Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Potterverse Christmas Carol by Melindaleo

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
gymnastgal19
Saturday 10th January 2009 15:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
haha that showed petunia! i cant believe that she was still defending "didders" though
  Quote
GhostWriter
Wednesday 7th January 2009 10:39


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 66

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
Nicely done!

I'm just now getting to read this, as my online connections were spotty over Christmas break. Excellent characterization as always. You really have a talent for making me despise the Dursleys.
  Quote
BookRose
Tuesday 23rd December 2008 16:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
Wow you're writing skills are still as sharp as ever, this is such a great story, its too bad you might not finish in time for Christmas. One thing though, I noticed in Charles Dickens classic that the past showed him most of his life: Childhood, Teenage-hood, his first love, and all that. I know that our focus here is how utterly reprehensible Petunia was in her treatment of Harry, but maybe more could have been explored, as far as her childhood with Lily, her jealousy of Hogwarts, how she met Vernon and cemented her belief system. It's just a thought and this story is really a true treat to read so I hope you are able to update real soon!
  Quote
J.R. Lewis
Monday 22nd December 2008 17:37


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
Can't wait to find out who is the Spirit of Christmas Present. Arthur Weasley, by chance??

Shame. I could imagine Arthur in a muggle house with a muggle like Petunia. 'That was very wrong of you, Mrs. Dursley, very wrong indeed. And could you explain this thing called elektikity and how it relates to plugs?'
  Quote
Avanelle
Sunday 21st December 2008 08:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
Beautifully written-as usual. My heart breaks for Harry and Lily. It's so interesting to read a story written from Petunia's POV, especially because I never could understand how she could be so hateful to Harry.
  Quote
The Seeker
Friday 19th December 2008 16:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 7

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
Hi Melinda,

You already know how much I enjoyed this chapter, so it felt like I was revisiting an old friend! Out of the many wonderful touches in this chapter, how you showed his parents' laxity reinforcing Dudley's ill-behavior really stood out for me. Even when Petunia saw her son's actions, she still fought to maintain the status quo.

Each time I read this I find more nuggets - like Tuney complaining about her own casserole. But we know what waits for Harry's dear aunt in the next chapter.

What a wonderful and timely treat you've given us, Melinda!

Best, Jim
  Quote
J.R. Lewis
Wednesday 17th December 2008 18:21


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
Can't wait to find out who is the Spirit of Christmas Present. Arthur Weasley, by chance??
Melindaleo
Thursday 18th December 2008 18:24
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Heh - nope! The Ghosts are all people who have passed.
  Quote
aharkins
Wednesday 17th December 2008 12:43


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
I really hate that Petunia never realized how horrid she was acting. Thank you for showing her where she went wrong. I can't wait for the next installment to this story. You are one of my favorite authors. Thank you for sharing your talent.
Melindaleo
Thursday 18th December 2008 18:23
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Aww, thanks so much! I'm glad you're enjoying the story.
  Quote
yiota
Tuesday 16th December 2008 15:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
he was such a healthy boy! The zipper was stretched taut across his round little belly, and it was pulling in several spots.

I just had to laugh when I saw this. I imagine the doctor who checked Dudley's blood cholesterol level must have fainted when he got the results!
Melindaleo
Thursday 18th December 2008 18:22
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Heh - Petunia is very good at deluding herself though.
  Quote
hedwig5221
Tuesday 16th December 2008 11:49


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 60

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
This is a great story...and I'm looking forward to Christmas Present and Christmas Future...Petunia is such an irritating character...so self-righteous. I can't wait to see how you continue this one.

