Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Something Brilliant by Wings

Showing 1 to 19 of 19
kash2210
Thursday 25th September 2008 15:57


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 172

Something Brilliant
Brilliant!!!

Loved the conversation between & , priceless!!!

Then it expanded well when came in and continued
delightfully when joined the party and ended ABSOLUTELY PREFECTLY with the proposal.

Well written and a joy to read!!!
Wings
Thursday 25th September 2008 18:46
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thanks so much! I love the quartet. They're so much fun to write, and I'm glad that you enjoyed reading it! I hope you'll take the time to read and review some of my other stories as well!
  Quote
joes12321
Saturday 26th July 2008 02:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Something Brilliant
classic! The beginning is so reminiscent of Harry and Ron's interactions over Ron's lack of confidence as a keeper ("I resign. I'm pathetic" - "You're not resigning and you're not patheic!"; "Are you calling me mental?" - "Yeah, maybe I am!").

Ron's being on a chocolate frog card really quells his greatest fear: maybe he IS good enough to hold his own with his two best friends.

I loved it! I can never get enough of these stories.
Wings
Saturday 26th July 2008 06:41
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Joe,

Thank you! That's exactly what I was thinking of when I wrote the beginning, probably one of my favorite parts of the entire piece. Ron does a little bit of that in Book 7, too. I felt that it was something he might feel again with Hermione's promotion and Harry's role as an Auror (initially), and it was only too tempting to combine that idea with JKR's chocolate frog statement, and the proposal! Ron is really wonderful, and so very human in moments like these.

I'm so glad you loved it, and I hope that you'll check out my other stories as well!

Wings
  Quote
DukeBrymin
Sunday 13th July 2008 11:46


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

Something Brilliant
Oh, very nice. Sweet, light, fluffy, and true-to-character. I'm very impressed.
Wings
Saturday 26th July 2008 06:38
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you! Sorry I didn't get a chance to respond before now -- grad school is busy. I wanted to write something light as a distraction, and I'm glad that you felt it was sweet and fluffy as well, and true-to-character. I always strive for good characterisation! Thanks again!
  Quote
Astrid
Friday 11th July 2008 17:49


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

Something Brilliant
Aww, this is so cute! Of course Ron would be excited to be on a chocolate frog. I'm so glad you made that part of the proposal.
Wings
Friday 11th July 2008 18:37
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thanks, Astrid! I'm glad that you thought it was cute and that you took the time to give me a review! I think that Ron would propose in a way that was totally him
  Quote
Neli P
Thursday 10th July 2008 19:59


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

Something Brilliant
Let's see ... ... I love Ron, Hermione, Ron & Hermione together, Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes, chocolate and -of course- cute, fluffy proposals. So, I'm in when I read about a (very much "in-character") Ron & Hermione proposal in "WWW Joke Shop" after unwrapping a Chocolate Frog

Great job, Wings! Your "one-shots" are lovely, so keep them coming, OK?
Wings
Thursday 10th July 2008 20:11
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you very much, Neli! I'm so glad that I could send you up to heaven with my stories! I am also glad that you approved of my characterization of both Ron and Hermione. R/H was really my "first love" in terms of fan fiction, so I'm happy to have broken into writing them again. I feel like the best proposals happen when two people are exactly themselves. I'm working very hard, so I hope you'll keep reading!
  Quote
Cygnus
Wednesday 9th July 2008 20:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Something Brilliant
Great story Wings. You have the interplay between the 4 characters down - and have matured them nicely into their young adult perspectives.
Wings
Thursday 10th July 2008 12:22
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you! Probably easier to do because they're about my age in the stories, and I have so many friends entering this stage of life, so it's easy to write it from Harry's perspective. I'm glad that you enjoyed the story, and I always look forward to reading your responses to my writing!
  Quote
Cygnus
Wednesday 9th July 2008 20:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Something Brilliant
Great story Wings. You have the interplay between the 4 characters down - and have matured them nicely into their young adult perspectives.
  Quote
brios
Wednesday 9th July 2008 09:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

Something Brilliant
simply lovely and charming, made me smile
Wings
Wednesday 9th July 2008 10:45
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you! and great a smile and a little lift to the spirits was what I was going for! I'm so glad that you liked the story, and I hope that you'll read my others!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 8th July 2008 17:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

Something Brilliant
nice story! so cute
and they all deserve their one cards
Wings
Tuesday 8th July 2008 20:45
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thanks! They sure do, after everything that they've done! I'm glad that you enjoyed the story.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Tuesday 8th July 2008 17:07


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

Something Brilliant
Very enjoyable! I like how you played out the friendships so well, that they're so comfortable with each other, and that Harry tells Ginny everything. And the chocolate frog cards were a great idea! Harry's reaction was classic. Thanks for sharing this with us!
Wings
Tuesday 8th July 2008 20:44
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad that you liked my characterization. I have always loved the friendships that the four of them have. They're so comfortable with each other, and really can read each other's minds. The chocolate frogs really make the story. And you're welcome! I hope that you'll check out my other stories as well.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Tuesday 8th July 2008 14:12


