Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump by St Margarets

Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
Lyras
Sunday 14th April 2013 04:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
I really enjoyed this! Ron and Ginny are two of my favourite characters, and it was lovely to see the (mostly) lighthearted interaction between them, without any other characters being in the spotlight. You make me almost nostalgic for those Weasley summers when life must have seemed so simple to them both. Thank you for linking me to the story!
St Margarets
Tuesday 23rd April 2013 04:56
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
Oh, thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it and I'm happy to share in the Ron and Ginny love.
  Quote
Danikay
Tuesday 24th March 2009 18:48


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 239

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
Aww, Ginny and Ron are finally getting back to the good ol' days where they did everything together!
^_^
DaniKay
St Margarets
Friday 27th March 2009 04:41
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
I do like the interaction Ginny has with her brothers. We didn't see enough in canon - again - time for fan fiction to pick up the slack.
  Quote
rich.sanidad
Wednesday 21st May 2008 10:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
There's little that can I can add that hasn't been said already. Throughout canon Harry always wished he had a family like the Weasleys and the reader always got the feeling that if he lived through the final confrontation with Voldemort that he would give his children everything he never had. Stories like this which play at how Harry and friends -- in this case Ron and Ginny -- bring those joys to the next generation are very heartwarming. Thanks for sharing this with us.
St Margarets
Thursday 22nd May 2008 03:33
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
I challenged myself to write a story celebrating the Weasleys that didn't take place in the past. Now that we know the ending of the series any such memories would be tinged with melancholy and foreshadowing of things to come. And like you said, that's not the spirit of the final book which looks firmly into the future. So this was what I came up with. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
mary-v
Friday 16th May 2008 15:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 494

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
This was so lovely! I absolutely adore fics about Ron and Ginny; they have such a wonderful relationship that Jo has hinted at, and I simply love it!

Wonderful work!
St Margarets
Tuesday 20th May 2008 07:45
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
Hi Maria! Sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you. We were away for Victoria Day weekend. I'm glad you liked Ron and Ginny - there aren't enough stories about just them. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Sunday 11th May 2008 14:11


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
Awesome! I love the sibling fun, and the details that make it so real (Ron flooing with the jacket, Ginny thinking about their wealthier cousins). These little snap-shots of their lives are perfect.

I'm curious if they'll ever be anything ... larger ... in the works?
St Margarets
Monday 12th May 2008 04:30
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
Well, hello! I haven't seen you for awhile! I'm glad you liked the story! I wrote it on a whim - most of my HP fiction has been written that way lately. I don't know about anything longer right now, but I won't rule it out. I've been working on an original romance so that's taking up my brain cells - but I'll always want to come back to H/G. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
jeanne
Thursday 8th May 2008 14:14


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
What a delightful tale. I,m jealous. I,d love to spend an afternoon like Gin and Ron did. As usual, another winner from your pen.
St Margarets
Thursday 8th May 2008 14:50
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
It was a fun scenario to imagine since my childhood days are long over! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
majolie
Monday 5th May 2008 10:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
What a fabulous way to spend my lunch break on a Monday. Lovely story. And such a true vision of childhood ... the fearlessness, the joy, the envy, the discoveries and sharing of information. I loved it. Really made me remember the adventures I had with my sister growing up and the magic we made.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 15:34
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
Your review captures perfectly what I was trying to do in this story. I'm so glad it evoked those feelings for you. Thanks for articulating them so well.
  Quote
Michael Ho
Monday 5th May 2008 09:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
St Margarets, I find everything you write (well, at least everything that you've written which I've been able to find and read!) wonderful...but somehow, this fic filled me with more fluffy, wholesome delight than any fic I've read in a long, long time. I'm not sure why. I think, perhaps, it's because it's not an adventure story, at least not in the traditional sense. I mean, sure, it's got "mystery" that has to be figured out, and there's some "peril" that comes with the figuring...but really, there's nothing Dark here, nothing urgent, nothing passionate, nothing dramatic, nothing particularly challenging: just two of our old friends, as siblings and as parents, reflecting on the past and enjoying the present. Just a little slice of life. We can see how they're older, how they think differently now (the way Ginny very maternally considers how to strategically tell Albus about the Cackling Stump was just so true to parenting!), the way some of their old competitions and joys and daydreams have been transformed by time--and of course, the way some of them haven't. I loved how they walked back to the Burrow, and there were their spouses and children; just adults and friends, spending time together, watching the next generation come along.

I have some adventure-type stories of my own; who knows if I'll ever get around to writing them. But honestly, for the same reasons JKR gave us such an ordinary epilogue at the end of DH , I need to remind myself that these kind of tales are the truest and the best. Thanks.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 15:32
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
I've tried to write adventure-type stories, but I'm not very good at it. I guess I should try harder at those. I'm glad you liked this quieter story - I find I like that sort of fiction when I'm stressed and just need a comfort read.