Melindaleo
Thursday 18th December 2008 18:16
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Thanks! She does tend to drive me nuts - and I think she fits the Scrooge roll well.
  Quote
potterlovesginny
Tuesday 16th December 2008 11:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 38

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
This should be really interesting, I can't wait to see what the Ghost of Christmas Future will show her. I just wish it was set maybe while Harry was at Hogwarts, (so Petunia could see how much his friends love him) or iduring the year when he's on the Horcrux hunt, so Petunia would see him crying at Lily's grave. But since its after that, it should be interesting to see what Dudly is doing now.
Melindaleo
Thursday 18th December 2008 18:15
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Ghost of Christmas Present is up next, and that takes place the Christmas immediately following the final battle. You'll get to see Dudley there, too.
  Quote
lantis222
Tuesday 16th December 2008 08:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 577

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
That was so sad. The one I feel the most sorry for is Lily. For Harry it's all over with, but poor Lily. Having to watch what had happened and unable to do anything about it. I bet mother tiger syndrome in full force. I know I would want to kill anyone who did that to my children. Poor Lily. anyway, great chapter. Update soon!
Melindaleo
Thursday 18th December 2008 18:10
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
I know - my heart goes to Lily, too. Still, I think the rage would have come when it originally happened, now that it's in the past, and Harry did come through, I think she'd just feel very sad.
  Quote
Hoss
Monday 15th December 2008 16:08


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 179

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
Great Job but right now I'ed like to go and slap Petuina. Looking forward to the rest. Thanks
Melindaleo
Thursday 18th December 2008 18:02
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Thanks! I'd like to slap Petunia, too.
  Quote
shannon
Monday 15th December 2008 13:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
I was so happy to see an update of this story! The scene was just heartbreaking! I'm not sure that Lily's reactions were strong enough. Reading about Harry made me teary. Thinking about it being my own son makes me feel murderous! Even if Lily were ten times more saintly than I am, she still should have taken the opportunity to knock Petunia around a bit. I would have liked to read that too!

Did Dudley have a girlfriend named Deirdre in one of your other stories? That sounds familiar to me.

Also, I can\\\'t imagine a four year old that could cook bacon and eggs.

I don\\\'t mean to sound negative! I\\\'m really enjoying this story. It\\\'s a great concept -- transferable to so many other nasty characters in the potterverse as well. Maybe Draco could have a few visitors next. I\\\'m sure you have nothing else to do at Christmastime!
  Quote
shannon
Monday 15th December 2008 11:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
I was so happy to see an update of this story! The scene was just heartbreaking! I'm not sure that Lily's reactions were strong enough. Reading about Harry made me teary. Thinking about it being my own son makes me feel murderous! Even if Lily were ten times more saintly than I am, she still should have taken the opportunity to knock Petunia around a bit. I would have liked to read that too!

Did Dudley have a girlfriend named Deirdre in one of your other stories? That sounds familiar to me.

Also, I can\\\'t imagine a four year old that could cook bacon and eggs.

I don\\\'t mean to sound negative! I\\\'m really enjoying this story. It\\\'s a great concept -- transferable to so many other nasty characters in the potterverse as well. Maybe Draco could have a few visitors next. I\\\'m sure you have nothing else to do at Christmastime!
  Quote
shannon
Monday 15th December 2008 09:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
I was so happy to see an update of this story! The scene was just heartbreaking! I'm not sure that Lily's reactions were strong enough. Reading about Harry made me teary. Thinking about it being my own son makes me feel murderous! Even if Lily were ten times more saintly than I am, she still should have taken the opportunity to knock Petunia around a bit. I would have liked to read that too!

Did Dudley have a girlfriend named Deirdre in one of your other stories? That sounds familiar to me.

Also, I can\\\'t imagine a four year old that could cook bacon and eggs.

I don\\\'t mean to sound negative! I\\\'m really enjoying this story. It\\\'s a great concept -- transferable to so many other nasty characters in the potterverse as well. Maybe Draco could have a few visitors next. I\\\'m sure you have nothing else to do at Christmastime!
Melindaleo
Monday 15th December 2008 11:03
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
No worries - constructive criticism is what it's all about, right?

