Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Of Hobbies and Careers by St Margarets

Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
MrsJeck
Monday 23rd September 2013 15:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Of Hobbiies and Careers
I love the humor and the consistency of Harry, very light but will go straight to your heart. My heart broke a little for Silas...poor Silas

Harry's idea of work and hobby is unbelievably motivating...Great as always
St Margarets
Tuesday 24th September 2013 08:50
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
The older I get the more I'm invested in hobbies (like fan fiction). I can see Harry less ambitious and more laid back as he got older, letting Ginny get the limelight. Yeah - Silas just came out of nowhere. He's story is tragic, but at least he had a nice interlude with H/G. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
J-TGriffy
Monday 12th March 2012 17:49


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

Of Hobbiies and Careers
  Quote
GinevraMollyWeasley
Sunday 25th January 2009 08:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 67

Of Hobbiies and Careers
it does?
  Quote
debbie1407
Sunday 3rd August 2008 11:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Of Hobbiies and Careers
awesome story!! lots of humour and comedy. loved it!! I love reading about Harry and Ginny's happy ever after!! like a lot of people have said, although they're married with kids they're still very much the same characters as they were in the series
St Margarets
Sunday 3rd August 2008 12:03
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. It was a prompt for a fic. exchange so I had to really think about it. JKR gave us a nice view of H/G as parents, so it was fun to pull back and think about their relationship to each other at that age. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 1st May 2008 12:05


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

Of Hobbiies and Careers
Loved the story, so I like to thank you and your beta's for it.
St Margarets
Saturday 3rd May 2008 01:51
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
Thanks for letting me know. I'll pass it on to my betas who never get enough credit!
  Quote
rdprice29
Tuesday 29th April 2008 21:03


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

Of Hobbiies and Careers
Hee! How many times have I reviewed this now? I love this story so much, it's so wonderful! And the fact that Silas reminds me of my grandfather probably helps a bit as well.

But mostly it's because how much I absolutely adore how you write Harry and Ginny. Their love for each other and their true partnership just jump off the page/screen, and it's something I try to emulate in my own marriage.

Wonderful job!
St Margarets
Saturday 3rd May 2008 01:50
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
You can review as often as you like! I'm glad to hear that Silas comes through so clearly. I really wanted to focus on H/G and not have another character take over - but I still had to make him seem real.

Hee. Real marriages are 24/7 - but luckily there are nice moments to balance out the other parts.

Thanks for reading. *hugs*
  Quote
MissJadeHarley
Tuesday 29th April 2008 12:43


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

Of Hobbiies and Careers
  Quote
Lady Whizbee
Tuesday 29th April 2008 12:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Of Hobbiies and Careers
I'm so glad to see that you posted this here! *claps excidedly*

I just love this little one-shot. You've captured Harry and Ginny so well. I love seeing them later in life like this, happily married, grown-up but still in many ways just the same. *happy sighs*

And the humor is spot on, too--so endearing and true. Well done, Mary.
St Margarets
Tuesday 29th April 2008 13:22
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
You're so sweet! I'm glad you still liked it after another read through. Thanks!
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Tuesday 29th April 2008 11:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Of Hobbiies and Careers
What an imagination you have. Excellent blend of personal tragedy and the capacity to overcome it!
St Margarets
Tuesday 29th April 2008 12:05
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! It was something a little different for me to try.
  Quote
Hollu
Tuesday 29th April 2008 08:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Of Hobbiies and Careers
^_^
  Quote
The_Critic
Monday 28th April 2008 18:29


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

Of Hobbiies and Careers
Huh? wait, what about the cough drops? I really like it but that confused me a bit... I love all your stories though!
St Margarets
Tuesday 29th April 2008 07:41
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
The cough drops are what made Silas act so strangely that he brought attention to himself at such a late age. Sorry if that was confusing.
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Monday 28th April 2008 13:50