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Something Brilliant
eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

so cute!!!!!! (x 100)


Wings
Tuesday 8th July 2008 20:43
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you liked the story. I certainly had fun writing it!
  Quote
uzma
Monday 7th July 2008 18:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

Something Brilliant
Hi 5!
Good Job.
I had always been happy just to know that the two got married and you sure did a lot of imagining on our part.
Keep it up.
Wings
Tuesday 8th July 2008 10:20
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad that JKR has given us basic facts so that we can write our own interpretations of how they might have happened. Every time I read something like, "Ron's finest moment was having his own chocolate frog card," I want to consider it and put it in context. I'm glad you liked it!
  Quote
Igor
Monday 7th July 2008 15:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

Something Brilliant
Fun. Always loved the idea of the Chocolate Frog Cards. You forgot however that Harry would never forget Bathilda Bagshot, because Harry decided to go to Godric's Hollow in order to get information from Bathilda, and because he thought that Dumbledore entrusted her with Gryffindor's Sword. She died before Harry's arrival in Godric's Hollow, possibly at the hand of Lord Voldemort, and Voldemort enchanted her decaying body to use as a disguise for his snake, Nagini to wait for Harry. The snake was instructed to attack Harry should he arrive in Godric's Hollow looking for information.
Wings
Monday 7th July 2008 15:50
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Hmm, I suppose I did forget that! It's been a while since I read DH, between finishing college and starting grad school. I'll just say that since Harry has had such a wonderful life post-Voldemort, Bathilda must have slipped his mind, and I'm sure he felt a great deal of remorse once he connected that idea later in the evening. Thanks for your review!
  Quote
EJH0904
Monday 7th July 2008 12:43


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 123

Something Brilliant
Heheh! I love the whole trio being on the chocolate frog cards. You're story is the thing that's brilliant, by the way!
Wings
Monday 7th July 2008 13:02
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I liked the idea, too. I was really tickled when JKR mentioned it in an interview, and just knew that I had to take it and run with it. Of course, Ginny will be on one too, someday, but not yet. I'm so glad that you loved my story, and hope that you'll read some of my others. I'm pretty sure that I've seen your name before. So glad you took the time to read my stories again!
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Monday 7th July 2008 12:26


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Something Brilliant
Awww! Any more of these mushy stuff in the pipeline? Absolutely delightful
Wings
Monday 7th July 2008 13:00
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you! If you've read any of my other stories, you'll know that I tend to write more fluffy one-shots, and I have a longer novel-length story that is much darker and not necessarily fluffy, though it has its moments. I've written two one-shots since uploading my last chapter for that story, so I'm going to focus on Chapter 13 before I do another one-shot. I hope that you'll take the time to read my other four one-shots and that you'll check out my longer story as well! Thanks for taking the time to leave me a review.
  Quote
Michael Ho
Monday 7th July 2008 10:00


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Something Brilliant
Ha! Combining the chocolate frog card moment with the proposal moment! Awesome. A delightful little story; thanks for it.
Wings
Monday 7th July 2008 12:58
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
You're welcome! I'm glad you thought it went well. I was very excited when I first thought of the idea. Hope that you'll take the time to check out my other stories as well!
  Quote
Oma
Monday 7th July 2008 06:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Something Brilliant
I'm smiling uncontrollably. You should know how much that means I liked your story. I can completely imagine this proposal happening just as you said.
Wings
Monday 7th July 2008 08:53
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Excellent you know, I generally gage how well I've met the intent of my story based on your reaction. I think I'm getting better at it. I'm glad that you liked my characterization and storytelling, and that I made you smile. When I get an extreme reaction out of you, I know I've done something right. New favorite?
  Quote
eruditemonk
Monday 7th July 2008 03:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Something Brilliant
This was simply perfect! I adore Ron so much, and to see him here so prominently tugged my heartstrings! Kudos for such excellent and romantic writing MORE stories like this one!
Wings
Monday 7th July 2008 05:24
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I love Ron as well. He was the first character in the series with whom I fell in love, the unlikely knight. I haven't written him like this in a long while, so I'm glad that you enjoyed my first foray into R/H again! I have four H/G stories hosted at PS, and a multi-chaptered fic (quite long, though not romantic) hosted at PS as well. I hope you'll take a look at them!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 7th July 2008 02:53


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Something Brilliant
I think you do Ron very well. A chocolate frog card and
Wings
Monday 7th July 2008 05:21
Something Brilliant (Author Response)
Thank you! I haven't written Ron in a very long time, probably four or five years, other than having him as a minor character in a H/G story. Obviously, those stories from my early fanfiction days aren't here at PS But the R/H pairing was really what got me into fanfiction in the first place, so I decided it was time to come back to it. Thank you for your review!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004