Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Sins of the Fathers by parakletos

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 29 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
The Pharaoh
Saturday 18th April 2009 21:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

Chapter 1
@Meandyou2:
Given that. I have to assume that Cannon is correct to this point in that he did go to Azkaban, but that he did not die as in Cannon, but Harry went to live with him.

I can't remember any specific lines to quote, but I got the impression that Harry lived with Sirius his whole life after his parents died.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Saturday 18th April 2009 14:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

Chapter 1
Please tell me this bombastic and overly formal speech won't continue throughout the story.
parakletos
Saturday 18th April 2009 15:18
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Please tell me this bombastic and overly formal speech won't continue throughout the story.


Well I could but I'd be lying. Sorry.
  Quote
David96
Saturday 21st March 2009 15:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Chapter 1
Excellent idea and please update soon thanks. You might have answered this in your story but what has Harry got against his godfather? Thanks for writing an excellent story and you've got me hooked.
  Quote
Patches
Wednesday 4th February 2009 00:48


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Chapter 1
This is a really good story. It is interesting to find an 18 year old Harry that does not have a connection with Ron and Hermione. I would really like to see the rest of this story. Please continue. Thank you for sharing your tallent. p
parakletos
Wednesday 4th February 2009 02:55
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Illness continues to getting the way of writing but I am slowly inching towards completing the next chapter.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
harry_ginnyfan
Thursday 18th December 2008 11:01


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 191

Chapter 1
Interesting story line. Write chapter two soon! Cheers!
  Quote
meandyou2
Saturday 13th December 2008 23:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Chapter 1
“I look forward to your next review, if only for your creative spelling.”

That brought tears to my eyes! Horrible decorum of me to criticize someone who has much more talent than I without taking the time to proof read and spell check. I will endeavor to make sure it does not happen again.

“You have to ask yourself this; given what we know about Black so far how do you think this would change his upbringing? If you can’t make that leap then you will be disappointed by the story at very many levels.”

I had to re-read the story as I thought I missed something, but if I’m not mistaken all we know is that Harry lives with him, the war is over, and Bella was abused and also lives with them. Did I miss anything?

Given that. I have to assume that Cannon is correct to this point in that he did go to Azkaban, but that he did not die as in Cannon, but Harry went to live with him.

I do realize that we do not have much if any back story yet and some things will be made clear in the future, but I can only review on the information I have so far and you did not do a prologue that points out possible differences from Cannon to the start of you story so this review really may become obsolete as more details are released.

Please do not take any of my reviews as flames as that is not the spirit in which I give them. I admit to being a HP fanfic junkie and read daily for the last couple of years and have 0 talent to be able to actually write a story.

I simply try to play the devils advocate as it were since there are plenty of people out there to give fluffy reviews without substance. I will also try to do better with also pointing out what is very good about the story.

With that in mind…

“I might have guessed that old fruit would have known. Meddling bum-bandit, why couldn't he keep out of everyone's life just for once?”

Nice! I laughed the first time I read it and even harder the second time. I always like the witty sarcastic Harry. Just never could stand the Dracoinzation (how’s that one) of Harry.

I humbly place my slapped fingers in my pockets and await future chapters.

Ty
parakletos
Sunday 14th December 2008 04:13
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks for coming back

All I would say is that I think you have missed things from the chapter and that its is worth keeping your powder try and watch as events transpire. In AU I keep my cards close to my chest and as one friend said about the next chapter ' I revealed everything and nothing!'

Illness is hampering the next chapter so it may be a few weeks before you see it.

Thanks again for coming back
  Quote
meandyou2
Monday 1st December 2008 08:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

Chapter 1
I like the premise of the story and have enjoyed others along the same vain, however I must say that I hate the pure blood Harry. He is rarely likable so I'm really hoping you will dramatically tone it down as well as the bashing of everyone that is not pure blood.

