Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Hog's Head by MyGinevra

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
AvantGarde
Saturday 9th April 2011 22:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

01: Faith
This was great to read from Ginny's point of view. One of the great writing devices JK used was to write almost entirely from Harry's pov but its fantastic to read somene else's interpretation of what happened from an alternate pov (and I adore Ginny). I think you did a great job in taking into account Ginny's range of emotions and the busy goings on around her so it really felt like I was there experiancing it right along side her. I also liked that there was little duplicity with JK beyond the few key events. Looking foward to reading this and pretty excited I don't have to wait for the next chapter. Cheers AG.
MyGinevra
Sunday 10th April 2011 06:21
01: Faith (Author Response)
Thank you so much for reading The Hog's Head, and especially for taking the time to review chapter 1. The story has been posted for over two years, so it doesn't get reviewed much anymore.

You will find a lot of Ginny's pov in The Hog's Head, along with Harry's. To me, they are inseparable. I hope you continue to enjoy the story, and I look forward to reading more reviews from you. Thanks again!

Peter

  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 31st October 2009 12:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

01: Faith
awwww thats awesome reading the battle from ginnys POV
MyGinevra
Saturday 31st October 2009 16:01
01: Faith (Author Response)
Hey, I see you have left a bunch of reviews all in one day. Thank you!

When I finished DH, I wanted to "know" what Ginny had done during the battle and why she was out on the lawn when Harry woalked by. Now I know.

Peter
  Quote
moralitas
Friday 14th August 2009 23:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

01: Faith
a sequel? wow, this is going to be great. i came back to this review, just to add, that your post script was a bit too detailed. i generaly think that stories that have good endings, do have some content about what happens after the story, or give hints, but leave a lot to the reader's imagination.

thanks fr a great story, and will be on my toes waiting for the sequel. it should be good, you've already "laid the foundations" of the story.
MyGinevra
Saturday 15th August 2009 03:49
01: Faith (Author Response)
I agree with you about postscripts. When I finished HH, though, it was such a huge thing for it to be done, and I also didn't think that I would ever write any more HP fan fiction. I also felt so invested in my version of the characters' lives that I wanted to "possess" them. That's why I wrote such a detailed postscript.

The sequel, which takes off from a sentence in that postscript, won't have an epilogue.

Thanks for your comments.

Peter
  Quote
moralitas
Friday 14th August 2009 06:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

01: Faith
good lord, what a story. i have feel like knocking my self out, in the hope that i forget this story, and get the chance to read it again.

5/5, quite possibly beats my alltime favourite harry/ginny fan fic. ive gotta say, turntounge was a genius idea! i really didnt think the story would've turned out worthwhile if you hadnt come up with that.

that was a great opening chapter, it captured the mood perfectly, and that first chapter was the reason i kept on reading. i was glooed to the computer, for a good couple of days.

dont stop writing, you are an amazing writer. from chapter 30 to chapter 45, i completely forgot that it wasnt an actual harry potter book i was reading, and thats saying a lot.

congratulations, an excellent story, worthy of the top ten for this website!



MyGinevra
Friday 14th August 2009 14:09
01: Faith (Author Response)
Hey, thank you so much!! You made me very happy today. A sequel to The Hog's Head will start posting in about a month, I hope, as soon as my beta has some time to get to it.

The Turntongue chapter has an interesting genesis. It was inspired by another, excellent story on PS called The Coven of Echoes. In it, Harry tries to hurt Ginny after they have broken up. I was so upset by it, that I had to write a story to make me feel better. I wrote a chpater in which Harry has hurt Ginny but she remains true to their love and eventually they work it out. That story became the Turntongue chapter.

In Coven of Echoes, all works out in the end, too.

I wrote the first chapter, Faith, right after I finished DH because I needed to know what had happened with Ginny during the battle. I also didn't like how she was written out of the book, more or less. The Hog's Head is everything I alwasy wanted their story to be.

Thanks again, for reading HH and for this wonderful review.

Peter
  Quote
Treeton1
Saturday 25th July 2009 16:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

01: Faith
The quite remarkable author of this near-epic fan fiction (I don’t think I’ve ever wrote more then 20 pages myself – none of it posted) wondered about how the movie would portray his favourite character (and mine for that matter). I answered quickly but the below is with a bit more thought.

