are dealing with weighty issues. I hope that you'll read my other stories as well.
  Quote
Astrid
Friday 21st March 2008 18:32


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Maybe Not Today
Aww, very sweet and nostalgic. Good work.
Wings
Saturday 22nd March 2008 05:28
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thanks, Astrid! I'm glad you appreciated the story. Hope you'll come back to read more!
  Quote
BreakAwayFromBrokenDreams
Friday 21st March 2008 05:31


Maybe Not Today
I have to say....that really was amazing. Your writing has such a liveliness to it, a welcoming contrast to the pointless rabble I've been reading after DH. This was everything i was looking for in the epilogue of DH, it really was. You portrayed different sides to nearly every character; the maturity of Ron, the happiness of Harry, the eagerness of Fred and the grief of Ginny. Most people portray Ginny to be either too dramatic in her sorrow over her brother, or too brief about it - you nailed it.
The snow scene really was perfect and i love the balance between the fluff of Ginny and Harry's relationship and the discussion of their feelings post-war.
And i'd like to add -- i'm not one for reviews. In fact, i've never reviewed a fanfic before. I merely read them and appreciate from afar. Yours, however, moved me enough to review. I'd put up there with my faves.
And you know what i'd love? A companion piece that's focused on R/H, my fave ship.
So if you take anything away with you from this review, it should be this; you are a VERY talented writer who deserves all the praise you can get, you should write a lot more, because i feel you could definitely take on a big story and that you'll always have a fan here.
Good work.
Wings
Saturday 22nd March 2008 05:28
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
BreakAway,

THANK YOU so much for your thoughtful review! It made my day so wonderful yesterday. It's great to hear when someone really likes my work, but something totally different to get a review like yours.

One of the reasons I started writing fanfiction (about five years ago) was to offer something different than the rabble (mostly read at fanfic.net). I'm glad that you felt I offered a realistic picture of the development of each character, and of how they would relate to one another.

I hope that you'll take the time to read some of my other stories. You mentioned that you are confident I could take on a big story -- well, I do have one! "Heart of Gold" is mainly focused on Regulus Black. I started writing it after Book Six came out, so it has similarities to JKR's Regulus but mine is a little different, and I venture, a little more developed. I've been working on the writing now for almost two years and I love how it's coming along.

I'm planning a R/H piece sometime in the near future, so stay posted. There is some R/H in each of my stories because I really like them, too!

Really, thanks again. I hope I did your review justice in return. Hope to hear from you again! Don't be shy.

Wings
  Quote
Oma
Tuesday 18th March 2008 16:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Maybe Not Today
Um, yeah, I cried.
Wings
Tuesday 18th March 2008 18:31
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
You know I did, and you know why. Thanks for your constant support and love!
  Quote
AriesGirl
Friday 14th March 2008 06:46


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

Maybe Not Today
great story, now I want to gather the kids up and have our own romp in the snow. thanks for the vivid imagery. your story was worth the time to write.
Wings
Friday 14th March 2008 07:32
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thanks so much! I love imagery. Obviously, it's important to every story, but it's so much fun to play with and perfect. It makes you stop and think about how you perceive the world and design the best way to communicate that to someone else. I wrote the story primarily during a snow storm, so I had a lot of inspiration. I'm glad you felt it was worth the time to write, and the time to read!
  Quote
lantis222
Wednesday 12th March 2008 15:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Maybe Not Today
Wonderful story. I loved that they can still remember and live. Thanks.
Wings
Thursday 13th March 2008 04:47
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Hi lantis! Yes, it can be hard to both remember and live fully. It's important to remember that you don't have to be okay all of the time. I'm glad you liked this story just as you like "Heart of Gold!"
  Quote
brios
Wednesday 12th March 2008 11:15


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Maybe Not Today
Aww, that was a very nice reading. Thanks!
Wings
Thursday 13th March 2008 04:46
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I had been working on it for a long while, and it was only recently that I figured out how I wanted it to go. Thank you!
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Wednesday 12th March 2008 10:04


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

Maybe Not Today
Cute story! Cheers!
Wings
Thursday 13th March 2008 04:45
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
parakletos
Wednesday 12th March 2008 09:40


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

Maybe Not Today
Really enjoyed reading this, thanks.

One small note;


'Harry had already started on a plate of bangers, eggs, and scones when the trio joined him at the Gryffindor table.'

Scones are not a British breakfast dish and no one calls sausages bangers any more.
Wings
Wednesday 12th March 2008 09:47
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thanks so much! I think it probably depends on where you are in the UK. My experience living there was that people still used bangers, and we did actually eat scones for breakfast! There is a lot of variation in the UK, so it's plausible. Thanks for your comments!
  Quote
aharkins
Tuesday 11th March 2008 21:20


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

Maybe Not Today
Any story that draws out your emotions is a good one. This one made me cry and smile at the same time so I guess it was really good. Thanks for sharing your work. You're quite talented.
Wings
Wednesday 12th March 2008 05:57
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thank you so much! This was the first thing I read this morning, and it made me really happy. I try to put a lot of real emotion into my stories, so I'm glad that you felt the goal was achieved.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 11th March 2008 20:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Maybe Not Today
aww ww ww!!! I lvoed this story!!
Wings
Wednesday 12th March 2008 05:56
Maybe Not Today (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm glad that you liked it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004