Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Visiting Arthur by Arnel

Showing 1 to 14 of 14
webster
Thursday 6th May 2010 10:24


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

Visiting Arthur
Very nice interlude!
  Quote
snuggle the muggle
Tuesday 7th October 2008 10:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Visiting Arthur
I just wanted to let you know that someone has rec’d your story and I have posted a link to it in the new HP LJ community http://community.livejournal.com/hpmssgmoments, or Harry Potter Missing Moments, as well as its search site. Your story fits nicely into canon and makes a nice addition to our archives. Please feel free to come over and take a look at what we are doing and your entry (posted under "Devastation" and "Dogs of War"). We are a small group at the moment, but we hope to get your story some new readers and some new reviews as we grow.
  Quote
majolie
Monday 26th May 2008 17:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Visiting Arthur
I really liked this. I like to think that Percy was not totally cold and unfeeling toward his family throughout their rift ... your story illustrates how being the person in the wrong is just as difficult as it is for those they have wronged.

And if understand that garbled thought, good for you.

Anyway, thanks for this little tidbit.
Arnel
Monday 26th May 2008 22:15
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
I absolutely understand. That's partially why I wrote the story. The other part is because I knew that Percy has been raised by Molly Weasley who raises her children "right", so that they care about each other and their family as a whole no matter what comes between them. Thanks for your insightful review.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Wednesday 21st May 2008 06:23


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

Visiting Arthur
Aww, nicely done, Arnel. He's still a knucklehead - but he's a Weasley knucklehead. I very much like the idea that he DID come and check on Arthur rather than just ignored it. And I always love Arthur, so the idea that he knew and told the Healer to be nice to his son just hits my mushy spot. I think you nailed both Arthur and Percy wonderfully.
Arnel
Wednesday 21st May 2008 11:54
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
Thanks, Melinda. I'm really glad you like what I did with the story. Back in 2003 when I wrote the first part , I had the feeling that deep down Percy still *did* have positive feelings for his father because Molly had ingrained the importance of family into all her sons... even the family knucklehead. I'm glad I was able to hit your mushy spot; parents like Arthur and Molly always know their children best and even though Percy had said some very hurtful things, Arthur had forgiven him by the time of the visit. He's just that sort of father.
  Quote
GhostWriter
Tuesday 20th May 2008 20:46


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

Visiting Arthur
Hi Arnel!

Nicely done! I think you captured the character of Percy very well here. He's still one of my least favorite characters in the series, but he was never truly evil. Still, he deserved the Christmas hexing he got from Ginny and his brothers.

Anyway, great story. Thanks for sharing.
Arnel
Wednesday 21st May 2008 02:23
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
Thanks, George! I'm glad you liked the story. It was one of the first ones I wrote after OotP came out and when I discovered I had not posted it her on PS I decided to give it some closure. Aggiebell, my beta, thinks I need to expland on what happened during the time between the first and second parts of the story. I'm seriously thinking about writing the companion piece after I finish "Summer Story." Thanks for reminding me that Ginny, Fred and George hexed Percy at Christmas during HP. That definitely must be included in the next story. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
lantis222
Tuesday 20th May 2008 07:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Visiting Arthur
Hi Arnel!

First off, I want to tell you that I loved this story. It's always interesting to read things from Percy's point-of-view. He's quite the character. I loved it.

Second, I wanted to say how sorry I am for not getting the chapter that is still sitting on my other computer all done and ready to get back to you. I haven't forgotten you my power cord is broken and making (as my daughter puts it) lightening noises. We haven't been able to get a new one yet. I'm hoping it will be soon. So I'm sorry, and I just wanted you to know. I can't wait to get back to work.

again, wonderful little piece. Great job!
Arnel
Tuesday 20th May 2008 20:07
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
I'm so glad you like the story. I wrote the first part about a month after OotP came out because I wondered if Percy could really stay away. His attitude was fun to write and when he received several pages of press in DH, I knew I had to give my story its own closure. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
jovelyn_mark
Monday 19th May 2008 10:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

