Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Prefects, Pranks, and Promises by Kelleypen

Showing 1 to 4 of 4
Ursulabear
Friday 28th October 2011 13:22


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

Prefects, Pranks, and Promises
Thanks for the interesting character exploration of Narcissa, in all shades of grey: a natural reservation and pride, while a highly cunning social manipulator, though with a heart. Your reading of her conformist tendencies are true to canon: not an acting-up heroine, but enough reserved aplomb to keep her heart in place while Voldemort took over her family's manor and most of their lives. A preferred this story to your other Narcissa encounter, Repentance. Here, you show much more - there, you mostly just tell. I prefer to read you heroine's behavior and mimic, more than to listen to her soliloquy. I am just curious, how would you picture Narcissa guiding Draco through the post-war changes of Malfoy family values.
  Quote
Arnel
Tuesday 29th June 2010 06:26


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 646

Prefects, Pranks, and Promises
I'm so glad you have put this up. It's as good a story now as when you first started writing it. I love how regal you've made Narcissa, but at the same time, there's a tender side to her that you don't see other authors expressing.

I also love how you show the conception of the Marauder's Map, although I don't think it would have done the boys any good in this instance because they were unaware that Lily was the one who invaded their dorm; I think someone would have had to tip them off to the fact that Lily had gone into the boys' dorimtories to be able to use the map effectively.

Kelleypen
Tuesday 6th July 2010 10:51
Prefects, Pranks, and Promises (Author Response)
Thank you so much. I have had a tender spot for Narcissa ever since I watched her beg Severus for her only child's life. Book seven just validated what I suspected. So it's been fun seeing how it will translate backwards to how she was as a younger witch.


Have you got a way of connecting in real time now?
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Wednesday 23rd June 2010 14:31


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Prefects, Pranks, and Promises
A very good read that fills in some missing moments with the Marauders and Lily, Snape, Lucius, and Narcissa. It also portrays Narcissa and Lily as being caring but not a person to harm in any way.
Kelleypen
Friday 25th June 2010 19:37
Prefects, Pranks, and Promises (Author Response)
Thank you for a very nice review. I like playing with the lesser characters and finding out what Jo didn't tell us.
  Quote
Dad
Wednesday 23rd June 2010 08:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 498

Prefects, Pranks, and Promises
That was an interesting and very rewarding read. Well done.
Kelleypen
Friday 25th June 2010 19:37
Prefects, Pranks, and Promises (Author Response)
Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 4 of 4
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 29th April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Tuesday 19th April
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004