Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Final Five by TangoCharlie

Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
chit.94
Tuesday 14th December 2010 01:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

The Final Five
That was lovely. :'(
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Saturday 26th December 2009 02:15


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

The Final Five


ooooohhhhhh that was so good but sooo sad !
  Quote
snuggle the muggle
Sunday 14th December 2008 19:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

The Final Five
I just wanted to let you know that I have rec’d your story and posted a link to it in the new HP LJ community Harry Potter Missing Moments. Your story fits nicely into canon and makes a nice addition to our archives. Please feel free to come over and take a look at what we are doing and your entry (posted under "New-Found Family"). We are a small group at the moment, but we hope to get your story some new readers and some new reviews as we grow.
  Quote
hihavaniceda
Saturday 6th December 2008 02:42


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 184

The Final Five
yes ..... that was good ...... mmm have you written more ? I will look.
  Quote
tom marvolo riddle
Sunday 16th November 2008 14:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

The Final Five
awsome man really good
  Quote
hmrpotter
Wednesday 12th November 2008 08:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 10

The Final Five
So cute, until the end...then I want to start crying at the sheer unfairness of it all. But without that end, how would we have had our story? Great story.
  Quote
noa_potter
Wednesday 5th November 2008 08:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

The Final Five
Wow, your story is marvelous!
I want to hear more!
You write beautifully...
  Quote
noa_potter
Wednesday 5th November 2008 08:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

The Final Five
Wow, your story is marvelous!
You write beautifully...
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Friday 17th October 2008 13:00


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

The Final Five
This was really fantastic I'm gutted it didn't win, I voted several times using my different user names!
I see you haven't written anything else, which makes me sad! Definitely write some more stories, this one was brillaint! So sad, yet satisfying in a way, too... Kinda filled me up, nice to see some snapshots of the happy life Lily and James had before their tragic ending (though I never really think of it as an ending considering how much they crop up in the books, and how their names were passed on. A lovely touch for the end of DH, I thought.)
B
TangoCharlie
Friday 17th October 2008 16:05
The Final Five (Author Response)
Hey, thanks for your lovely review and your votes! I'm glad you enjoyed reading the story. I'm certainly of the opinion that from the little we know about Lily and James, they deserved some happiness together ehile they had the chance. It was very therapeutic to write this, and it's good to hear it had the same effect being read.
I've got a stack of other fics lined up ready to go, but as I submitted this as a new author, I need to wait for a regular submission period for the others...
Thanks again for your kinds words : )
  Quote
Neli P
Sunday 12th October 2008 20:37


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 49

The Final Five
Very beautiful and original! Stories about James and Lily's last moments ALWAYS make me cry ...
Best of luck for the Challenge, OK?
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 06:32
The Final Five (Author Response)
Thank you very much for your kind review! I'm with you about Lily and James and their final moments - it was an interesting therapy to write this.
  Quote
Ladybug
Friday 10th October 2008 21:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 375

The Final Five
Oh, goodness, that was a very clever use of tension - as James became more and more relaxed through the story I couldn't help but feel more and more anxious - which is I'm sure what you were striving for. Very nicely done, thank you for a good story.
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 06:27
The Final Five (Author Response)
It's been really interesting to hear how people have responded to this story. Some have felt the tension lessen as it does for the Potters, while others have felt it increase knowing what was to come - my goal was to show that both happened, and because of the other (if that makes sense...)
Thank you for your review!
  Quote
lety77_7
Thursday 9th October 2008 01:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

The Final Five
Tragic. James and Lily even thinking of expanding their family, only to be betrayed by one of their best friends. I love angst.
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 06:09
The Final Five (Author Response)
I'm glad you enjoyed it - I appreciate your review.
One of the things that bothered me the most about Harry losing his parents how and when he did was that it deprived him the possibility of having younger siblings, so I wanted to show that had they been given the opportunity Lily and James would have made Harry part of a very large and loving family. I even considered having Lily reveal she was already expecting another baby, but that was just a bit too much for me...
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Tuesday 7th October 2008 19:13


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

The Final Five
Very nice story, just sad that it ends like that.
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 05:59
The Final Five (Author Response)
Thanks : )
It certainly is a shame that it had to end the way it did, but I hope what happened in the lead-up to that was worth reading.
  Quote
aurora luminis
Saturday 4th October 2008 04:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

