Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) by St Margarets

Showing 1 to 20 of 36 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
J-TGriffy
Sunday 11th March 2012 18:32


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
good parenting
  Quote
Rowlingisgreat
Sunday 12th December 2010 19:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
Wonderful story. Loved the father and son interaction.
St Margarets
Monday 13th December 2010 05:09
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I had fun imagining Harry as a dad. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
winslow
Friday 8th October 2010 06:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
I remember reading this before, but I do not remember whether or not I left a review... This is one of those "oh, wasn't that sweet" moments which is really so much more. Harry is growing up along with James. It's difficult to be a good parent when you yourself were inadequately ( or not at all) parented. I think this was a beautiful account of a pivotal moment between father and son. Bravo! Thanks for writing!
St Margarets
Friday 8th October 2010 16:19
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
This was such a tricky story to write, but I really enjoyed it. Yes - Harry growing along with his kids is exactly it - the lessons you learn as a parent. Thanks for your kind review. It means a lot.
  Quote
winslow
Monday 4th October 2010 13:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
Oh! This was so delightful! Such a touching scene between father and firstborn son... I do so love everything that you write! Your work is so ell done that it is a pleasure to read. Thanks for writing!
St Margarets
Monday 4th October 2010 18:41
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I love the idea of Harry as a father - his greatest challenge since he cares so much. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
muggleborn27
Thursday 31st December 2009 16:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
That was a very fine story about the connection between a father and son. You write very well i hope to read more of your work Thank you
St Margarets
Friday 1st January 2010 06:09
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. I enjoyed thinking about James and how having H/G for parents would affect him. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
xDancesWithRainx
Saturday 25th October 2008 19:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
This was fantastic!
St Margarets
Sunday 4th January 2009 14:58
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Sorry it took me so long to respond. We moved and my email address changed, so I didn't know I had reviews. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
Baby Boomer
Wednesday 13th August 2008 19:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
What a sweet story, I loved it! I can just imagine Harry stumbling through that meeting with James. What on earth would he do if he had to talk to Lily about "girly things?" I love stories about Harry, Ginny and the children. Keep writing.
St Margarets
Thursday 14th August 2008 08:27
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
Poor Harry - he'd probably buy a book (in a plain brown wrapper) and hand it to her. But he'd do his best. I like thinking about H/G and their family life - so you'll probably get a few more stories from me. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
bbnaz
Thursday 7th August 2008 07:52


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
Excellent. I am moseying about reading your works. Makes for a lovely way to start the day!
St Margarets
Friday 8th August 2008 18:36
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
A nice review from a familiar reader is another lovely way to start the day! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
drummersgirl
Sunday 20th July 2008 18:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
I read this on another site, and loved it there, but thought I'd leave a review here too since I'm here!
St Margarets
Monday 21st July 2008 17:19
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
You're so sweet to leave me another review! Thank you.
  Quote
cckeimig
Thursday 17th July 2008 15:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 406

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
This was a lot of fun, especially that last zinger!
St Margarets
Friday 18th July 2008 04:08
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
James seems like a character who would be full of zingers! Thanks for reading.
  Quote
majolie
Tuesday 15th July 2008 17:47


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
Fabulous story. I loved it. Perfect blend of humor and sentiment and seriousness.
St Margarets
Wednesday 16th July 2008 05:16
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed it. It was one of the more difficult stories I've written.
  Quote
DukeBrymin
Sunday 13th July 2008 12:02


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
Wonderful, as always. I love the easy relationship that Harry and Ginny have forged--that's really what love is all about, right? Being perfectly happy and comfortable with the one you love. And the evident affection in the family is beautiful too.
St Margarets
Sunday 13th July 2008 14:02
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I don't know if JKR had this kind of a happy ending in mind for Harry, but I think an affectionate family and a good relationship with Ginny is just the happy ending I want for him. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
ColtDancer
Thursday 10th July 2008 12:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
Another fabulous installment from you! I enjoyed this very much - a wonderful read over lunch while I took a break from my 'to-do' list. Such a simple, yet artfully depicted and heartfelt story - it was so real! Your characterizations and explorations past what we 'know' from these characters is fantastic. Thanks so much for sharing with us!
St Margarets
Thursday 10th July 2008 16:46
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed it. It's a character-driven piece, so I was worried it wouldn't hold the reader's interest. I'm also glad that characters seemed real. James was hard to capture, but he was fun once I got the hang of him. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
bookish327
Wednesday 9th July 2008 18:57


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
This was so good! I really liked how you wrote Harry and Ginny. I could definitely see the canon characters, with years of experience and a lovely life together, in them. I also liked how you wrote James. He seems like any normal boy his age, with his own unique cheeky attitude. I liked how both he and Harry gained more insight into each other and how they interact (sometimes rubbing each other the wrong way). The part about James gaining insight into Albus's behavior was icing on the cake. The following line really made me think of Ron's thing with Lavender during their sixth year:

“That I shouldn’t be kissing girls I really don’t like.”


I was almost expecting Harry to use the story of Ron & Lavender as a parable to James's situation with Violet, but imagining his Uncle Ron all over a girl other than Aunt Hermione would probably have just distracted James from realizing what he himself needed to do about Violet. I liked the way you wrote it better.

Great story.
St Margarets
Thursday 10th July 2008 06:38
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I'm glad that James seemed realistic to you. I had a hard time writing him. I didn't think Harry would be the type to tell stories about his friends - even if they were funny ones. And you're right James would have been distracted by Ron's story. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
ladymblack
Wednesday 9th July 2008 11:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
I thought this was absolutely lovely and highly entertaining. I found it great fun to see the interactions between the characters as well as James's reactions to things. It was also very well written with no visible spelling or grammatical errors, which is quite refreshing. I could easily see this being turned into a short story and will certainly look for other stories that you write.
St Margarets
Wednesday 9th July 2008 14:34
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I have to credit my betas for the lack of errors! I'm glad you liked the story. I'm working on another one with Albus in it now. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
The Unveiled Magima
Tuesday 8th July 2008 22:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
  Quote
lantis222
Tuesday 8th July 2008 14:16


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
That was cute. I'm so scared for the day when I have to have "The Talk" with my children. (shudders at the thought). But that's part of parenthood. Very well done. I loved it.
St Margarets
Tuesday 8th July 2008 14:25
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. I've discovered that you never get away with one talk - as your child ages and encounters more, you have to keep up with him/her. Luckily for me, I still have a few years before I have my hands full like H/G. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Tuesday 8th July 2008 14:02


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
hahaha!
That was class!
Loved it - soo cute!!

St Margarets
Tuesday 8th July 2008 14:13
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
Thanks for letting me know.
  Quote
pinkxhartz
Monday 7th July 2008 21:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
Love this story! The characters are so REAL! I wondered what Harry would be like as a father and this was the most convincing version of him I have read yet. And the line about what Uncle Vernon said to Dudley and Harry was hilarious.
St Margarets
Tuesday 8th July 2008 04:19
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I'm glad you thought the characters were real. I didn't want to make them too perfect, but I still wanted to highlight their lovable qualities. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
marshmallow
Monday 7th July 2008 17:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes)
Wow that was really well done. Very enjoyable and sweet.
St Margarets
Monday 7th July 2008 17:51
Beautiful Boy (He Has His Mother's Eyes) (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for letting me know.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 36 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004