Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Meddle by melkior

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
laryrussellca
Sunday 30th March 2008 09:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
Hmmm, a new version of soul bonding. Pretty good too. It'll be interesting where you'll take this.
melkior
Sunday 30th March 2008 09:59
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
Yes, it's a new spin on the old mechanism. With additional twists if I may say so. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
AriesGirl
Saturday 29th March 2008 18:52


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 134

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
interesting, but fast. their not taking time to smell the roses. I can see your caracters , but I am not seeing them move. It's like I can see them sitting, but the next moment I see them standing in another room , they moved so fast I don't know how they got there. can you understand what I'm trying to say?
otherwise you did a great job at getting your point acrossed and I look foward to your next chapter
melkior
Sunday 30th March 2008 03:08
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
Yes I can, and your argument is completely right. However, I had to do several things much faster than it really suited me. I'm still setting the stage.
In my mind, if I actually took the time to describe the road between A and B, we would reach Hogwarts somewhere in chapter 45. While it would have certainly been an interesting journey, it's not what I wanted to show.
Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
The_Critic
Saturday 29th March 2008 18:42


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
Good so far. I would however recomend just giving a summary of some years untill hogwarts, because when the story features Harry+Gin, somtimes authors can *cough* use all possible/plausible problems and have H/G solve them and then the story kinda falls apart beause then they'll be a bigger voldie plot, but the author wont have woven that in right so then the auother will suddenly throw in a voldie twist but then it will just fall apart and get really, really, conufing and boring. Actually, there arent any of the the above stories at Ps.net, but I've read some at other HPFF Websites, of course I have complete faith that you prbably have some kind of plot else you wouldnt be writing this, but anyway, its good so far and this is the_critic overeacting to no voldie plot in the first chapter! lol. Update soon!
-Critic
melkior
Sunday 30th March 2008 04:18
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
I won't stay much on the pre-Hogwarts years. If I did, Meddle would even be a larger project, and I'd really like to finish it in the next decade or so.
In fact, the next chapter will bring us to... Well, you'll see.
Oh, and who needs LV when we have the Adults?
Thanks for the review!
  Quote
snowflake24
Saturday 29th March 2008 15:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
Intresting and adorably fluffy! I luv'd it all, it will make a veri gd story, can't wait 4 them 2 meet at Kings Cross and when Hagrid comes to tell him he's a wizard! It will certainly be different. I luv all H/G love and this has it- and they're onli children. Love how he love sher before he truly meets her. Keep Writing!
melkior
Sunday 30th March 2008 04:14
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
Fluffy? Well, it is. For now... Thanks for the review.
  Quote
ropeter
Saturday 29th March 2008 14:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
Aha! I was right! Death did make a cameo appearance, and Harry and Ginny can talk to each other! This will make the meeting at Kings Cross very different!
I can't believe English is not your first language, Melkior. Again, this chapter is beautifully written. The dialogue is free-flowing and easy. You're doing really well, adn I look forward to the next chapter.
Roisin
melkior
Sunday 30th March 2008 04:03
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
I think we haven't seen the last of Death. Then again, I can't really be sure. And indeed, the meeting is different, maybe even more than you expect.
My language is as far from English as it is possible -- I'm from Croatia, and Slavic languages have almost nothing in common with English. However, I've been speaking English all my life, so that probably counts for something.
I've been told that the next chapter is just around the corner, so you shouldn't be kept waiting for too long. Thank you for the kind words and reviewing.
Dino
  Quote
lantis222
Saturday 29th March 2008 08:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
another great chapter. Life for Harry would have been a lot easier if he really had had a friend to share it with. Great job!
melkior
Saturday 29th March 2008 08:42
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
Now he even has more. Let's see to what degree he actually understands that. Thank you!
  Quote
FireFairy
Saturday 29th March 2008 06:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
I can't wait for the next chapter, this is really unique! Great Job! Thanks!
melkior
Saturday 29th March 2008 06:07
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
You'll see it soon enough. Thank you for reviewing.
  Quote
nas4a2
Friday 28th March 2008 22:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
this is a great story. keep up the good work
melkior
Friday 28th March 2008 22:04
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
Thank you. I'll give it my best.
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Friday 28th March 2008 18:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
Good. I look forward to seeing the reactions of the (other) Weasleys once they start getting a clue that Something Is Happening between Harry & Ginny. (Yes, that probably won't be an issue for a while yet, but it will likely have a profound effect on the development of the story. Ref., e.g., Sovran's "Meaning of One" series.)

Bearing in mind that this is assuredly your story, one of the things I tend to appreciate about the stories I enjoy is a certain ... richness of detail -- especially in the interactions of the characters. While I wouldn't want any author to emulate another slavishly (diversity is a wonderful thing!), I observe that making a choice is a great deal easier (at least in theory) once one is aware of at least a pair of alternatives for approaching an issue. :-)
melkior
Saturday 29th March 2008 08:45
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
The Weasley Reaction (Molly included) to the "bond" in Sovran's MoO is the best I've seen. Actually, I never hide the fact that MoO was the story that inspired me to actually write Meddle. They go in different directions, but they will share similarities, and you'll notice them especially in the early chapters of Meddle.

The reaction I have planned is hopefully original, and yet believable at the same time. It will take some time before it's actually seen but I'll hardly have something like this:

Once the twins left the kitchen laughing at Ron's predicament and rather hasty retreat from the family dinner, Ginny looked at her mother, who was busy charming the dishes clean.

"Mum, Harry and I have something to tell you."

"That's nice dear. Why don't you set some cookies for us and I'll join you as soon as I'm finished."

Ginny just nodded at her mother's back and went to the cupboard to get out the cookies.

At the same time Harry was having trouble at the table, trying to explain some finer points of Muggle electronics to Mr Weasley. "No sir, it's called a blender. Not a bender."

"Are you sure?" Mr Weasley furrowed his brow. "This part seems rather bent."

"Yes sir. It's a kitchen appliance."

"Oh, is it? Good thing we're in the kitchen! Now..."

Harry was saved by a tray of cookies followed closely by Ginny and her mother.

"Now Arthur, the children have something they want to tell us."

Mr Weasley let go of the device, although rather reluctantly. "What is it?"

Ginny sat next to Harry and took his hand under the table. He squeezed it gently. Taking a deep breath she looked at her mother.

"Harry and I... We seem to have a connection."

"A connection dear? What sort of a connection?"

"We can share thoughts," offered Harry quietly. He lowered his gaze at his lap.

"Well, that's wonderful! Now, do you want some milk before bed?"

"Mum?" Ginny's mouth did not seem to want to close.

"I said, it's wonderful? Now, do you want it warm or cold?"

"Dad?"

"That's great pumpkin! Harry, what else do you know about the glender?"

Harry looked at Ginny, his facial expression mirroring hers.

"I could add some cinnamon too," came the voice of Mrs Weasley behind them.

"And what about fellytones?"


But it would have been fun.

It certainly is easier to make something work in another way once different options have been investigated, but sometimes, you find that the options which are already well explored actually work far better than anything you came up yourself with. In those situations, I tend to follow them. With a twist.

Thanks for the review!
  Quote
EJH0904
Friday 28th March 2008 17:08


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons
This is a really interesting supposition - I love the idea of Harry and Ginny having this kind of relationship early on. I can't wait to see where you take this.
melkior
Friday 28th March 2008 19:30
01: Emotions, Souls and Reasons (Author Response)
It's a result of asking myself "what if" after reading many fics in which H&G experience some kind of a connection. I won't dwell much on it, but it will have a great impact on the story.
Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004