Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Moments by RIPHedwig

Showing 1 to 20 of 20
TangoCharlie
Thursday 24th September 2009 01:27


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

1: Moments
Ugh! I just adore this piece. There's probably no better way to sum it up... True love.

I find there's something enjoyable and comfortable about prose with such a clear pattern or structure. This piece really took the repetition of pattern to the extreme, but rather than become tedious I found that the genuine feeling and varying light and dark tone meant the repetion gave it a lovely 'montage' feel, appropriately like one might expect when a life (or lives) flash before your eyes immediately before death. Was that intentional? coz it's quite profound.
I have such a soft spot for works that deal with the lives of Lily and James, and your handling is just the way I like to see it done.

I could go on for ages - this is for me one of those things that you look into on a whim and end up in awe of. A piece beautiful in it's unpretentious simplicity. Big congratulations... Huge fan here!
RIPHedwig
Saturday 13th March 2010 04:35
1: Moments (Author Response)
Aw thank you, that's a really lovely review!
I worried about it becoming tedious, but those who have reviewed didn't seem to find that
'appropriately like one might expect when a life (or lives) flash before your eyes immediately before death' ... This wasn't intentional, but it's interesting that you saw it like that, and it works!
I intended the story to be literal moments from their lives, like a photographer was following them and catching unimportant and important moments. We don't see much of Lily and James' life before Harry, obviously, but we see and hear enough to guess what it was like. I didn't want to write their whole life story, because I think it's important that different readers keep their own interpretations, and I hope that this story has allowed personal ideas to unfold between the moments I have depicted
Thank you! B
  Quote
bellaluna
Wednesday 2nd September 2009 02:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Moments
Awww. I loved this. The simple style and the lovely writing . . . beautiful. Thank you!
RIPHedwig
Saturday 13th March 2010 04:30
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it
B
  Quote
Guenivere
Monday 20th July 2009 13:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

1: Moments
i loved that you made Peter a Maid of Honor! That was funny, then you went and ruined the funni-ness at the end with something depressing!
RIPHedwig
Tuesday 4th August 2009 14:34
1: Moments (Author Response)
I'm sorry!
But, tres sadly, that is the way it is. I really wish I cud've ended it differently tho :S
Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed envisioning Wormtail as that..
Thanks for reviewing
B
  Quote
sirius_4ever
Tuesday 14th October 2008 12:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

1: Moments
Just realised I haven't reviewed this one. but you know I think it's brill. good work keep it up!! H xX
RIPHedwig
Saturday 1st November 2008 09:07
1: Moments (Author Response)
crazy girl. ly xx
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Sunday 1st June 2008 11:56


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

1: Moments
What a wonderful story, thank you for sharing it
RIPHedwig
Sunday 1st June 2008 13:55
1: Moments (Author Response)
Glad you enjoyed!
  Quote
rich.sanidad
Friday 30th May 2008 18:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

1: Moments
Very nice story! Experimenting with a format like this could easily become tedious, but I thought you handled it very well. Thanks for an enjoyable read.
RIPHedwig
Friday 30th May 2008 23:43
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thank you! I was a bit doubtful that it would work, or that the readers would like it, but so far, so good. Thanks for reviewing! B
  Quote
vt
Tuesday 20th May 2008 16:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

1: Moments
awesome story of firsts!
RIPHedwig
Wednesday 21st May 2008 08:01
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thank you!!
  Quote
knightsbridge
Tuesday 20th May 2008 02:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

1: Moments
Your Nana must be quite a lady to have inspired a story this brilliant, and sad, and full of love. Cheers to you, the Autor and to your Nana who lived it.

Darian
RIPHedwig
Tuesday 20th May 2008 06:23
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thank you so much!
Yeah, she was one of the strongest, loving people I ever knew!
Thanks. B
  Quote
jovelyn_mark
Monday 19th May 2008 10:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

1: Moments
Awwwww the story is really touching. I love it.
RIPHedwig
Monday 19th May 2008 13:04
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thank you! I know I've pleased someone when they give me an 'aw' with five Ws! Thanks for reviewing!
  Quote
BasketKiwi
Saturday 17th May 2008 20:27


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 233

1: Moments
That was amazing and heartbreaking. But mostly amazing. Great job!
RIPHedwig
Sunday 18th May 2008 05:46
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thanks so much!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 16th May 2008 20:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

1: Moments
wow!!!! I loved this!!! I thought that this was about ron and hermonie at first but then i saw siruis and i was "huh?!" oh! must be james and lily!
lol
RIPHedwig
Saturday 17th May 2008 08:01
1: Moments (Author Response)
Lol thanks I'm glad you liked it! I was gonna change 'Sirius' to 'his best friend' to keep people guessing, but then I thought that everyone would get really confused!
  Quote
majolie
Friday 16th May 2008 15:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

1: Moments
Very sweet and different. Overall I enjoyed it, though some of the firsts read strangely, like,
The first time they got engaged


Still, very cute.
RIPHedwig
Friday 16th May 2008 15:26
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thanks, I know but I wanted all the sentence starters to be the same so some of them were a bit wierd. Never mind though.
I was actually just looking at your review for Lopsided, and wondering whether you'd read this and liked it. I came to have a look and - voila! - you'd just reviewed! Lol, I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Evelyn
Friday 16th May 2008 00:51


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 340

1: Moments
Excellent read! Funny, sad and in character
RIPHedwig
Friday 16th May 2008 08:09
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thank you very much!
  Quote
Lauberry
Thursday 15th May 2008 15:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

1: Moments
Beautiful descriptions- you can picture each moment in your head as you read it. And all together, it adds up to a lovely whole, even though you know it's going to end sadly.
RIPHedwig
Friday 16th May 2008 08:07
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thanks, I'm glad the imagery was so strong! Their story is so sad!
  Quote
EJH0904
Thursday 15th May 2008 15:01


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

1: Moments
Beautiful. I loved the way you made this into swiftly moving but poignant moments that encapsulated their lives. Wonderful!
RIPHedwig
Friday 16th May 2008 08:05
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thank you so much! Wow - "poignant"!
  Quote
The_Critic
Thursday 15th May 2008 14:09


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

1: Moments
hmm.
RIPHedwig
Friday 16th May 2008 08:04
1: Moments (Author Response)
I'm so pleased to have provoked such a thoughtful and constructive response! lol
  Quote
Neli P
Thursday 15th May 2008 14:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

1: Moments
After the "first" three lines, I thought it was about Ron and Hermione
This is very weet and absolutely original. It is so sad that there is a " last " at every good story, isn't it ??
Anyway, I love your story. Good job
RIPHedwig
Friday 16th May 2008 08:03
1: Moments (Author Response)
Good, I'm glad you enjoyed it! I know, I was very sad when I wrote the "last"!
  Quote
saulick
Thursday 15th May 2008 06:42


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

1: Moments
Very Good.
RIPHedwig
Thursday 15th May 2008 12:08
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thanks!
  Quote
swannygirl
Thursday 15th May 2008 04:02


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

1: Moments
That was so beautiful. I laughed and cry! It was wonderful!
RIPHedwig
Thursday 15th May 2008 12:08
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thank you so much!!
  Quote
Freckles
Wednesday 14th May 2008 22:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

1: Moments
THAT was exceedingly cute. Just a bunch of moments in time, but ones I could so easily picture. Some of them were funny, some were sad, and all were so...sweet.
This made me smile.
RIPHedwig
Thursday 15th May 2008 12:07
1: Moments (Author Response)
Thank you so much! I'm glad I made you smile!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 20
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004