Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Potterverse Christmas Carol by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 42 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
gymnastgal19
Saturday 10th January 2009 15:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

1: Holiday Plans
sounds interesting!
  Quote
Gioia
Sunday 4th January 2009 21:00


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

1: Holiday Plans
I'm just stopping by to let you know I loved the story and left you a rec over at Know-It-Alls !

Thank you for all your hard work on this story!

Melindaleo
Thursday 8th January 2009 16:19
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
Wow, thanks so much! I've never heard of this site, but I'm very honored and looking forward to checking out the other stories posted there.

I'm thrilled you enjoyed it.
  Quote
BlueSkye
Tuesday 30th December 2008 08:58


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

1: Holiday Plans
You paint a wonderful, clear picture of a woman who lies to herself even more than to the outside world. You have a rare talent to write a whole chapter about one character that is so interesting that I read it several times to find all the details. I wonder what Petunia will learn this Christmas!i
  Quote
Avanelle
Sunday 21st December 2008 08:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

1: Holiday Plans
What a brilliant idea! I am so totally hooked on this.
  Quote
Joan Glover
Sunday 14th December 2008 07:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

1: Holiday Plans
Dear Melindaleo,

What a grand idea! I look forward to the rest of the story -- it has much potential.

Joan Glover
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Saturday 13th December 2008 18:58


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 202

1: Holiday Plans
Very good start, you've got me hooked. Is Petunia really seeing ghosts or is there something else going on? And why didn't Vernon wake at the sound? I love your writing style and I look forward to more of this. It's been a while since we've seen a new story from you, so this is double exciting!
  Quote
shannon
Friday 12th December 2008 06:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

1: Holiday Plans
I love this concept! Great job getting into the mind of Petunia Dursley. Quite the scary place to be! I'm curious about the "save her family" part of the story description. Will that be literally, in a physical sense, or more of an emotional sense? Of course you can't answer, but I'll be reading to find out!
  Quote
bbnaz
Thursday 11th December 2008 13:09


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 108

1: Holiday Plans
Well you have my attention! I am looking forward to some tasty story telling from you!
  Quote
hedwig5221
Wednesday 10th December 2008 10:16


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

1: Holiday Plans
I\'ve been MIA from here for so long! I logged in today and saw this and just squeed!!!!!

You\'ve done a great job depicting Petunia\'s POV...she is definitely one of my least favorite people and you have done much to continue my aversion to her! Wonderful job and I look forward to the next chapter!

  Quote
majolie
Monday 8th December 2008 18:49


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 476

1: Holiday Plans
Ooh - great start. I was excited to see a new story posted from you. Can't wait to read more!
  Quote
shimotsuki
Monday 8th December 2008 12:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

1: Holiday Plans
Intriguing! Petunia certainly has a lot to rethink, heh.

Nice job with the small hints about big changes or problems, like Dudley being interested in Harry's situation, and the throw-away references to Petunia's sherry and Vernon's weight.

I look forward to seeing where this is going.
Melindaleo
Monday 8th December 2008 14:02
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
Petunia is a mystery, is 't she? For the life of me, I can't understand how she could treat her sister's child the way she did, but it's a topic that never ceases to intrigue me.

I hope you enjoy the rest.
  Quote
Nundu
Monday 8th December 2008 08:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 50

1: Holiday Plans
This is off to a great start! I love the tiny details that make it a rich story. Can't wait for the next chapter!
Melindaleo
Monday 8th December 2008 13:57
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
Thanks! The next one is almost ready with some Petunia and Lily action. It's funny to write a story where Petunia is the main character.
  Quote
Rhetor
Sunday 7th December 2008 21:20


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 40

1: Holiday Plans
Lily as the Ghost of Christmas Past? This should be amusing.

You've got Petunia nailed, all right. Interesting to see what comes of this...

Ken
Melindaleo
Monday 8th December 2008 13:55
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
Hey! There's a blast from the past! Nice to hear from you. Yes, Lily's up next, and that chapter is close...
  Quote
PhoenixFeathers
Sunday 7th December 2008 17:42


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 65

1: Holiday Plans
...................................................................................................................................................... hmm..... nice lead. very attention-grabbing and spirited (pun intended) ......................................................................................................................................
Melindaleo
Monday 8th December 2008 13:54
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
I hope you enjoy the rest!
  Quote
lantis222
Sunday 7th December 2008 15:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

1: Holiday Plans
You're back!!!!!! YAY!!!!!!! I like the beginning. Keep it coming and update soon!
Melindaleo
Monday 8th December 2008 13:54
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
Thanks! This one should move quickly.
  Quote
ibelieveintruelove
Sunday 7th December 2008 13:57


6th year
Num. of Reviews: 257

1: Holiday Plans
Ah no way!!! That's so cool!! This is an awesome idea, I can't wait to see how this whole thing plays out. I already know you're an amazing writer so this is going to be great!
Melindaleo
Monday 8th December 2008 13:52
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
Thanks much! I hope you enjoy the rest.
  Quote
Baby Boomer
Sunday 7th December 2008 09:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

1: Holiday Plans
I can't wait to read more.
Melindaleo
Monday 8th December 2008 13:51
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
More's on the way.
  Quote
The Seeker
Saturday 6th December 2008 16:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

1: Holiday Plans
Hi Melinda,

Among all the spot-on emotions you have depicted in this opening chapter, Petunia ability to delude herself stands out. Her thoughts about Harry are ones we are acquainted with, but you bring us so many more: the hussy, whom Petunia has never met, who is obviously after her brilliant boy. Vernon immediately demanding dinner two step into their entry. Lily always causing messes she had to clean up. But the most telling were the lifeless pecks on the cheek exchanged by Vernon and Petunia, and her rationalization about their lack of anything to talk about during dinner.

In addition to setting up the rest of the story, you've constructed a wonderful look into Petunia's life and the length's she goes to misinterpret it.

Marvelous job, Melinda! Looking forward to the next!

Best, Jim
Melindaleo
Sunday 7th December 2008 07:03
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
Aww, thanks, Jim! You know this story wouldn't be anywhere without you. I'll be sure to acknowlege that before it's out.

You know I've never cared for Petunia, and I think that woman could rationalize away just about anything. Let's see how she does with ghosts in her bedroom.
  Quote
freshwater
Saturday 6th December 2008 09:30


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 148

1: Holiday Plans
One more note....for the Ghost of Christmas Present: Severus? and for Christmas future: Fred Weasley? I'm probably way off.....but their interactions with Pet could be fun!
Melindaleo
Sunday 7th December 2008 07:00
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
I love seeing everyone's guesses - and I'll be eager to hear what you think as they're revealed.
  Quote
freshwater
Saturday 6th December 2008 09:26


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 148

1: Holiday Plans
Evil cliffie....remember, Santa knows if you've been naughty or if you've been nice.

Your tongue-in-cheek statements about Petunia's POV and her motivations are very amusing....looking forward to your version of this classic tale.
Melindaleo
Sunday 7th December 2008 06:59
1: Holiday Plans (Author Response)
Thanks! I'll make sure I'm on Santa's good list then! Lily is the first visitor, and I'm working on that chapter right now.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 42 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004