The Final Five
Well, I just cast my vote for this story. It took courage to write something that doesn't have an 'all is well' ending. One has to accept that it just won't be that popular. I know! Yet beauty will always win in the end: you sow seeds of beauty with this piece, so well written, so human.
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 05:56
The Final Five (Author Response)
Wow! Thank you so much for your review (and your vote). I don't know about courage - if I could have given this a happy ending, I would have, but unfortunately my hands were tied on that one. It was for that reason that the events beforehand were all the more important to me. You're very generous with your praise, and it's certainly made me feel like I've achieved what I wanted to - bring some joy and happiness where previously we knew only death and destruction.
Thanks again!
  Quote
Dad
Friday 3rd October 2008 11:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

The Final Five
That was the opposite of whatever fluff is. A bit too sad for me.
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 05:49
The Final Five (Author Response)
Thank you for your review. I agree that it's too sad - I like nothing better than a good happy ending, but in this case that just wasn't meant to be. That's partly why I wanted to write thas fic - to balance out the ultimate sadness with some lighter, more positive moments.
  Quote
Arnel
Friday 3rd October 2008 06:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

The Final Five
This is a fantastic story. The tension at the beginning is palpable and I can feel it draining away as the story progresses. I also like the evoluation of James' complacency towards his wand as he begins to trust that the Fidelius Charm really is hiding him and his family. You've done a really great job translating Voldemort's memories to James' perspective and I therefore give your story .

Good luck with the contest.
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 05:35
The Final Five (Author Response)
Thank you for the review - I really appreciate it.
I found it interesting that you felt the tension lessening as the story progressed. That's how it felt to me, but I know that others who have read it felt the tension increasing, knowing what would eventually happen. It's interesting to note different readers' varying perspectives.
Developing James' complacency was an interesting challenge, because I really didn't want to show him just getting sloppy. I wanted to show his family to be the dominant force in his life, and when Lily and Harry were tense and upset, he could not relax, and was constantly on edge. However, once Lily and Harry began to settle, so did he, and on some (I imagine subconcious) level - as you say - finally trust the Fidelius Charm.
Thanks again for the review - I was so excited to hear from on of my favourite authors!!
  Quote
lilystar
Wednesday 1st October 2008 22:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 25

The Final Five
I like this story a lot despite the familiar sad ending. i like how you led up to that final day with James' effort to calm Harry before he went to bed and forgetting his wand. Now I realize why he didn't have it with him in the end. Great insight of what Harry was like with his parents. great story and good luck.
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 05:08
The Final Five (Author Response)
Thank you for the review. This fic came about because I felt like I needed some sort of justification about why James didn't have his wand on him when he needed it most, and I also like to hypothesise about what could of been when Harry had his parents with him.
Thanks again : )
  Quote
rich.sanidad
Tuesday 30th September 2008 20:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

The Final Five
Fantastic story! You captured several aspects of parenthood very well. The appearances of the number five were smoothly worked into the story and were barely noticeable. Thanks for the great read and good luck with the competition!
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 04:58
The Final Five (Author Response)
Thanks for the review.
I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with writing about parenthood, so I'm glad it came off okay.
I started writing this fic before the Anniversary Challenge was announced, so once it was fun to try and be a bit crafty about weaving in some references to 'five'. I'm glad you picked them up! Honestly though, as well as 'seven' being a number of significance in the HP universe, it's also my favourite number, and I always try to weave it into my writing (HP or otherwise), so in this case, wherever there's a reference to 'five' there's also a second part making it a reference to 'seven'...
  Quote
SeaNymph
Tuesday 30th September 2008 20:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

The Final Five
This is an excellent piece of writing. I loved how you expressed James's frustration, and how he soon got over it, unfortunately leading him to be caught off guard by Voldemort. This one had a lot of hidden emotion behind it for me, as well. There's so much we don't know about Lily and James, and how they felt during this time, you portrayed it beautifully...Thanks for writing!
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 04:36
The Final Five (Author Response)
Thank you for the review - I really appreciate it. It was inevitable that the Potters' final days were extremely emotional, but in attempting to fill in some of the gaps of what we know we know about Lily and James, I really wanted there to be some positive emotion there as well as those less pleasant.
I'm glad it was something you were able to appreciate : )
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Tuesday 30th September 2008 15:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

The Final Five
omg! thats so sad!! i loved reading about them hiding behind the charm from this POV. very nice to read...
thanks for writing!
TangoCharlie
Thursday 16th October 2008 04:28
The Final Five (Author Response)
Thanks for the review - Lily and James' lives, especially the last few years before their deaths, has always been a big point of interest for me. It is a shame that this ultimately had to have a sad ending, but at least they got to enjoy some happier moments : )
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 25 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004