This is pure guess work of course, but as its personal opinion it doesn’t matter and it’ll take over a year before I’m proven wrong. What will happen with Harry and Ginny in the 7th movie?

Opening music and titles role out in front of us as we witness with great anticipation something some have waited half their lives for (the younger audience of course)...

The darkness of the titles clears to a bright summer night with Harrys and Guards flying off in different directions, you don’t know who’s who, spells and flashes of green light erupt everywhere blazing across the skies over London (the moves prefer London to Surrey) as the countryside rushes below them. A death eater fires off a shot just as a Potter turns back to see his fate, falling to earth before he even lands, Harry’s hair turns red, the corpse, for all life has left transforms into the twin Fred as the poly-juice loses its effect.

Before the shock has a chance to settle in on our souls, before grieve could take hold there’s the roar of a huge powerful and flying motorbike as the REAL Harry Potter makes a painful and heart wrenching retreat, in his expression and painful scream as Hagrid flies away we see that yet again another has scarified themselves for him, his live and his name, for the hope that he can defeat the ultimate evil personified as The Dark Lord. As Harry retreats he is watched by a broomstick flying Snape with that brilliant Alan Rickman stare that conveys all you need to know about his motivation.

Later perhaps at the funeral for Fred? Moody? Harry, after meeting with the Minister of Magic, decides he can’t hide anymore, can’t run anymore and above all can’t have the normal life he so desires with the one constant unfailing love he has ever known... the simple love between a man and a woman flushed with the pleasure of being together.
They are forced to break away running into the night with nothing but a tent and a note signed RAB

After this a couple of scenes of Harry looking at Ginny’s feet on the map, maybe an argument with Ron and Ginny’s role plays out as in the book. Scenes such as being told to stay hidden in the room of requirement and the battle will remain the same.

In fact since the great movie kiss is between Ron and Hermione the rest of the movie will play out the same as the book, at least in relation to Harry and Ginny

Reasons for assumptions, see if you agree:

Fred (the actor twin who plays him) isn’t in the Part 2 of the Deathly Hallows – meaning if he does get killed it must be in the 1st movie

The actress playing Fleur isn’t in Deathly Hallows nor have actors been recruited for Bill or Fletcher, hence, no wedding nor set up for Moody’s death (unless Dung is replaced with Fred), which would have less of an impact in the movies as Harry (in the movies) has had very little interaction with the REAL Alistair Moody, but the death of a friend (a familiar movie character) would be a potent moment.

Bill Nighley has been recruited for Minister of Magic (a truly great selection to play a grizzled lion) so there has to be a scene establishing the Tales of Beedle the Bard, the de-luminator and the sword

Of course this is all based on the listings on IMDB which could be updated to invalidate my assumptions
MyGinevra
Saturday 25th July 2009 19:05
01: Faith (Author Response)
Your predictions are possible. I know that they are planning to film the Burrow kiss. I suspect that they will not show Ginny on the lawn or flying toward Harry in his mind as he is facing Voldemort, Frankly, nothing they do would surprise me, since they have already totally screwed up the story and will have to jump through hoops in 7 and 8 in order to get it to come out even close to the book.

At least they have announced that they are filming the epilogue, so Bonnie will get a chance to play Mrs. Potter, albeit only for maybe five minutes.

Peter
  Quote
Treeton1
Saturday 25th July 2009 15:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

01: Faith
Up until HBP The movie I wan't convinced Bonnie Hunt was the right Ginny, having wrote about her here from her perspecitve you know the fire and energy she generates, the pranks and smirks and fun she has competing with her brothers, the independance and the stubben pride she has, the Blazzing red head with the Blazzing look that gets your pulse rasing.
But in the movies Harry and his relationship with those around him are different, and so is the relationship with Ginny, since the cinema goer can't see what JK (and now you) write (and they've never done anything with Ginny since CoS) it had to be changed.
In reference to your previous post, Harry and Ginny never broke up, JK needed to explain why they couldn't be together, the movie does not, with no wedding in the last book or no funeral in this one they'll "break up" at the beginning of the 7th installment, properly at Fred's funeral (since the actor isn't in the 8th) assuming they have the liberation of the Dursly's at all, which is likly as its a great action sequence but won't have all the charictors (likly when Fred dies) as Flur hasn't been recruited (See www.imdb.co.uk)
MyGinevra
Saturday 25th July 2009 18:54
01: Faith (Author Response)
I am a huge Bonnie Wright fan, and I always believed that she had the most talent of ANY of the young actors. Take a look at her performances in Agatha Christie: A Life In Pictures and in Stranded . She has the ability to express deep and subtle emotions with facial expression and body language. Aside from CoS, she has not gotten a chance to do any real acting until HBP.

