Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For In the Bleak Midwinter by SnorkackCatcher

Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
ibelieveintruelove
Wednesday 10th February 2010 21:10


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

In the Bleak Midwinter
Omg that is adorable!! I loved how we got to see each of Hermione's horrible winters alongside the final consummation of Ron and Hermione's relationship Nice work!!
SnorkackCatcher
Thursday 11th February 2010 14:48
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much -- glad you liked it.
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Saturday 26th December 2009 01:51


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

In the Bleak Midwinter

mmmmm I just felt like some fan fic and this is the first one for a long time and it was will worth it ! Good one !
SnorkackCatcher
Tuesday 29th December 2009 13:21
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much!
  Quote
rebekah_sc
Monday 19th October 2009 17:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 5

In the Bleak Midwinter
One of my favorite Hermione and Ron stories. Specifically, though, I'd been looking for a fic addressing difficulties Hermione may have experienced bridging the two worlds and this story did so with insight and a delightful intimacy with her emotions throughout. Thank you.
SnorkackCatcher
Tuesday 20th October 2009 11:44
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I always wondered what she told her parents, and suspect she kept a lot of things hidden.
  Quote
beko
Wednesday 12th November 2008 04:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

In the Bleak Midwinter
Oh, and here's another one I simply couldn't not love (been supporting the good ship ardently since book #3) And me too, all those holidays Hermione didn't go home to see her parents made me wonder - JKR never mentions how often she writes home, but well, if she's writing letters to Victor we probably can assume she is writing to her parents regularily, too... but that's not the same as seeing them... so anyways, thank you for summing up the problem in this wonderful story, and in such a well-structured and perfectly in-character way, too.
I really love your writing style... I think I'll go read your other stories now, too
SnorkackCatcher
Thursday 13th November 2008 12:54
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much! Yes, you'd imagine she kept up a reasonable level of contact with them, although I don't suppose she told them much detail -- the only time I can remember it mentioned was when she borrowed Hedwig to tell them about being made a prefect.
  Quote
bookish327
Monday 27th October 2008 06:48


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

In the Bleak Midwinter
I just got the urge the other day to google a fan-fic about Hermione and Ron finding her parents in Australia. I'm so lucky I found such a well-written work on this plotline. You write them both very well, and I enjoyed how you incorporated Hermione's memories of the past. Thank you for sharing this with us.
SnorkackCatcher
Monday 27th October 2008 12:06
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you -- glad this one came up.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 6th October 2008 07:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

In the Bleak Midwinter
This is an excellent story with two plots complimenting each other. Weaving the Christmas Holidays between the days of the search for Hermione's parents worked very well.

You write a very believable Ron and Hermione.
SnorkackCatcher
Monday 6th October 2008 16:03
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you -- it's really a lot of fun writing members of the Trio.
  Quote
Jacynthe
Saturday 4th October 2008 09:04


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 143

In the Bleak Midwinter
This is a lovely story in every way. Sweet but not cloying, and very well written indeed. And for what it's worth, if ever there was a story whose sexual content was appropriate for all readers old enough to read, this is surely it. One does so desperately want Hermione to be happy...
SnorkackCatcher
Monday 6th October 2008 16:02
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you -- yes, they could do with a bit of a break from it all, couldn't they?
  Quote
Astrid
Sunday 28th September 2008 09:59


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 336

In the Bleak Midwinter
This is wonderful. I love it. Wow, I'm actually rather blown away. You've seamlessly tied in the flashbacks with the present, all with the theme of bad winters.

My only nitpicking, which might be wrong, since my books are at home (I'm away at university). In OotP, I thought Hermione went skiing with her family, but didn't like it, so she came back. I got the impression that she spent a decent amount of time with them, if not the whole break.

Anyway, excellent job! I love the / dynamic.
SnorkackCatcher
Sunday 28th September 2008 17:03
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I'm glad the dynamic seemed right, it's never easy to pitch at the right level.

(Oddly, OotP is the only book I have with me at the moment -- just checked, and she tells Harry that she came as soon as term officially ended. So she couldn't really have done more than pay a flying visit to her parents.)
  Quote
Gioia
Monday 22nd September 2008 16:28


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

In the Bleak Midwinter
I absolutely loved this story! I wrote a full review of it up over at Know It All's. http://mujaji.net/kia/?p=2051
SnorkackCatcher
Monday 22nd September 2008 16:46
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much! Always fun to get recced, and for a reader to feel the characterisations were true to the originals, and I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
kash2210
Sunday 21st September 2008 08:17


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 172

In the Bleak Midwinter
This was a wonderful story, you wrote alot that made me think of Hermione in a different way. I mean I confess I didn't think about it before but WHAT would have Hermione seen if she looked in the Mirror of Erised, such an intelligent question but one that escaped me from ever thinking about let alone asking!

