Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For The Hero and His Lady by St Margarets

Showing 1 to 20 of 42 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
Lily Jane
Monday 22nd July 2013 12:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

The Hero and His Lady
What a sad, but at the same time upliflting tale. Only you can create such opposite emotions in one story.

I don't remember reading it before, and I probably hadn't as my break from fan fiction took much longer than I planned, but I'm really glad I found it right now. I believe I wouldn't have appreciated it a few years ago as I do now.

It's a very delicate subject, being with someone till their last breath. Yet you made it feel as it is just another step in life. Very sad, very painful, but a step into a new adventure. And hope for eternal love.

I cried, I admit, but those weren't sad tears. Thank you for that.

St Margarets
Saturday 10th August 2013 18:17
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
Well, hello there! I'm so sorry I was away when you wrote this review. Sorry I'm so late replying.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story, even though it had a sad theme. Because it's H/G there is hope - I can't think of two characters that deserve an eternal happy ending more than those two. It was difficult to write, but I'm glad that readers have found it to be satisfying. Thanks so much for letting me know you read it and what you thought of it.
  Quote
J-TGriffy
Sunday 11th March 2012 09:58


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 77

The Hero and His Lady
  Quote
Isabelscool
Wednesday 4th January 2012 20:39


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Hero and His Lady


made me cry beaut
St Margarets
Saturday 7th January 2012 05:16
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for letting me know!
  Quote
Life Shadower
Sunday 10th July 2011 14:31


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 3

The Hero and His Lady
Like all the other people have said, this is probably one of the most beautiful pieces of literature that I have read. Sure, parting is bittersweet sorrow, but this is something of a whole different matter. I can definitely see why you wrote this as what Harry and Ginny meant to one another, all of this keeps coming together as being left behind and I can feel it with the entire story.

I feel as though I am ripping stuff off of the other reviews, but I seriously mean it when I say that I felt my heart being ripped out as I read this:

“Did I —?” Her clear brown eyes were wide open, looking into his. “Did I ever thank you for saving my life?” He smiled. He hadn’t expected that. “You just did.” “Oh.” Her lips curved upward and then she sighed and closed her eyes. “Did I ever thank you for being my life?” Harry asked her as the tears fell.


Thank you so much for sharing this work with all of us. Its beautiful.
St Margarets
Sunday 10th July 2011 16:54
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
Oh, didn't you make my day. Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad H/G touched something in you just as they have touched me. I love this couple and their "happily ever after" which is just as interesting and poignant as their adventures at Hogwarts, in my opinion. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
jenniferflynnhudson
Tuesday 28th June 2011 14:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

The Hero and His Lady
What a beautiful for a complete end to their story.
St Margarets
Tuesday 28th June 2011 17:10
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it! It was hard to write since I like my H/G to be happy. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
pottermagic
Monday 4th October 2010 16:44


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

The Hero and His Lady
Thanks for recommending this. I didn't find it sad, it was too beautiful to be sad
St Margarets
Monday 4th October 2010 18:27
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for letting me know!
  Quote
bibliomaniac
Tuesday 21st September 2010 19:35


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

The Hero and His Lady
  Quote
webster
Friday 10th September 2010 08:57


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 56

The Hero and His Lady
Bittersweet, but great!
St Margarets
Friday 10th September 2010 15:03
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
This was a hard one to write. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
without wax
Friday 11th June 2010 02:30


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Hero and His Lady
wonderful. That's all i can say. The best 1 chapter story I've read till now.

without wax,
St Margarets
Friday 11th June 2010 04:56
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. It's one of my favorites, even though it's rather angsty. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
bleeblahblee
Wednesday 7th April 2010 08:07


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 55

The Hero and His Lady
... interesting; kind of depressing I think... but it was well written... yes it was good.
St Margarets
Wednesday 7th April 2010 16:16
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
Yes, I thought it was sad - even though H/G were together for so long. Not my usual style. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
winslow
Monday 29th March 2010 15:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

The Hero and His Lady
This was a beautiful and touching story. It is nice to think of Ron and Ginny having such a long time together. Thank you for writing!
St Margarets
Tuesday 30th March 2010 05:41
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
I don't like to think of Harry or Ginny dying, but that seemed the best way to send them off. Thanks for reading.
  Quote
MysticalRose
Sunday 4th October 2009 03:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

The Hero and His Lady
Really well written - this was a beautiful depiction of Harry and Ginny's final hours. Very moving; tears actually came to my eyes! Great story.
St Margarets
Sunday 4th October 2009 04:23
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
I'm glad it moved you. I cried when I wrote it! Thanks for reading!
  Quote
tante
Saturday 29th August 2009 21:18


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 169

The Hero and His Lady
My goodness, you are brilliant.
I've not left you a review in quite a while. But, oh, your writing never disappoints. Timing, characterization, emotional mixture and depth, complexity, detail - all brilliant.

