Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Promise Me by SeaNymph

Showing 1 to 10 of 10
ibelieveintruelove
Friday 29th August 2008 22:09


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

Promise Me
Thank you for writing this story! Ron is my favorite character in the HP series (well, one of many, lol) and he never gets enough credit! He truly is the best friend anyone could ask for and an extremely loyal, brave, smart, and funny guy. I adore him and all his little quirks and the love he has for his family and friends. This was a great story and you were able to capture all of Ron's best qualities with it. I loved that he promised Ginny to take care of Harry and to bring everyone back to her - I can definitely see that happening. Great job!
SeaNymph
Wednesday 17th December 2008 12:24
Promise Me (Author Response)
Thanks so much for your review! You have no idea how much it means to hear that you think of Ron the way I do, this way, I know that I got my characterization of Ron across in the writing. Thanks for the reinforcement that I needed!
  Quote
twinsmom
Tuesday 5th August 2008 09:06


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

Promise Me
I agree! Ron is always underestimated. I believe the necklace did a lot of damage to Ron's psyhe and that it affected a lot of the progress that Ron had made with his confidence, etc.

Of course there was a reason for his leaving that was positive. He was able to give Harry and Hermione some outside info in regards to the snatcher and the Pottercast. Also, some about Hogwarts and local news, etc.

Love your portrayal here. ~christy
SeaNymph
Saturday 9th August 2008 11:57
Promise Me (Author Response)
Now that you put it that way, it seems a little more justifiable the way that JKR had Ron leaving Harry and Hermione.

I agree that the necklace must have hurt Ron in ways that seem incomprehensible to us, especially when he was destroying it. I think the fact that Harry seeing how Ron was being affected by it, especially at that point, really helped him understand what Ron had been going through.

Thank you so much for the review, and I'm very glad you agree with this perception of Ron.
  Quote
chiantiqueen
Sunday 1st June 2008 12:37


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 159

Promise Me
That was fantastic. I agree that Ron is often overlooked so it's nice to read stories where he is the leading character rather than taking a supporting role. Good on you!
SeaNymph
Monday 2nd June 2008 16:20
Promise Me (Author Response)
I like reading stories where Ron's in the leading role as well. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
critmo
Tuesday 27th May 2008 12:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 685

Promise Me
I support your idea of Ron not getting the credit he deserves. Good story.
SeaNymph
Tuesday 27th May 2008 15:50
Promise Me (Author Response)
I'm glad so many people found my AN agreeable, when it was posted, I was afraid that I spoke too much from my own heart, without taking into account others' perceptions. Thanks for the review!
  Quote
aimless`
Tuesday 27th May 2008 05:48


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

Promise Me
I agree with A/N
SeaNymph
Tuesday 27th May 2008 10:53
Promise Me (Author Response)
Thanks for the review...I feel bad saying this, but I always feel that Ron's kind of like the third wheel. I'm glad he got a little of his own limelight in HP seven!
  Quote
The_Critic
Saturday 24th May 2008 18:45


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 302

Promise Me
A perfect missing moment. Nothing more, Nothing less.
SeaNymph
Saturday 24th May 2008 20:53
Promise Me (Author Response)
Thank you so much for the kind words, you have no idea how much it means to me to know that I did not over-do the mushiness in this story, because if I had, then it wouldn't portray Ron as the way JKR has all this time. Thanks again for reviewing!
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Saturday 24th May 2008 17:12


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

Promise Me
An interesting insight into Ron's thought processes. I always think that he would have be quite tortured by his actions of leaving Harry and Hermione and the despair that he couldn't return to them no matter how much he wanted to. Thank goodness that Dumbledore got it right that Ron's weakness would assert itself somewhere along the way of the horcrux/hallow hunt and he would need a way back.
SeaNymph
Saturday 24th May 2008 20:51
Promise Me (Author Response)
Dumbledore was almost always a good judge of character. Just one tiny mistake of befriending the wrong person...ah well, I guess one mistake is okay, right?

I'm not sure if I delved deep enough into Ron's regret at leaving Harry and Hermione, but I'm glad you saw and felt what little of it that I put in there. Thanks for the review, I greatly appreciate it!
  Quote
Domain
Saturday 24th May 2008 13:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 62

Promise Me
This is a very beautiful fic and a fair tribute to Ron Weasley.

Please accept my congratulations!

Dome
SeaNymph
Saturday 24th May 2008 16:52
Promise Me (Author Response)
Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it, and I truly appreciate your comments.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Saturday 24th May 2008 11:02


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Promise Me
That was really, really good.
I totally agree with you about the Ron thing. I was thinking when I read the bit about him saying goodbye to Ginny, that I'd never really thought about how hard it would have been for him to leave The Burrow and his family. Obviously, we get an insight of how difficult it was for Hermione but I'd hadn't really thought about Ron.
SeaNymph
Saturday 24th May 2008 13:28
Promise Me (Author Response)
I'm guessing it was really hard for Ron to leave The Burrow, not only because it was the only home he'd ever known (besides Hogwarts), but because everything that mattered to him was in that home. I didn't think about Ron very much the first time around either, but it was later when I got to thinking about how hard it would have been for him. I'm glad what I wrote seemed like the right scene!

Thanks for the nice review!
  Quote
KateB
Friday 23rd May 2008 16:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 43

Promise Me
Thank you for this amazing look at Ron! I agree that he often gets ignored, and this story was a great look at him. I really enjoyed this. Feel free to write more, I will gobble them right up!
SeaNymph
Saturday 24th May 2008 13:24
Promise Me (Author Response)
Thanks for the great review. At first I was planning something totally different to show Ron and Ginny's relationship, but this just popped into my head, and it wouldn't leave! I'm glad you liked it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004