This story came about because I wanted to spend time with the Weasleys again - and Ron and Ginny are my favorite Weasleys of all. There's also something calmer about post war fics. The worse has happened and there's no need to foreshadow danger for our beloved characters. Thanks for reading and for letting me know your thoughts.
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Monday 5th May 2008 02:30


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
What a profoundly fun fic! How ingenious and thorougly entertaining.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:59
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it - it was fun to think about Ron and Ginny in a different way. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Antosha
Sunday 4th May 2008 18:50


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
I'm not sure how I missed rthis but it was lovely--the way that Ron and Ginny reverted so quickly, the warmth of their relationship, the elegaic mood sprinkled with bits of low comedy...

I think my favorite bit, though, was Hermione going off on a Muggleborn-rights rant. And the tag line.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:26
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
LOL - it does have a little of everything. What's great about Hermione is that she will just start *saying* these things and suddenly the story has an added dimension . . . Thanks for reading! It's good to see you again.
  Quote
blue artemis
Sunday 4th May 2008 15:12


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
That was quite sweet.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:24
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for letting me know!
  Quote
Rollerjen
Sunday 4th May 2008 11:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
Ron would pretend to jump a sea of sharks riding a flying motorcycle like the Fez had done in that episode of Happy Times, their favorite childhood show on the Wireless.

Chuckle! You always include such cute details in your stories. This was delightfull, thank you. Will you write another novel-length story, do you think? I so enjoyed The New Zealand Chronicles.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:23
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
LOL - I'm glad you liked the reference. I don't have any plans for novel-legnth fan fiction right now (I'm working on something original) but if I do, I'll certainly post it here! Thanks for reading.
  Quote
EJH0904
Sunday 4th May 2008 10:58


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
Now see, St. Margarets, this is why you're one of my favourite authors. Everything you write is just delightful! Thank you for the wonderful story.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:22
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! It was fun to revert back to the mindset of childhood in order to write it. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
The Boss
Sunday 4th May 2008 04:05


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
Great story - I particularly like how you included the cousins of the Weasleys

Any more new pieces of fic coming our way shortly?

The Boss
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:20
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
It's always nice in fan fiction to expand the world of the characters beyond what JKR could possibly fit in her stories. So was fun to think about who the kids interacted with before Harry came into their lives. Thanks for reading.

Oh - new fics? I'm working on something original now - but when the spirit moves me I'll certainly write more fan fic.
  Quote
HGRHfan35
Sunday 4th May 2008 03:55


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
Now that was fun filled.
Reminds me of how we used to play. Being content with marbles, hide & go seek, jumping rope or just bounce some ball and even table tennis.
No Wii, or PS2 or X-box around in those days just kids playing with eachother. , now I'm feeling old.

Thanx Margaret. C
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:18
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
Kids still will play like that when given the chance (or forced - LOL) but they have a lot more distractions these days - that's for sure. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
SongBird09
Sunday 4th May 2008 00:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
it's a nice story..very cute
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:16
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Arnel
Saturday 3rd May 2008 21:38


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
What a fun little story! I can just see Ron ducking so that Ginny gets the full brunt of the tree's defenses. However, the best part came at the end when Ginny decided to help her son feel important by slipping him special knowledge that would surely boost his self-esteem and help him be the wonderful big brother Ron had been (and still is) to her.

Thanks for making me smile. I give the story for giving me my big grin!
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:15
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
A lot of stories emphasize Albus Potter's insecurities, but he's also a big brother (just like Ron was to Ginny) so I would hope he'd have a special relationship to his sister and that Ginny would recognize it. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Steven Carnell
Saturday 3rd May 2008 20:33


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 74

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
Charming story and well written. 10/10.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:13
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for letting me know!
  Quote
VegHindu101
Saturday 3rd May 2008 19:04


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 52

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
Aww, that was such a sweet, heartfelt story. I'm happy Ron and Ginny were able to find that sibling friendship once again in their adulthood. And that they had the chance to be innocent children.
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:12
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
I always like Weasley stories, so it was fun to think of what they kept into their adulthood. I know my husband always reverts back to "boy" when he's around his brother. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 3rd May 2008 18:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump
nice story! really cute! that would be an awesome thing to play with! a cackling stump
St Margarets
Monday 5th May 2008 02:11
Ron, Ginny and their Cackling Stump (Author Response)
Can you imagine the commericals if they tried to sell a Cackling Stump? All those kids flying through the air . . . Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 21 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004