If he grew up with his godfather I find it very hard if not impossiable to believe that his character would be changed so drastically as Sirius hated that aspect of his home life and as for it all being because of Bella...I just do not buy it. Harry can act the part when he needs to but by making that his actual personality you are taking so much of what makes Harry such a likable character. You may of well of made this story about Draco as that is exactly how he is acting and it is not becoming.

You did not make it clear. Has Harry never attended Hogwarts? The way Bella talked this is the first time Harry has attended?

I'm not so sure that I like the back handed compliments to the Weasley's which are really mild insults. Is you story a reversal of cannon in that the good in cannon is now bad and the bad in cannon is now good? I surly hope not.

For now I lok forward to more as I may have jummped the gun in my thoughts and if not then well the story had potential.
parakletos
Tuesday 2nd December 2008 13:06
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
I like the premise of the story and have enjoyed others along the same vain, however I must say that I hate the pure blood Harry. He is rarely likable so I'm really hoping you will dramatically tone it down as well as the bashing of everyone that is not pure blood.


If you reread his conversation with Bella you will have Harry’s blood status confirmed. He bashes everyone that he feels has used and abused him. I am not aware that Remus Lupin or Albus Dumbledore are anything but purebloods.

If he grew up with his godfather I find it very hard if not impossiable to believe that his character would be changed so drastically as Sirius hated that aspect of his home life and as for it all being because of Bella...I just do not buy it. Harry can act the part when he needs to but by making that his actual personality you are taking so much of what makes Harry such a likable character. You may of well of made this story about Draco as that is exactly how he is acting and it is not becoming.


You have to ask yourself this; given what we know about Black so far how do you think this would change his upbringing? If you can’t make that leap then you will be disappointed by the story at very many levels.

You did not make it clear. Has Harry never attended Hogwarts? The way Bella talked this is the first time Harry has attended?


No, I didn’t. Perhaps Bella was right?

I'm not so sure that I like the back handed compliments to the Weasley's which are really mild insults. Is you story a reversal of cannon in that the good in cannon is now bad and the bad in cannon is now good? I surly hope not.


Yes, they are insults. And no, its not a reversal of cannon, its far more complicated than that.

For now I lok forward to more as I may have jummped the gun in my thoughts and if not then well the story had potential.


Given you previous comments, I’m surprised (pleasantly) that you will be reading more. You have to accept that you will not have everything explained to you immediately and some things you will never know.

I look forward to your next review, if only for your creative spelling.
  Quote
dragyn
Friday 28th November 2008 07:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

Chapter 1
Yay! New story! I love your AU work and greatly look forward to the rest of this.
parakletos
Tuesday 2nd December 2008 12:55
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
anniep
Tuesday 25th November 2008 10:32


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 165

Chapter 1
I’m really interested in knowing what happened to cause the Weasley-Potter betrothal to be arranged. What kind of a disgrace would necessitate such a drastic pact? I’m a bit confused as to who is the debtor. From the prologue I thought it was Cyriac, but in chapter 1 the “pound of flesh” would come from Harry if the debt is not settled, making it sound like Joshua Potter was the one in debt. Or is Black just saying that Harry would suffer if he rejected the payment? I’m hoping that more of the backstory will be revealed in later chapters.

“She is untouchable. No one, save her family, can have any physical contact with her.” How awful for Ginny! Considering neither she nor her mother know about the marriage contract, she must think there’s something wrong with herself -- no hand-holding with a boy, no sympathetic hug from a friend -- that’s just cruel!

How long has it been since Voldemort was defeated? I’m asking mostly because, like Harry, I’m wondering why he wasn’t told about this marriage arrangement prior to the evening before leaving for Hogwarts. Or maybe that was why -- tell him at the last minute so he has less time to hex Black.