Visiting Arthur
The story was really nice. It's awesome to hear something from Percy.
Arnel
Monday 19th May 2008 10:40
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
Thanks. My beta wants me to expand on what went on between the first and second parts of the story to show how Percy eventually came to tumble out of the tunnel into the Room of Requirement. I'm seriously thinking about meeting that challenge.
  Quote
Patches
Monday 19th May 2008 01:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Visiting Arthur
This is very well done. Thank you for filling in some more of the gaps in DH. I appreciate all of the writers that add so much to the Harry Potter Universe. Thanks for writing. I look forward to more of your stories. p
Arnel
Monday 19th May 2008 09:32
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
Patches, it's always nice to hear from you. I'm glad you liked the story. I'm working really hard to get Summer Story finished at the moment so that all those little plot bunnies emerging from DH can have their chance to find themselves turned into real stories soon. Until then, thanks for your review.
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Saturday 17th May 2008 20:32


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

Visiting Arthur
I'm here via GrandmaKate's rec and I like this thoughful version of Percy. Percy is a very troubled young man trying to do the right thing just in all the wrong ways but he gets it right in the end when it counts. I'm so glad JK gave him a chance to reconcile with everyone before she ripped our hearts out killing Fred.

I like the thought that Percy thought he was being clever but his father knew all along that he had been to visit and check up on him. Parents know their children (faults and all) better than anyone.
Arnel
Sunday 18th May 2008 23:55
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
I'm so glad you followed Grandma Kate's recommendation and read my story. I happen to agree with all your points about Percy and tried to convey that in the second section. I appreciate the time you took to comment on the story.

Arnel
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Saturday 17th May 2008 09:42


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Visiting Arthur
An excellent one shot. Heartwarming and thorough.
Arnel
Sunday 18th May 2008 23:51
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
I'm really glad you think so. I like to explore the minor characters' ideas and when they act a certain way that touches my heart, I know I can write something that others will appreciate, too. Thanks for your comments.

Arnel
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Saturday 17th May 2008 08:12


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Visiting Arthur
his own resentment and the self-imposed estrangement were still new and still hurt even after all these months


What matters most is that you came back


Aw, Arnel that was lush! Made me cry!
Arnel
Sunday 18th May 2008 23:48
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
I'm so glad the story had such a profound impact on you. It's nice to see which lines made that impact, too. Thanks for reviewing.

Arnel
  Quote
takon65
Saturday 17th May 2008 08:06


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 89

Visiting Arthur
Super story Arnel! It really shows that Percy was always a Weasley, just a misguided one for a time.

The one thing that surprised me was in the author's notes...you make comma misakes?
Arnel
Sunday 18th May 2008 23:46
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
Takon, you'd be so surprised at how many extraneous commas either get put in, or more commonly, get taken out. I'm glad you liked the story. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Saturday 17th May 2008 07:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Visiting Arthur
nice story!
dang! percy had some crazy thoughts!!
Arnel
Sunday 18th May 2008 23:44
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you liked the story. And yes, when it all comes down to it, Percy's attitude did generate some really outrageous thoughts.

Arnel
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Saturday 17th May 2008 07:27


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Visiting Arthur
What a positive 'Missing Moment' in Percy's life! Actually, two of them... if you count the conversation between Percy and his father right before the Battle of Hogwarts. You do a wonderful job of expressing what Percy is thinking.

It is sheer coincidence that my chapter of Molly's reactions to what happens at the same time is waiting in the queue right now. They may turn out to be cheek by jowl at this site.


Arnel
Sunday 18th May 2008 23:43
Visiting Arthur (Author Response)
I'm so glad the posting of our chapters coincided! Just think... two completely different perspectives on the same OotP chapter! We're definitely giving the readers a nice overview of the situation from all corners.

I'm really glad you like the story. When the inspiration hits, Percy's snootiness is a lot of fun to write.

Thanks for reviewing, Arnel
  Quote
Showing 1 to 14 of 14
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004