Thank you again.
St Margarets
Sunday 30th August 2009 14:01
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
What a nice review! I appreciate it. Thank you, dear.
  Quote
crazycarls
Saturday 29th August 2009 01:10


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

The Hero and His Lady
thats was the most beautiful story!
i loved it so much it made me cry!
St Margarets
Saturday 29th August 2009 14:48
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
Thank you. That was just the reaction I was looking for.
  Quote
bcollins
Wednesday 22nd July 2009 20:20


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 96

The Hero and His Lady
This was sad but really great, I got goosebumps in several places both times a read it.
St Margarets
Thursday 23rd July 2009 06:01
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
Oh, you're sweet to read it again! Thank you.
  Quote
bcollins
Sunday 19th July 2009 18:25


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 96

The Hero and His Lady
LOVED IT - thanks it wa so sweet.
St Margarets
Monday 20th July 2009 05:55
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
Thank you for letting me know. That's always encouraging.
  Quote
Sovran
Monday 6th July 2009 21:50


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 26

The Hero and His Lady
Ahh. What a lovely piece. As others have said, H/G\'s journey together is wonderful. What caught my attention, however, is the presence of the tertiary characters in the story . . . the people on the radio and the \'driver\', especially. I\'m rather convinced that the driver is actually one of Harry\'s relatives. It\'s simplest to say that he\'s one of George\'s line, but any of the brothers would do. He could even be Harry\'s direct descendant, given that Ginny carries all the best Weasley genes herself. Now that I think of that, I believe it\'s true; the driver is Harry\'s grandson or great grandson. Who else would James trust with that task?

The other one I\'m suspicious about is that \'young and lively\' voice from the radio, which caused Ginny to focus for a moment. Why that voice? There must be plenty of young and lively voices available if one listens to the radio 24 hours a day. I think that the speaker was another of Ginny\'s descendants, or at least that of one of her brothers.

Together, those two things leave me with another layer of goodness and, at the same time, another layer of sorrow. Harry and Ginny truly are old and ready to move on, and in the natural course of things they\'ve begun to forget people in their lives. Harry recognized the driver\'s eyes even if he\'d forgotten the driver himself, and Ginny recognized the voice without realizing who it was or even why she recognized it.

That rings true with my experience; people who lose their memory don\'t truly forget a person or anything beloved, they just lose track of the details involved like labels and visible features. From the point of view of the elderly, I think that this story represents what that would look like. Of course Harry doesn\'t think he needs a driver or any such nonsense, but from the outside perspective he\'s frail and forgetful, so of course he needs some sort of minder.

Ah, it just gets better the more I think about it. Even that person on the radio who \'loved school\' is reminiscent of Hermione. I\'m not confident that the speaker is another relative of the Weasley clan, but I think that the voice reminded Ginny of Hermione on a subconscious level.

If I were a schemer, I might go so far as to suggest that each of the tertiary characters is intended to be reminiscent, at least, of one of the Weasleys (plus Hermione) from Harry and Ginny\'s generation. But I\'m not a schemer.

Even if you didn\'t intend any of this, I\'m going to keep right on believing it.

Beautifully done, as always, and a stand-out even in your unmatched body of work.
St Margarets
Tuesday 7th July 2009 04:39
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
Oh, thank you for this review - full of things to think about! One of my favorite plays of all time is Our Town by Thorton Wilder - in Act III the dead are commenting on Emily's funeral in rather monotone, detatched voices. I thought to do that with the radio here. The Stage Manager in Our Town explains that there is a period of being "weaned" away from life - I think that does happen to people in old age and I sought to show that here.

So yes, you are right - Harry and Ginny are both pulling away from life and the people they loved - in increments. Like Dumbledore said, the people you love never really leave you - so seeing the twins in his driver's eyes was a way of showing that. I love your theory that it was Harry's descendent.


Thanks for reading and for leaving such a thoughtful review!
  Quote
Aberforth's Avatar
Saturday 4th July 2009 05:47


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 139

The Hero and His Lady
What a lovely, touching little story. Even though it was clear what was coming, I was quite moved. The metaphor of the vanishing point was very effective.

Thanks for sharing.
St Margarets
Saturday 4th July 2009 12:52
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
I'm always glad to know what was effective in a story. Thanks for your kind, thoughtful review! (As always)
  Quote
shimotsuki
Thursday 2nd July 2009 13:36


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

The Hero and His Lady
Oh, beautiful. Harry and Ginny's love is so strong and tender in their old age. And good for Ginny for still being the rule-breaker...

I really, really like the structure of this, too. The flashbacks that all center on the Hogwarts Express and being left behind; the idea that the train is being retired as life moves on; Harry's sudden decision to go and see the train leave that one last time.

A really effective retelling of the myth. (And you made me sniffle!)
St Margarets
Thursday 2nd July 2009 14:46
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
Oh, I sniffled when I wrote it! I'm glad H/G's love shone through - that was the most important part of the story - that which survives all partings. Thanks for reading!
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Sunday 28th June 2009 12:21


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

The Hero and His Lady
aw that was lovely

perfectly structured, though I wish and had died next to each other... still, it was beautiful.

I can see this bit being true: "There was more to his story than the first seventeen years of his life, but they never bothered to cover that part in school."

Another brilliant story, thank you.

B
St Margarets
Sunday 28th June 2009 18:48
The Hero and His Lady (Author Response)
I'm glad you liked it. I know the subject matter is a bit daunting, but really it is H/G's fairytale ending.

And yes, those history books always leave out the good stuff!

Thanks for reading, as always.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 20 of 42 Previous - 1 - 2 - 3 Next
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004