“Do not judge your enemy by his mistakes but by his accomplishments. His mistakes are the means by which you bring about his downfall, but his accomplishments are the way in which he achieves yours.”
“This marriage is unavoidable; do not let your anger destroy any chance of love before it has had the opportunity to flower."
Great nuggets of wisdom from aunt to nephew. I really like Bellatrix (never thought I’d say that!) and, considering how Black and Dumbledore have treated him, I can understand why she’s so important to Harry.

“Was she not the one who had equipped him with the skills necessary to negate the handicap of his mixed parentage?” Interesting…. So why did Harry fight Voldemort? Apparently ideological differences weren’t part of the picture in this version of Mr. Potter. Was it because of the murders committed by Death Eaters or was he pushed and manipulated into being the instrument of Tom’s demise?

The characters and relationships are so interesting after only one chapter, reminding me of why you’re one of my favorite authors. I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ve done with the Weasleys. Thanks for an intriguing new story.

parakletos
Tuesday 2nd December 2008 12:55
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
I’m really interested in knowing what happened to cause the Weasley-Potter betrothal to be arranged. What kind of a disgrace would necessitate such a drastic pact? I’m a bit confused as to who is the debtor. From the prologue I thought it was Cyriac, but in chapter 1 the “pound of flesh” would come from Harry if the debt is not settled, making it sound like Joshua Potter was the one in debt. Or is Black just saying that Harry would suffer if he rejected the payment? I’m hoping that more of the backstory will be revealed in later chapters.


Sirius was pointing out that failure to complete the contract and the Weasley’s providing the ‘consideration’ would mean that the Potters had ro hence the effect on Harry’s magic.


How long has it been since Voldemort was defeated? I’m asking mostly because, like Harry, I’m wondering why he wasn’t told about this marriage arrangement prior to the evening before leaving for Hogwarts. Or maybe that was why -- tell him at the last minute so he has less time to hex Black.


Harry defeated Voldemort during the previous school year. Hogwarts did not open last year.

“Do not judge your enemy by his mistakes but by his accomplishments. His mistakes are the means by which you bring about his downfall, but his accomplishments are the way in which he achieves yours.”


“This marriage is unavoidable; do not let your anger destroy any chance of love before it has had the opportunity to flower."

Great nuggets of wisdom from aunt to nephew. I really like Bellatrix (never thought I’d say that!) and, considering how Black and Dumbledore have treated him, I can understand why she’s so important to Harry.


When I write AU I try and reverse some roles and this is one of them.


“Was she not the one who had equipped him with the skills necessary to negate the handicap of his mixed parentage?”

Interesting…. So why did Harry fight Voldemort? Apparently ideological differences weren’t part of the picture in this version of Mr. Potter. Was it because of the murders committed by Death Eaters or was he pushed and manipulated into being the instrument of Tom’s demise?


Harry was raised as the child of the prophecy and trained accordingly. For all his bitterness he was no friend of Tom.


The characters and relationships are so interesting after only one chapter, reminding me of why you’re one of my favourite authors. I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ve done with the Weasleys. Thanks for an intriguing new story.


And thanks for taking the time to review.
  Quote
aimless`
Tuesday 25th November 2008 04:12


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

Chapter 1
Uhm, 1 question, 18 years and Harry still at Hogwarts? Guess, the war?

saw through the kindly grandfather image the headmaster liked to project and recognised him for what he was: a manipulative and secretive schemer.


stright to the point

True, his accomplishments are many - I'm sure that dragons all over the world thank him for hastening their extinction


made me laugh.

No that i finished 1st chater I like it even more when i only started and posted 1ts review. Can't wait to read more!
parakletos
Tuesday 2nd December 2008 12:49
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
I hope not to keep you too much longer but the next chapter is proving a little awkward.

Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
aimless`
Tuesday 25th November 2008 03:37


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 115

Chapter 1
Not only you know how to write well, but mostly you do the fics I used to enjoy! Entertaining story so far! Although Harry being Slytherin, how he interacted with other characters from that house?
parakletos
Tuesday 2nd December 2008 12:47
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Glad you like it so far
  Quote
Kathryn
Sunday 23rd November 2008 03:57


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 51

Chapter 1
Hi Richard,

I've really been looking forward since I saw that very early draft so long ago and ala the wonderful 'and on the eigthth day' it looks to be a piece not to be missed. Any chance of a sneak peak

Can't wait to see where you go with this especially with Ginny's introduction and reaction to all this.
parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:54
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Hi Richard,

I've really been looking forward since I saw that very early draft so long ago and ala the wonderful 'and on the eigthth day' it looks to be a piece not to be missed. Any chance of a sneak peak

Can't wait to see where you go with this especially with Ginny's introduction and reaction to all this.


There is currently nothing to have a sneak preview of
  Quote
Hot48cricket
Saturday 22nd November 2008 12:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

Chapter 1
Wow - this is really different! I can\'t wait for more. Will we get some background on Harry\'s past up to this point??
parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:53
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Yes, you'll get some background on Harry. No flashbacks, it gets revealed as the story goes.
  Quote
freshwater
Saturday 22nd November 2008 09:46


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 148

Chapter 1
You twist of the characters\' relationships and personalities looks like it will make this version of \'marriage contract H/G\' an interesting one. Sounds like this Harry may harbor more anger and less compassion than canon Harry.....and can we trust Aunt Bella\'s description of Ginny as \'gentle of nature....not given to loud opinions, and.....applies herself diligently to tasks befitting a lady\' ? Hmm......I\'ll be waiting eagerly for your next update to see where this goes!

Edit: lame review filter....wow.
parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:51
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
I've been caught by the lame filter too !

Yes, Harry is angry. Bella is redeemed but troubled and Ginny? Stay tuned.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Saturday 22nd November 2008 07:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Chapter 1
You've managed it again- gotten me hooked on another AU fancy that is well written and has very interesting characters. I can't wait to meet Ginny!
parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:50
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Everyone wants to meet Ginny, is she important?
  Quote
Gardengirl
Friday 21st November 2008 19:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 21

Chapter 1
Well, I'm a lousy friend and an absent beta, but... I don't see a single thing that could have been improved by my input. I like the Victorian formality, and you write Harry's frustration very believably. Well done, my friend!
parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:49
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Well, I'm a lousy friend and an absent beta, but... I don't see a single thing that could have been improved by my input. I like the Victorian formality, and you write Harry's frustration very believably. Well done, my friend!


Well, you are super busy so I'm saying 'no' to both of those.

  Quote
Jacynthe
Friday 21st November 2008 14:08


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 141

Chapter 1
So, we get Slyth!Harry this time round. OK, sounds like good fun. And we'll have Ginny-with-spunk, yes? Tell me we will.
parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:47
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
I'm saying nothing!
  Quote
GhostWriter
Friday 21st November 2008 13:27


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

Chapter 1
Well this is certainly an interesting twist on canon. I'll be very interested to read future chapters. Very compelling! Well done!
parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:47
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thank you!
  Quote
squiditch
Friday 21st November 2008 12:45


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

Chapter 1
This is fantastic. AU H/G is always good and this seems like a new take on it. I am curious as to why they haven't met before - where did Harry attend school anyhow? And if he's 18, would that make Hogwarts a post-secondary institution? or is he teaching? or have the ages for attendance changed? All questions which I'm sure will be answered in the next chapter. I'm just eager :-)

Interesting take on Bellatrix and Sirius. The family dynamic is great to read and having a Slytherin Harry offers so much potential for the characters.

parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:46
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Hogwarts was closed the previous year due to the war so Harry's year didn't get to finish school so they're going back to fionish. Thus H&G will both be in year 7.
  Quote
Zeta_One
Friday 21st November 2008 08:18


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 109

Chapter 1
This story is very interesting so far.
parakletos
Sunday 23rd November 2008 11:44
Chapter 1 (Author Response)
Thanks for reading.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 29 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004