The break up in book 6 was silly, and in book 7 both Harry and Ginny acted as though it had never happened, which was a fairly big inconsistency. But even though Ginny had a marginal role in the book, she was still there in Harry's thoughts, and of course she was the last thought in his mind before he was "killed."

It's a complete crap shoot as to how they will write Ginny in movie 7 and 8. I know that they are planning to film the Burrow kiss between H & G (and hopefully it will be as passionate as it is in the book ) but I think they might not show her on the lawn at Hogwarts during the battle, or show her in Harry's mind.

But of course I wrote The Hog's Head precisely because
bold]I wanted Ginny to be the primary thing in Harry's life. She will never be that in the movie, at least not until the epilogue which they have already said they will film. I, and anyone else who cares to read it, will always have Harry and Ginny idealized there.

Peter

  Quote
Treeton1
Saturday 25th July 2009 15:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

01: Faith
MyGinevra
Saturday 25th July 2009 18:08
01: Faith (Author Response)


  Quote
Treeton1
Friday 24th July 2009 12:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

01: Faith
I've just finished reading through the Hog's Head, took two weeks reading off my laptop, all kinds of brilliant can't describe it, its like you took the exactly what I wanted to read and expanded it to make you want to read more. a triffal mushy for my tastes in some parts but i love how it all woven together, i had my own hunches about the hole in Harry's heart and i think its a lovely ending to have Ginny fill it. Thanks for the book like many fans in the build up to Book 6 on the silver screen i've been starved for Harry & Co

Please do keep writing, when you start on stuff not copy-right you'll go far
MyGinevra
Friday 24th July 2009 16:19
01: Faith (Author Response)
That's very kind of you. I have started my own story, and somehow I'll let the fans of my HP fics know when it's available.

I like the way you put it: a hole in Harry's heart. So true! I can't imagine it being filled in any other way than by Ginny. I loved that Bonnie Wright got so much screen time in HBP. It will be interesting to see what they do with Ginny in DH since there was no break-up with Harry in the 6th movie.

Peter

  Quote
Sovran
Wednesday 27th May 2009 07:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

01: Faith
Well Peter, at long last I've found the time to read this story properly, from start to finish. I can't promise to be a regular reviewer, but I'll try to speak up every now and then.

I really enjoyed this alternate look at the battle. You found a nice balance between recounting old (canon) material and adding new stuff, and I've discovered that that can be very difficult to write. Ginny's few moments with Elizabeth were nicely done, too. I've always thought that the girl in canon was dying when Ginny found her, and your vision was a nice extrapolation of that idea. Even if that encounter never comes up again - and I think it might - it served a purpose to show both Ginny and the reader the horrible reality of war. In some ways, I think Harry & Co managed to miss the worst of the real war.

I've never quite agreed with JKR about Harry and Ginny's interactions after the battle. Canon is canon, though, and you've presented the most plausible reasoning I can think of for JKR's events.

Onward!
MyGinevra
Wednesday 27th May 2009 18:29
01: Faith (Author Response)
Dave,

I look forward to hearing from you as you read HH. Based on this review, your analysis and comments will be very worthwhile.

My motivation for beginning HH was to come up with exactly what you talk about: a reasonable account of what Ginny did during the battle, especially as it related to Harry. There are many things concerning the ending of DH that were unsatisfying, but the H/G relationship was the primary one.

I am very happy that you enjoyed the chapter. You are aware, I hope, that there are four chapters with Teen versions. Faith is one of them, and you reviewed the Teen version, not the Mature one, I think.
  Quote
nightwing
Wednesday 24th September 2008 22:26


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 124

01: Faith
nice start man the war nasty so many people died
MyGinevra
Thursday 25th September 2008 07:32
01: Faith (Author Response)
Thanks, keep reading!

