Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Impressions by Aggiebell

Showing 1 to 13 of 13
bookish327
Monday 13th April 2009 10:04


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 122

Impressions
Great fic. The title made me think of jncarlin's First Impressions: Remus and Tonks (which can be found here on PS), and I definitely enjoyed this fic as much as jncarlin's. I've always enjoyed Remus/Tonks as a ship, but I don't normally seek out fics focusing on them. Your characterization of them and their ways of thinking was excellent, and I also think you captured their relationship very well.

If you end up reading jncarlin's First Impressions and want to read more in that universe, she has much more complete fic index at her LJ. Just e-mail me or send me an LJ message, and I can send you a link to her index.

Again, fantastic job.
  Quote
aharkins
Monday 6th April 2009 14:48


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 176

Impressions
This is brilliant! Thank you for sharing it.
  Quote
Elvenlaughter
Saturday 4th April 2009 19:21


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 88

Impressions
Oh, Aggie, I LOVE you right now! This is so gorgeous, every piece and section with its own individual punch and guile, each as vibrant as the one before. It's a gem, writing-wise, and a heart breaker, plotwise. Love it, love it, love it.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Sunday 29th March 2009 08:26


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Impressions
That was lovely
You captured Lupin just as I imagine him, and the glipses of Tonks - falling over, laughing, fighting, flashes of pink hair, all summed her up perfectly.
Good job!
B
Aggiebell
Wednesday 1st April 2009 20:54
Impressions (Author Response)
Thanks so much! I honestly hadn't given Remus too terribly much thought before I wrote this (Shhhh! Don't tell my beta!), but it was fun--and enlightening, really--to get into his head. And I've always liked Tonks, but I think I appreciate her more now, too.


~Julie
  Quote
OHGinnyfan
Sunday 29th March 2009 05:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 47

Impressions
You KNOW how much I love this. You really did a wonderful job with Remus' thoughts. I love the interaction between the two, and I would love to see a companion piece from Tonks' POV.

You are a wonderful writer no matter which pairing or character you decide to write.

*smooches you*

~OHGinnyfan
Aggiebell
Wednesday 1st April 2009 20:52
Impressions (Author Response)
*glomps*

I'm so pleased you like it, Susie. It was a challenge, but SO much fun to write! And I think there very well may be a companion piece from Tonks' POV at some point.



*smooches back*
  Quote
Guenivere
Saturday 28th March 2009 15:26


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

Impressions
o i kind of get it, you wrote it almost backwards.... interesting
Aggiebell
Wednesday 1st April 2009 20:49
Impressions (Author Response)
Thanks for reviewing.


Yeah, I wrote it backwards on purpose, so it starts at the end of their relationship (and lives) and ends at the beginning. It was a gift!fic for my beta for her birthday, and I didn't want to leave her with their deaths, so I left her with their first meeting instead.
  Quote
Kezzabear
Friday 27th March 2009 15:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 24

Impressions
Just Friends. Buhahahahahahaha!

LOL

I loved this i really, really, really did. It's fabulous. I am never a fan of present tense like this - until now. So I am guessing maybe most people just can't pull it off!

I think the whole thing has worked, the reverse order works, the tense works, the angst works, the non angsty bits work.

You're brilliant!
Aggiebell
Wednesday 1st April 2009 20:47
Impressions (Author Response)
Just Friends. Buhahahahahahaha!


*snort* I hadn't realized the connection until you reviewed. Your brilliant story obviously rubbed off on me.

Present tense is hard to write--I kept drifting back to past tense and had to keep correcting it. It was an interesting challenge, but really fun, actually--the 100-word drabble format added a bit of challenge I hadn't expected when I started, but it also made it easier in a way, because I was able to do all these scenes without going to the trouble of connecting them, if that makes sense.

And yay for angst! I'm really more of a fluffy kind of girl so any angst at all makes me step out of my box in a major way.

*hugs*
  Quote
Dad
Friday 27th March 2009 09:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

Impressions
The first time I read this I was in a hurry because I should have been taking my wife to our son. (130 mile journey). She is going baby sitting for my daughter-in-law (from England to South Africa).

Typically, she is not ready or packed yet. Leaving early tomorrow instead, so I re-read the story. I had not realised it ran backwards the first time. Once the penny dropped, it was great little gem, well done.
Aggiebell
Wednesday 1st April 2009 20:41
Impressions (Author Response)
England to South Africa? Wow!

Thanks so much for the kind words.
  Quote
Avanelle
Thursday 26th March 2009 20:24


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Impressions
OMG! That was so brilliant! One of the best I've read in a long time.
Aggiebell
Wednesday 1st April 2009 20:39
Impressions (Author Response)
Thanks so much!
  Quote
Ocean Dream
Thursday 26th March 2009 12:00


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 133

Impressions
This was so sweet! Well, kind of bitter-sweet, actually, but , Ive enjoyed it anyhow. Thanks for sharing!
Aggiebell
Wednesday 1st April 2009 20:38
Impressions (Author Response)
Thanks for reviewing! And yeah, bittersweet is a good word for it--but that's what Remus and Tonks' relationship was, really. (It absolutely kills me that they both died and left Teddy an orphan.)

  Quote
Arnel
Thursday 26th March 2009 07:25


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 582

Impressions
Thanks for writing this delightful story. I absolutely love it and how you let us into Remus' head. I like how you've managed to leave such a lasting impression on me.
Aggiebell
Thursday 26th March 2009 09:56
Impressions (Author Response)
Thanks so much for the lovely review, Arnel! (And thanks for the plug over at Melinda's group, too!)

*hugs*

~Julie
  Quote
HagridsHeart
Thursday 26th March 2009 04:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

Impressions
Great 1 shot about two of my favourties. A novella length about these two would be wonderful. ::hint,hint::

Aggiebell
Thursday 26th March 2009 09:55
Impressions (Author Response)
Ha! Thanks so much. I have to say, if I ever got my act together to actually write a novella-length fic, it'd most likely be about Neville, just because I fangirl him. I'm honestly not sure if I "get" Remus and Tonks enough to do them justice. Although now I'm a bit intrigued, and I may have to do a companion to this story from Tonks' point of view.

Thanks for reviewing!

Julie
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 25th March 2009 19:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Impressions
Delightful! Writing Drabbles is far more difficult than anyone imagines and stringing them together into a story requires real talent... which, obviously, you have.

I thinks it works as well in the conventional temporal order.
Aggiebell
Thursday 26th March 2009 09:51
Impressions (Author Response)
Oh, thank you so much! I love writing drabbles because of the challenge, so this was really fun to write!

It does work in the conventional temporal order, but I wrote it backwards, because I didn't want to leave OHGinnyfan thinking about the death of her favorite characters on her birthday. This way she got to read about the happy parts last.

Thanks again!

Julie
  Quote
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004