Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Hogwarts Rebellion by Kathryn

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
clare
Monday 30th November 2009 22:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 78

2:Resistance Begins
There are already some great characters in this. The carrows are wonderfully wicked and as truely evil as deatheaters should be. And Harper well he is very very interesting.
Kathryn
Tuesday 1st January 2002 03:37
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Oh Andrew was an interesting character to write
  Quote
juliet
Saturday 19th September 2009 21:47


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

2:Resistance Begins
Ginny picked up the quill and scribbled the word in her own blood: Pureblood


fantastic choice of words
Kathryn
Sunday 20th September 2009 17:11
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
was it you who suggested that word orginally - forget - it was a conversation pre DC, which a lot of this has been based off.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Tuesday 31st March 2009 11:09


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

2:Resistance Begins
Poor Ginny! Nice foreshadowing here-
Unfortunately, you earned your detention so quickly that none of the other students are ready to practise the Cruciatus Curse."


Life is going to get worse.
Kathryn
Saturday 4th April 2009 22:17
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Life is going to get worse.


Oh you have no idea, its going to get so much worse.
  Quote
Ocean Dream
Wednesday 14th January 2009 17:03


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

2:Resistance Begins
Nice one as well.
Yep, Ginny definitely wouldn't do anything Harry wouldn't!
Kathryn
Thursday 15th January 2009 05:36
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Oh yes, she def. matching Harry in terms of what she thinks is just and how to control her temper.
  Quote
hypercell
Thursday 1st January 2009 13:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

2:Resistance Begins
This is really good! but what are those question marks? In the diamonds?
Kathryn
Thursday 15th January 2009 05:06
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
that was a problem that this chapter had with the formating - those were ammeant to be speach marks etc
  Quote
Wolf's Scream
Monday 22nd September 2008 06:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 372

2:Resistance Begins
Well done.

It must have been exceptionally scary for Ginny to first lower her wand while Alecto was pointing one at her, then to leave her wand at her desk.

Harper's behavior is curious (though I suppose he might be one of the Slytherins who isn't "on board" with Tom's reign of terror). I expect you'll make that as clear as you intend as the story progresses. :-}

The rest all seems quite plausible, given the circumstances -- and well-described.
Kathryn
Monday 22nd September 2008 15:21
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
It must have been exceptionally scary for Ginny to first lower her wand while Alecto was pointing one at her, then to leave her wand at her desk.


Yes, she is having to deal with a lot and its not going to get any easier.

Harper's behavior is curious (though I suppose he might be one of the Slytherins who isn't "on board" with Tom's reign of terror). I expect you'll make that as clear as you intend as the story progresses. :-}


He does have an interesting back story - but that's not until later.
  Quote
lantis222
Friday 12th September 2008 20:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

2:Resistance Begins
Oh, poor Ginny. I really hate those Carrow's. Great chapter, I can't wait for another.
Kathryn
Sunday 14th September 2008 15:11
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
thank you

the next few chapters are coming along well
  Quote
twinsmom
Monday 1st September 2008 19:27


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

2:Resistance Begins
I'm so glad to see this! I can tell you are going to do a fabulous job with this! I always thought JKK could write a whole other book with this exact subject matter. Kind of like Eragon and his cousin. Love this idea and can't wait for more.

~christy
Kathryn
Tuesday 2nd September 2008 04:19
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)

Thank you, I feel like I have a lot of room to play with here and I am having a lot of angsty fun.
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Monday 1st September 2008 12:17


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

2:Resistance Begins
Sorry I didn't stop to leave a review on the first chapter - not sure why. This is shaping up to be a great story and I'm excited to see someone take on the challenge of writing Ginny's sixth year. You've got a fair bit of room to work, as JKR didn't give us a lot of details. That makes for some good storytelling opportunities!

So far I'm really enjoying this. You've got skill for writing Ginny's feelings well and knowing exactly what situations and words to use to bring out her Weasley temper. Of course, anything relating to Harry will do that I love the juxtaposition of her anger, guilt, and fear next to her feelings of wanting to rebel against the teachers and missing Harry so much it hurts. You've done a great job of mixing this all together, just as it would really be. Her character is more complex than most people think and you're doing a good job showing that.

If your characterization of the Carrows is a good guide, I can't wait to see how you'll write Snape. He's tricky because we, the readers, all know that he's really a good guy, but Ginny certainly had no idea. I'm really looking forward to seeing how the two of them interact. Can't wait for more, keep up the good work!
Kathryn
Tuesday 2nd September 2008 04:17
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Sorry I didn't stop to leave a review on the first chapter - not sure why.


This review completely makes up for that. I'm gob smacked by it, completely stunned and honoured.

You've got a fair bit of room to work, as JKR didn't give us a lot of details. That makes for some good storytelling opportunities!


The freedom is great, in fact the hardest chapter to write has been the Gryffindor Sword one, because there is so much expectation with that chapter.

I love the juxtaposition of her anger, guilt, and fear next to her feelings of wanting to rebel against the teachers and missing Harry so much it hurts.


Putting it all together like that, it real is enough to give anyone a breakdown.

Her character is more complex than most people think and you're doing a good job showing that.


Oh Ginny truely is a wonderfully complex character and such a joy to write, she is so much more than a love interest.

