Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Lopsided by RIPHedwig

Showing 1 to 16 of 16
bleeblahblee
Monday 5th April 2010 07:41


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

Lopsided
This was kind of depressing, but I liked it. I'd been trying to decide ever since the fourth grade when I first read the Harry Potter series which twin would end up with who. I know that in one book (can't remember which; but I think it was the 4th or 3rd) Fred asked Angelina to go to the ball with him. but then Fred died, and i wasn't sure wether or not George got married; and now thanks to your story, I can decide. Any way great story, I lived it!
  Quote
sirius_4ever
Saturday 1st November 2008 15:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Lopsided
Nice, sweet. Well done, another great piece.
Hol xX
  Quote
sirius_4ever
Saturday 1st November 2008 15:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

Lopsided
Nice, sweet. Well done, another great piece.
Hol xX
  Quote
joes12321
Thursday 31st July 2008 01:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Lopsided
Great story. It's always nice to read a little from the perspective of someone other than the "usual suspects"

I enjoyed this. Keep up the good work!
RIPHedwig
Thursday 31st July 2008 11:08
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you! Yeah, this was my first fic... I was trying something different, hoping it would get accepted! Although my more recent fics are from the POV of the 'usual suspects', check out Platform Goodbyes for a bit of Teddy!
I'm glad you liked it... I'll keep writing!!
B
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Monday 12th May 2008 15:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Lopsided
nice story
i was a lil confused though... was angelina with george in the book or was that katie... lol i cant remember...
RIPHedwig
Tuesday 13th May 2008 07:55
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thanks!
In HP Angelina is with Fred, then, of course, Fred dies. In an interview after DH, JKR said George married Angelina so this is my take on how they got together!
Lol, hope that's unconfused you! B
  Quote
Fics by Fumph
Saturday 10th May 2008 05:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Lopsided
This was a wonderful take on the Kiss challenge, and you handled it very well.

I know a lot of people were upset when JKR said that George and Angelina eventually got together, but it was never a problem for me. I never saw it as Angelina seeing George as a replacement for Fred. As you said here, George is his own person.

I liked how it gradually built from that initial, reactionary kiss to a full fledged relationship. You made it feel completely natural, not forced.

I'm looking forward to reading more from you.
RIPHedwig
Saturday 10th May 2008 09:40
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you so much!
No, I didn't have a problem with Angelina and George either, but I sort of wanted to justify it - for myself and others, and that's why I wrote Lopsided. I liked the idea of Angelina liking both the twins before Fred's death, as I can't imagine she'd just switch from one to the other when he died. Thanks again! B
  Quote
majolie
Friday 9th May 2008 19:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Lopsided
Very nice story. I hope to see more of your stories here. If we do, it will be interesting to watch your style evolve.
RIPHedwig
Saturday 10th May 2008 09:37
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you. Once I get past those wonderful things they call GCSEs, I will be writing more! Thanks for your review!
  Quote
Patches
Friday 9th May 2008 02:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Lopsided
This is really good. Two people that really care for each other and have a love for another that can't be there anymore. This would be really difficult in so many ways. Thanks for writing. You did a great job. p
RIPHedwig
Friday 9th May 2008 08:35
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you, I'm glad you liked it!
  Quote
SeaNymph
Thursday 8th May 2008 16:42


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

Lopsided
When I first saw that JKR had paired Angelina and George together in the end, I was shocked, to put it mildly. Your story really brought out the questions that I had, and answered them, and I can't think of a more perfect way for George and Angelina to finally be together.

Your writing is amazing, by the way. The way you conveyed their pain and grief was so good that I could feel every heartache that both of them felt. That was truly a great story, and I'm really, really glad I read this!
RIPHedwig
Friday 9th May 2008 08:41
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you!
Having lost a lot of people, I find it very difficult when writers ignore or skip over grief - it's such a massive thing to go through! So I felt compelled to write something about the relatives and friends left behind (often, so much is focused on those who died), and lighted upon Angelina and George - I find theirs a very interesting story line and loved coming up the stages they went through to get together!
  Quote
Professor Webster
Thursday 8th May 2008 15:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Lopsided
What a lovely story! A few awkward moments ( story wise not plot wise )All in all very well done
RIPHedwig
Friday 9th May 2008 08:35
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you so much!
  Quote
aharkins
Thursday 8th May 2008 11:38


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

Lopsided
When I'm sitting here reading your story, with tears running down my face, it's hard to remember that these are just fictional characters.

fine writing - keep it up. And thank you.
RIPHedwig
Thursday 8th May 2008 12:59
Lopsided (Author Response)
wow! I can't believe I made you cry!
Now, this may sound odd, but I've always wished I could make someone cry with my writing! So, wow, I did it with my first - published - story! Thanks!!
  Quote
brios
Thursday 8th May 2008 11:00


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Lopsided
what a lovely little piece, thanks
RIPHedwig
Thursday 8th May 2008 12:56
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you!!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 8th May 2008 09:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Lopsided
It may take me a while to be comfortable with George and Angelina but your story has helped.

This was nice-
George's face lit with something like happiness, something Angelina had not seen on his face for a long, long time.
RIPHedwig
Thursday 8th May 2008 12:56
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thanks for your review!
This story was inspired when JK Rowling said in 'A Year In The Life...' that some people may see Angelina/George as a little 'unhealthy'. I wanted to write something to show that it was maybe a little odd - with links to Fred - but just mainly a sweet pairing.
  Quote
Mullvaney
Thursday 8th May 2008 09:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Lopsided
This is lovely! Great storyline, and your pacing was dead-on. A nice detail: you mention Kingsly and his partner , which gives this story a nice ring of authenticity; I don't think that, even in the tiny Wizarding society, that every teenager knows the name of the PM's significant. Bravo!
RIPHedwig
Thursday 8th May 2008 09:58
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you, these reviews mean so much!
And yes, that's what I thought. I wanted there to be some mystery - something to leave to the reader's imagination. Politicians are a secret lot, even in the wizarding world!
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Wednesday 7th May 2008 22:58


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Lopsided
This is not awful at all. Concise, to the point, yet rather sweet.

Well done you!
RIPHedwig
Thursday 8th May 2008 08:09
Lopsided (Author Response)
Thank you!!
  Quote
Freckles
Wednesday 7th May 2008 21:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Lopsided
I've been wondering for a while how Angelina and George got together, and I really liked your take on it! It wasn't perfect--it was painful and awkward, but it highlights both of them.

Good job!
RIPHedwig
Thursday 8th May 2008 08:08
Lopsided (Author Response)
It wasn't perfect--it was painful and awkward


That's what I was aiming for and I'm so pleased you picked up on it. I wanted to show it wouldn't be easy. After all, they've both just lost a best friend/brother/lover, so they're obviously greiving, and I think sometimes people forget that. Thanks for your review!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 16 of 16
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004