Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Letters of Summer by Kokopelli

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
Disassembly of Reason
Wednesday 14th December 2005 04:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

1: Ringing Harry

Interesting. Starting off with Petunia's POV, something one doesn't see every day. (Oddly enough, Vernon's POV is something we know a lot about from canon, thanks to "The Boy Who Lived" (PS1).)

 

Good choice, to have Petunia rather than Vernon pick up the phone; I imagine that Vernon would just hang up, a la [I]Prisoner of Azkaban[/I], then start yelling, while Petunia after the Howler might show a few scraps of consideration.

 

About time that Hermione tried telephoning Harry; he'd have explained by now what went wrong with Ron's first and only attempt at contacting him that way.

 

It's a standard (and often funny, if it's not happening to you) bawling-out technique to rake up someone's full name when chewing him/her out, but it's not something we've ever seen Hermione do in canon, that I can recall. (Mrs. Weasley, yes, but not Hermione.) If Hermione were inclined to do this, I'd expect her to call Ron "Ronald" instead of just cranking up the volume when she yells at him.

 

Something to watch out for later in the story, perhaps. I look forward to seeing her do this a bit more, if she does.

 

"Stop what?"

"Apologizing for everything."

Harry started to say, "I'm sorry," but stopped himself and said, "All right then."

 

:)

 

Considering that Hermione spends 10 months of the year at Hogwarts, including the Easter holidays, and often the Christmas holidays, it's a wonder her parents don't protest more in canon about not having any time with her.

 

Nice that Harry is wising up about not making life more difficult for himself than it needs to be at number four (even though it might be very satisfying to tell the Dursleys off every day, and twice on Sundays).

 

Interesting suggestion of Petunia being a little more human than usual. Possibly her gruff tone with Harry here was because she was annoyed with herself for noticing his depression and thinking of him as a hurt kid rather than a burden?

 

Remarks:

- The train station is "King's Cross", not "King's Crossing". (I'm still annoyed with myself for not taking time to go there the first time I was in London.)

- I don't think "aunt" should be capitalized in "your aunt"

- "Right so often that mankind's memory runs not to the contrary." I'll bite. Who is Harry quoting?

Kokopelli
Wednesday 14th December 2005 07:38
1: Ringing Harry (Author Response)
Harry's quoting William Blackstone - the famed legal theorist and historian - I have a facsimile edition of his Commentary on the Laws of England which is a valuable, if esoteric resource.
  Quote
SillyGillie
Thursday 7th July 2005 13:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 543

1: Ringing Harry

Another excellent chapter! I like how you portrayed Harry in this chapter, very interesting!

  Quote
cliodne
Thursday 2nd June 2005 10:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

1: Ringing Harry

I'd say that so far this is the most in canon Fic I've read in a while.  It's the little details that are connecting with canon that makes it better.

-cami

  Quote
Mariposa
Wednesday 12th January 2005 09:31


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

1: Ringing Harry
So I guess Aunt Petunia is being more civil to Harry because she knows his godfather died? This chapter was odd to me because the Dursley's are so awful, I can't see them having any consideration at all. But I suppose somewhere they are human.
Kokopelli
Wednesday 12th January 2005 09:43
1: Ringing Harry (Author Response)
So I guess Aunt Petunia is being more civil to Harry because she knows his godfather died? This chapter was odd to me because the Dursley's are so awful, I can't see them having any consideration at all. But I suppose somewhere they are human.
The Dursleys are hard to write,  because it's so easy to make them over the top in being horrid lumps of malevolence.  I tried to write a more nuanced Petunia, leaving Dudley and Vernon as big creeps. A number of readers criticized this, saying that I was making Petunia too nice.  My response is that she was only nice when Dudley and Vernon were absent, and not always then.  Your mileage may vary.

JEC
  Quote
Mitch Bennett
Sunday 28th November 2004 05:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

1: Ringing Harry
Oh my that was a funny line about the Dementor.  Not entirely sure it was intended to be amusing,  but reading stopped for about ten minutes due to laughter induced lack of breath.  Thanks
  Quote
Teen Prodigy of Ravenclaw
Wednesday 7th July 2004 15:36


1: Ringing Harry
*singing* Bada ba ba baaaa... I'm loving it... *end singing* Now I'm gonna click to the next one! YAY~
~TPoR
  Quote
Showing 1 to 6 of 6
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004