Peter
  Quote
kash2210
Tuesday 16th September 2008 10:42


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 172

01: Faith
Wow, great start, if the rest is as good as this chapter has been, then I'm in for a real treat.
MyGinevra
Tuesday 16th September 2008 19:22
01: Faith (Author Response)
Okay, here we go! I'll catch up to your reviews now, since it looks like you're in the UK and probably asleep. I am hoping your hopes have been fulfilled as far as a treat is concerned.

Peter
  Quote
Nila
Sunday 7th September 2008 12:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

01: Faith
Oh my god. Wow. I hope you know that from the very first sentence, you had me in tears. I was both sobbing and screaming with joy throughout this chapter. It's amazing to read it again from Ginny's point of view. She is my dearest favorite HP character and you do her such justice. Amazing job.

And it is also refreshing and agonizing to feel the Weasley's pain at the loss of Fred. I know I bawled like a baby when he was killed. You are truly an amazing author.
MyGinevra
Sunday 7th September 2008 14:12
01: Faith (Author Response)
Nila,

Thank you so much. I share your love of Ginny, which I think you can tell from my pen name. I hope you continue to enjoy The Hog's Head as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Peter

  Quote
chiantiqueen
Monday 26th May 2008 04:45


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

01: Faith
Great opening chapter. I love the way you have described the relationship between Harry and Ginny and their undersanding of each other, I think you've captured them perfectly. Very excited about reading more!
MyGinevra
Monday 26th May 2008 06:06
01: Faith (Author Response)
Thank you, and welcome to The Hog's Head! I hope you continue to enjoy it. Please leave reviews, good, bad, or indifferent. I love to interact with readers.

--Peter
  Quote
juliet
Saturday 19th April 2008 16:56


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

01: Faith
Perhaps the best thing about this fic is that I have found it when it is 13 chapters old! Now I will be able to keep reading and catch up.
I love the detail, the responses from Ginny and also Ron when Harry was missing, the emotion on his return. The vision that Ginny had was extemely powerful.
MyGinevra
Sunday 20th April 2008 04:17
01: Faith (Author Response)
Welcome to The Hog's Head, a very cool place to hang! I hope you continue to enjoy it. I appreciate reviews very much, so thanks for posting them.

Peter
  Quote
The_Critic
Monday 7th April 2008 13:15


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

01: Faith
This is very good writing, and a very good story out of the "after everything" stories i've read however I havent beeen able to read much of it, Seeing how as I'm not 18.
MyGinevra
Monday 7th April 2008 17:00
01: Faith (Author Response)
Again, I apologize for the mess with the ratings. Of the chapters that are posted as of today (Monday, April 7, 2008) only three have Mature content: chapters 1, 2, and 7. ALL OF THOSE HAVE GRAPHIC DESCRIPTIONS OF VIOLENCE. Chapter 1 now has a teen version; I will be submitting Teen versions of the other two very soon. NONE OF THE OTHER CHAPTERS HAS ANY MATURE CONTENT. I hope to get the rating of those chapters change, too.

Thanks for reading The Hog's Head, and I'm very glad you are enjoying it.

Peter
  Quote

Friday 4th April 2008 03:53


01: Faith

REALLY COOL
MyGinevra
Friday 11th April 2008 14:57
01: Faith (Author Response)
Thank you!!!!!
  Quote
Doenderlover
Thursday 3rd April 2008 05:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

01: Faith
I think you've posted this chapter. Has this meanings or it is a late first of april joke? I luv this story.
MyGinevra
Thursday 3rd April 2008 09:27
01: Faith (Author Response)
Sorry for the confusion. This is a reposting of chapter one in a Teen version. The validators decided that this chapter and maybe two others that are already posted need Teen versions. Their current rating is Mature for graphic description of violence.

Peter
  Quote
momto2beauties
Thursday 3rd April 2008 04:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

01: Faith
Is this the same story that was on HPFiction.com? I had been reading that one, but with their changes...it appears to no longer be on that site. If it is, is it a possibility to catch the story up to where it was on the other site? I really am loving this story.
MyGinevra
Thursday 3rd April 2008 09:24
01: Faith (Author Response)
This isn't an April Fools joke. The validotors decided that this chapter needed a Teen version. The original version of this chapter was rated Mature for graphic description of violence. I think one of two more chapters that have already been posted will be re-posted as Teen versions.

--Peter
  Quote
Showing 1 to 18 of 18
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004