If your characterization of the Carrows is a good guide, I can't wait to see how you'll write Snape. He's tricky because we, the readers, all know that he's really a good guy, but Ginny certainly had no idea. I'm really looking forward to seeing how the two of them interact.


Snape has been very interesting. I spent yesterday doing some chapter 4, Snape Ginny interaction which I think is just that little firey.
  Quote
Patches
Monday 1st September 2008 02:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

2:Resistance Begins
Wow! This is really bad. It was good that a Slytherin was willing to help Ginny not have another detention though. That was unexpected. It shows that not everyone in Slytherin is a bad person. I'm glad that Neville is trying to watch out for Ginny. It would help if she would cooperate but that is expecting a lot from her. I'm not surprised that the blood quill came up aa a torture device again. I hope Ginny slows down a little or at least becomes a little less obvious. Thanks for writing. I look forward to more soon. p
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:49
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Wow! This is really bad.


I thiit was Neville that said that the Carrows made Umbridge look like sweet grandmotherly figure or something like that in DH, so things are going to get worse yet. Afterall we are still just in the first week in September.

It shows that not everyone in Slytherin is a bad person.


Indeed, there are some good Slytherin's out there.

I'm glad that Neville is trying to watch out for Ginny. It would help if she would cooperate but that is expecting a lot from her.


Yes, and Ginny needs him more that she will admit, at this point anyway.

I'm not surprised that the blood quill came up aa a torture device again.


It was just too good a weapon, not to use again.

I hope Ginny slows down a little or at least becomes a little less obvious.


She just needs a bit of a shock first, then maybe she wil be using her head a bit more than unleashing that famous Weasley temper.

  Quote
hp4-sauce
Sunday 31st August 2008 11:47


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 91

2:Resistance Begins
Another excellent chapter. TIhis is one story the updates of which I will defintely be keenly anticipating and following
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:38
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Cheers, I'm glad you are enjoying it.
  Quote
blisstocome
Sunday 31st August 2008 11:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

2:Resistance Begins
This is a sweet, sweet idea and you're writing is spot on. I read your first two chapters straight through in one setting and they were awesome. PLEASE keep it up and finish this story.

Fantastic work!
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:35
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
thank you
  Quote
Dad
Sunday 31st August 2008 10:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

2:Resistance Begins
I think the best HP fanfics are the ones that do not try to rehash the stuff in the books. This is clearly an original story, so keep up the good work.
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:34
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
thank you
  Quote
blue_and_white_witch
Sunday 31st August 2008 06:24


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 92

2:Resistance Begins
Amazing chapter!

Neville and Demelza are such sweethearts!

Snape is a genius!

And I'm very curious about Harper's motives? Why would he stick his next out for Ginny?
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:32
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
thank you

And I'm very curious about Harper's motives? Why would he stick his next out for Ginny?


Oh now that is an interesting question.
  Quote
chockyfroglady
Sunday 31st August 2008 05:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

2:Resistance Begins
Brilliant chapter! Snape brilliant as ever by drawing the Carrows attention. But i have the same format problem on my PC which replaces punctuation with boxes...
Cant wait for an update
[BellaCissaRiddle]
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:25
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Thank you.

Snape brilliant as ever by drawing the Carrows attention.


Cheers, he is proving to be a very interesting character to write at the moment.
  Quote
Trelawney2213
Sunday 31st August 2008 03:14


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 106

2:Resistance Begins
I like the way your handling Ginny's and Neville's relationship. It's implied in Canon but I like the way your're fleshing it out here. Nice!
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:21
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)

Cheers mate

I like the way your handling Ginny's and Neville's relationship. It's implied in Canon but I like the way your're fleshing it out here.


I think that they have been fairly close since around the Yule Ball in GOF, but it is my opinion that they got very close in DH, afterall how could they not considering what they went through and remember it was Ginny who asked after him in the eppi. Besides, Ginny need someone to watch her back during this year.

  Quote
blah whatever
Saturday 30th August 2008 15:34


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 57

2:Resistance Begins
Great, great chapter.

I'm not sure what to make to Harper.Snape's character was great - pulling the Carrows in the a deeper cono as Nev and Ginny left the table. And Molly letter was ace, so Molly and said so much without giving anything away. Finally there was the return of the evil quill - but I actually think given the alternative that may not have been a bad thing.
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:16
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Cheers

Snape's character was great - pulling the Carrows in the a deeper cono as Nev and Ginny left the table.


Snape is a very clever man.
  Quote
dcgirl
Saturday 30th August 2008 15:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

2:Resistance Begins
Excellent chapter! Very creepy. You hit all the right notes. Kate
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:15
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
thank you
  Quote
brown_eyes
Saturday 30th August 2008 15:30


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

2:Resistance Begins
Great chapter - very icey, creepy - but I have a format problem on my PC that has made it hard to read with boxes replacing punctation - is there a way to fix that?

Nevertheless - excellent and can't wait for the update.
Kathryn
Monday 1st September 2008 02:10
2:Resistance Begins (Author Response)
Thank you.

but I have a format problem on my PC that has made it hard to read with boxes replacing punctation - is there a way to fix that?


I'll pass that onto my beta.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 19 of 19
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004