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Of Hobbiies and Careers
Haha so cute! I love how you portrayed Ginny and Harry's relationship - still in love after all these years. And you story was excellent at explaining Ginny's career choice. Great job!
St Margarets
Tuesday 29th April 2008 07:40
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
Until I got the prompt I had never really thought about Ginny's career choice, so it was fun to imagine how that might have come about - and what Harry would have to say about it. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
crucio
Monday 28th April 2008 12:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

Of Hobbiies and Careers
Sweet ficlet, thanks for sharing. One remark: I don't know where you got amateur translated as "love of", but amateur means literally "lover" (-eur is the French equivalent to English -er suffix.) It fits better the context and it makes for a better closing line for the story if you use the literal translation.
St Margarets
Tuesday 29th April 2008 07:38
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
Thanks for pointing that out. I'll have Sherry add the "r."
  Quote
Mullvaney
Monday 28th April 2008 12:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Of Hobbiies and Careers
Well, Harry has grown into a typical male, hasn't he? This is so natural and such a true extension of their characters, it seems like you've "observed them in the field" Some days, I think I could use some of those halucinogenic cough drops splendid as always, St. M.!
St Margarets
Tuesday 29th April 2008 07:38
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
"In the field" *snort* Those man creatures are fun to observe aren't they (as you step carefully over their socks)

Oh, the cough drops - I think the remedies of old probably had a lot of dodgy ingredients that might not make you feel better, but would certainly make you forget your original problem.
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Monday 28th April 2008 03:51


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

Of Hobbiies and Careers
This story was just great! Gentle humour and well written. 10/10
St Margarets
Monday 28th April 2008 05:33
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked the humour. It's always hard to know if what I think is funny will translate to the reader! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
FlittterKat
Monday 28th April 2008 02:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Of Hobbiies and Careers
Very good, I loved Silas. I've seen a lot of kids play sports but not because they love it. It's too bad.

It's so nice to see Harry happy and Ginny finding her calling. Very nice story.
St Margarets
Monday 28th April 2008 05:32
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
*sigh* It's true about kids who are good at something (music or sports say) who don't really have a passion for it. I had fun with the H/G dynamic in this. I like to consider Harry in a support role for a change. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
juliet
Monday 28th April 2008 00:37


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

Of Hobbiies and Careers
This was so lovely - I especially enjoyed the humour throughout it and how Harry supported Ginny while she made her career change. thankyou
St Margarets
Monday 28th April 2008 05:31
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked the humour - that's always hard to know when you're writing. What I think is funny might not always seem that way to the readers. I would think Harry, with that pesky prophecy over and done with, would have a lot more emotional energy to support his friend and family, and most importantly his wife. I like to think of their happily ever after in such a way. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
amamama
Monday 28th April 2008 00:22


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 440

Of Hobbiies and Careers
It's the two emotions that are at the root of everything - love and fear. Poor Silas, but maybe he finally became able to step forward in love, or at least managed to let some of the fear go... As fro you - its obvious you love writing, but that's not really a surperise. For neither of us.

Excellent work as always, Mary (with a nod to Bel and Sherry)
St Margarets
Monday 28th April 2008 05:28
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
*loves* Yes - Bel and Sherry need more than nods sent their way. I hated to construct such a life for Silas - but a brush with the Potters and a little bit of exposure to the sporting will surely turn his life in a different direction. Thanks for reading as always.
  Quote
blue artemis
Sunday 27th April 2008 20:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Of Hobbiies and Careers
That was a lovely story, although I feel really sorry for Silas.
St Margarets
Monday 28th April 2008 05:26
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
I'm glad Silas's story came through even though I never had him speak or addressed him directly. Thanks for reading and letting me know!
  Quote
mary-v
Sunday 27th April 2008 20:50


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Of Hobbiies and Careers
AHH I LOVED THIS!

*sigh* I really love you and your writing style, dear.
St Margarets
Monday 28th April 2008 05:24
Of Hobbiies and Careers (Author Response)
*loves back* Thanks for reading! It makes the writing struggle worthwhile.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 24 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004