Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Season for Closure by Lady Chi

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 23rd September 2008 16:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Part 1
  Quote
Nundu
Monday 12th May 2008 05:37


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Part 1
I agree with several other reviewers. The smoking and cursing seemed over the top and just an effort to make them seem more 'mature'. That sort of thing is much more effective if used sparingly. If an action or behaviour does not advance the plot or define the character it should be eliminated. Both behaviours seem too extreme for the Ron and Harry of JKR's writings.
  Quote
apollo13
Saturday 3rd May 2008 06:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Part 1
Good, but why did they have to smoke? I mean, I understand that they're adults and stuff, but it was almost like glorifying it.

> .<

~Evie
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Monday 14th April 2008 10:35


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Part 1
huh interesting... it was kinda odd... not really a plot there... unless im missing it lol
  Quote
kenkaopt
Saturday 12th April 2008 00:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Part 1
A very good way of putting the guys in their place, i like it and will enjoy more to come..... good work!
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Friday 11th April 2008 00:33


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Part 1
You are a very good writer so it really would not make an iota of difference if you could possibly tone down the effings, etc.. My reasoning is this: Harry grew in a middle class environment where he would have suffered for even using 1 bad language for the first 10 years of his life which is extremely impressionable so what he learnt as a child would have carried on to his adulthood whether he likes it or not. Ron does swear but Mrs. Weasley did curtail these in the books and so did Hermione. S' urrey and Oxford (Harry and Hermione's areas "were" unfortunately, rather "classy" areas to live during the period of JKR''s HP times - 1990s).

Please do not take this the wrong way. Swearing does exist and does happen but you have used so many in your writing that it kind of cover up your excellent writing skills.

The smoking is understandable due to the tension and stress but hopefully, this too will go. You will find that smoking in eating areas is now unlawful in England. But you probably know this already.
Lady Chi
Friday 11th April 2008 08:13
Part 1 (Author Response)
I don't take it the wrong way. You have very valid criticism, and I will respond to it in the hopes that you'll be able to understand where I was coming from and hopefully enjoy the story a bit more.

You'll notice that Ron & Harry use profanity when they are drunk. I've no idea what your experience is, but in mine... when people get drunk, they get much "looser" than they normally would be in the normal course of things. I am sorry that the cursing offended you, but I thought it felt very natural to the setting of the story -- which is a post-Hogwarts that is not as rosy as the epilogue. It will get that way, but England has to rebuild a little first.

As for the smoking, you are absolutely right. It's a habit Harry picked up in Auror training that helped him relax. Ron followed. Doesn't mean that they are life-long smokers, it just means that they are living in stressful times.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 9th April 2008 16:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Part 1
Fast paced and well written. As ever.
  Quote
ProfessorBinns
Wednesday 9th April 2008 14:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

Part 1
Love the letter from Ginny!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004