I thought about Lily's reactions for a long time. As a mom, I wanted to smack Petunia - but Lily is a ghost here, she really couldn't do that. Also - I think by this point, Lily knows how Harry grew up, and she knows how he turned out. I think the sadness with it all might have overtaken the outrage. This was her sister. I tend to see Lily as being very sad during this scene - for so many reasons.

As for Harry making breakfast at four. Well, I think it could be done. Canon tells us he'd been preparing breakfast for years, and he was only 11 at the start. Four year olds can be very resourceful when they need to be - and I don't think the Durselys would've treated mistakes kindly, so Harry would've learned fast.
  Quote
oliversgal
Monday 15th December 2008 06:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 12

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
You know I think that scene was perfect. Petunia and Vernon of xmas past were exactly as expected but the reactions of Petunia with Lily was brilliant. When Petunia was able to look at the situation as an outsider, she started to see the reality of the situation but refused to believe because of her resentment. I whooped out loud at Lily's comments and looks that made Petunia feel guilty. Can't wait for the Ghost of Christmas Present!
Melindaleo
Monday 15th December 2008 10:58
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Thanks! I had fun writing this story, and I hope it shows.
  Quote
yiota
Monday 15th December 2008 02:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 16

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
You know, I never realised just how much Harry was mistreated by the Dursleys. hen the story starts, Harry is almost eleven, and he doesn't let them get to him. But as a small child... I think you've described Petunia perfectly. And Dumbledore was right: she and Vernon have damaged Dudley. I'm looking forward to te next chapter.
Melindaleo
Monday 15th December 2008 10:58
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Thanks! Your review thrilled me, because Harry's younger days are always SUCH a huge point of irritation for me. I'm thrilled if I could help highlight it in any way.
  Quote
Rhetor
Sunday 14th December 2008 22:18


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
Ahh, now I see -- you're analogizing the Dursleys' treatment of Harry with Scrooge's treatment of his own nephew and Bob Cratchit. I'd forgotten the similarity between Little Fan's early death and Lily's. Fascinating.

I think, if I were doing it, I might have had Lily start by taking Petunia earlier, as the original GoCP did with Scrooge -- taking her back to a time when she didn't resent Lily, or didn't feel the need to deny magic. In Dickens, this gives Scrooge a starting point where he still had a heart and affections. Here, because we start by seeing Petunia's mistreatment of Harry in favor of Dudley, naturally Tuney is inclined to engage in self-justification; what's amazing (maybe too amazing?) is that she recognizes any flaws in her memories at all. The Petunia of DH saw no worth in Harry even as he was acting to save her life.

The way you got around this problem, I think, was to make Lily the GoCP. Having the dead mother of the mistreated child (your own sister, no less) with you in the room as you abuse her son, is a great way of getting the beginnings of a conscience. That's an excellent device: Petunia sees her own behavior through Lily's eyes, simply by virtue of Lily's presence; it's a kind of enforced empathy.

(They did not have a four-year-old handing the frying pan with the bacon. Not even the Dursleys.)

Definitely still hooked. Want to see the other two ghosts. Badly want to know what it is that Lily wants to do for Dudley.
Melindaleo
Monday 15th December 2008 10:56
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Heh - I think you give me far more intellectual credit than I deserve! Still, I'm glad you're enjoying it. This idea originally came to me last year, and I coudn't get it done in time. I started early November this time, but I wish I'd actually watched the movie before I started. I saw it yesterday on one of those cable channels, and there are several things I'd change - including your suggestion of going back earlier into Lily and Petunia's childhood.

Still, I am pleased with how it turned out. It was the plot bunny that just wouldn't die.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Sunday 14th December 2008 21:28


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

2: The Ghost of Christmas Past
I'm shivering from reading this chapter. The older Petunia may have a chance to learn from the three visits.
Melindaleo
Monday 15th December 2008 05:47
2: The Ghost of Christmas Past (Author Response)
Petunia is stubborn, isn't she? I always tend to dwell on what it must have been like for Harry as a tyke, poor kid.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 27 Previous - 1 - 2 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004