It was refreshing to see how you inserted the christmas paragraphs, I did actually think about her missing all those holidays with her parents whilst reading the books but dismissed them like I guess many others did as they didn't seem important, but now reading this makes me think of it in a different light.

Thanks for this really great story!
SnorkackCatcher
Sunday 21st September 2008 11:09
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much! It's always nice to hear that you've made someone think of the characters in another way -- I hadn't really thought much about some of these things before I took a closer look to write the story.
  Quote
CrumpleHornedKiwi
Friday 19th September 2008 01:22


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 224

In the Bleak Midwinter
oh I really really enjoyed this, I like the way you took us back through each book and what happened in those winter months each year.

your and your were spot on
SnorkackCatcher
Friday 19th September 2008 17:16
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much!
  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 18th September 2008 10:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

In the Bleak Midwinter
great story trully enjoyed it. Thanks to you and your beta's for writing/checking and posting it.
SnorkackCatcher
Thursday 18th September 2008 12:49
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
pyromain
Thursday 18th September 2008 10:56


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 580

In the Bleak Midwinter
great story trully enjoyed it. Thanks to you and your beta's for writing/checking and posting it.
SnorkackCatcher
Thursday 18th September 2008 12:49
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
See above.
  Quote
brios
Wednesday 17th September 2008 17:10


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 112

In the Bleak Midwinter
I love this story, make me cry at the end, lovely.
SnorkackCatcher
Wednesday 17th September 2008 23:24
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much!
  Quote
KDTheRavenclaw
Wednesday 17th September 2008 07:38


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

In the Bleak Midwinter
Very beautifully written! I loved it.
SnorkackCatcher
Wednesday 17th September 2008 14:37
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
angeli
Wednesday 17th September 2008 03:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

In the Bleak Midwinter
this story was "irresistible"!! it was sweet and charming, if a little fluffy. however, might i suggest that hermione muses less? anyway keep writing, you rock!
SnorkackCatcher
Wednesday 17th September 2008 14:38
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Ah well, a bit of fluff never hurts. Thank you!
  Quote
shimotsuki
Saturday 13th September 2008 14:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

In the Bleak Midwinter
My goodness, but this is a great read. I love the structure of it -- the alternating present and flashback scenes, with the scene titles following a theme, and the idea that winter has never been a good time for Hermione. I hadn't stopped to think how many awful winter holidays she's had until you lined them up like that.

I thought the awkward but determined relationship between Hermione and Ron was very true to character, as was Hermione's guilt over not having stayed that close to her parents, and the way that regret was bound up with her guilt over having performed the Memory Charm without their knowledge. Best of all was seeing Ron at her side through all this worry and frustration; it's a perfect way to illustrate that he is there for her now.

(And the carol that your title is taken from is one of my favorites, too!)
SnorkackCatcher
Sunday 14th September 2008 04:14
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you very much! I suppose she's had a hectic time of it all through the series, and that the summers always end in something dramatic too, but at least then things get resolved -- in mid-year everything just piles on.
  Quote
aharkins
Saturday 13th September 2008 09:53


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

In the Bleak Midwinter
I thoroughly enjoyed this story. Thank you for writing and for sharing.
SnorkackCatcher
Saturday 13th September 2008 12:19
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
Miri
Saturday 13th September 2008 08:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

In the Bleak Midwinter
This is a wonderfully written story which takes a complex back and forth weaving of timeline and handles it with ease to make a very readable and enjoyable story. Particularly, poor Hermione's string of bad winters. Putting them all together like that really makes you realize just how tough H had it occasionally. Something I point out to people who try to claim that H was not a good friend to Harry and Ron but then ignore the times that H&R were not good friends to Hermione.

I've often wondered just what reaction Hermione got from her parents at the end of DH and also how they felt about her frequent absences from them over the years and you've done a believable version of that which could fit nicely into canon.

I love the awkwardness of the H/R relationship which is just the way it should be. One kiss doesn't solve everything and it takes a while to put things together. But, love their "getting together" despite the awkwardness. Yay!
SnorkackCatcher
Saturday 13th September 2008 12:23
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you. I always wondered how much her parents knew about what was going on in Hermione's world, but I don't think anyone ever asked JKR that question. And yes, she was a terrific friend to Harry and Ron.

Glad you liked the way the relationship worked out -- I didn't want to shy away from what thequote suggested, but they obvously had things to work out first!
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Friday 12th September 2008 16:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

In the Bleak Midwinter
aww!!! this was such a cute story!!! i loved reading about it and how you tied in every winter in hermonies life... ive never really though about it before... ron always had has parents and harry had sirius for a bit and remus and the weasleys... but hermonie didnt have anyone since she was a muggle... great job on writting this!!!
SnorkackCatcher
Saturday 13th September 2008 12:24
In the Bleak Midwinter (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm sure Hermione's relationship with her parents was fine when she was present, but clearly an awful lot of the time she wasn't.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 23 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004