Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Season for Closure by Lady Chi

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
Dad
Saturday 21st March 2009 06:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 482

Part 2
I am not to sure if I liked the use of some of the expletive language. It is not the Harry Potter I know. But it did bring a natural lively feel to a well crafted little gem.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 23rd September 2008 21:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Part 2
  Quote
Astrid
Monday 18th August 2008 18:56


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Part 2
I love the drama, the humor, the romance, the action...all of it is brilliant! Good work.
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Thursday 17th April 2008 03:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

Part 2
Great story. You pegged it just right. 8/10.
  Quote
aragrn
Tuesday 15th April 2008 20:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

Part 2
Very interesting ans semi smutty too!lol
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Monday 14th April 2008 14:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Part 2
good story!!
It now has plot
I loved it
  Quote
kenkaopt
Saturday 12th April 2008 05:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Part 2
is there another? he he he
  Quote
samanthacr
Friday 11th April 2008 07:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Part 2
this was great!!
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Friday 11th April 2008 04:50


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Part 2
This is a great chapter and a brilliant story.

  Quote
FireFairy
Thursday 10th April 2008 18:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

Part 2
I think you did great! If you ever decide to do more stories like this then make sure you tell me! I LOVE IT! Thank you for the awesome story, it had a little of everything!
  Quote
sweetdreamer285
Thursday 10th April 2008 00:12


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Part 2
Great short one!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 9th April 2008 20:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Part 2
This is very nice. I particularly like the ending-

Ginny laid her head on his heart and simply listened to the sound of it beating for a few moments. “I feel like, seeing you again, knowing that Rookwood’s going to jail… I feel like… everything will be okay.”

As they walked to the entrance of the school, the first snowflakes fell from the grey skies.
  Quote
ProfessorBinns
Wednesday 9th April 2008 18:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 33

Part 2
I'm not sure if I buy Harry smoking and swearing. I think he really is a goody two-shoes at heart.

On the other hand, the pub scene is both believable and entertaining, and you do a great job describing H+G's longing for one another. The action is brief, and very canon, since JKR usually has everyone end up in convenient places. Overall very enjoyable. Thanks!
  Quote
Patches
Wednesday 9th April 2008 14:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Part 2
This was very well done. A little smuttiness is good! It reminds us all that we are human and the people we write stories to entertain are human too! Thanks for writing. This was one of my favorite short stories after DH. p
  Quote
sky
Wednesday 9th April 2008 14:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Part 2
I generally enjoyed this - thought it had enough action/fluffyness to be really good. I found some style things a bit strange though; Ron and Harry seemed to swear a lot - which I find odd because they almost never swear in the books and this is only a few months later after all - I find it hard to believe they would suddenly have developed a whole new vocabulary. I also found bits of it quite American in tone which I generally don't like in HP fiction simply because they are in England - I think this happened mainly in dialogue where I didn't always get the sense that it was the same Harry and Ron that we know talking. The only other thing I didn't like as much was the smoking - partly because I think there's enough of it in the real world for it to start appearing in the HP world - but mainly because it was just out of character for the wizarding world - I honestly cannot think of anyone who properly smokes in the HP books.

Having said that, it didn't stop me reading both parts and really liking it. It was a good length with an interesting plot and I hope you don't mind me being honest with my review. I feel a little harsh but I really wanted to review to let you know I'd enjoyed it but couldn't do that without saying there were things I didn't like as much.
Lady Chi
Wednesday 9th April 2008 15:10
Part 2 (Author Response)
No, your review wasn't harsh. To be quite honest, it's one of two reactions I've gotten thus far about this fic. I would like to justify my choices, if that's all right with you.

Harry & Ron do swear in the books. Quite a lot. JKR just doesn't specify which words they used -- as she was writing for children. I didn't really set out to write a story that was appropriate for everyone, and so I felt I had more freedom to play with the dialogue.

We don't know much about the era immediately following the war, but I chose to make it a little less rosy and a little more harsh than most others. My world is a bit grittier than most, but so is Deathly Hallows.

As for the smoking -- Well. Most can take it or leave it. I will say this. The story is set in the late 1990s in Britain. Statistically, a great portion of that population smoked.

Thank you for your honesty, and I'm glad you read it all the way through. There will be more set in this world -- although probably not with the language that I found necessary with THIS plot, since the next centers around Neville & Hannah.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 15 of 15
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004