Register | Login
Image of the Week: Baby Harry and Sirius By Kristin  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Molly's Tale by Arnel

Showing 1 to 10 of 10
LWJ2
Thursday 23rd June 2011 04:34


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

Molly's Tale
I enjoyed this story, I think you've drawn Molly's character very well. Thanks.
Arnel
Thursday 23rd June 2011 22:12
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
Thank you so much for the compliments. I'm glad you enjoyed my story.
  Quote
chit.94
Sunday 26th December 2010 04:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

Molly's Tale
This story is so different and beautiful! Your characterization of Molly is spot-on! Very well written and engaging. 10/10.
Cheers!
Arnel
Monday 27th December 2010 01:09
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
I'm so glad you liked my story enough to review it. Molly Weasley has always been a favorite character of mine, especially since she's raised six boys to be courageous and caring people. (Yes, even Percy falls into that category because he cared enough at the end to try to make amends with his family--a hard thing to admit he was wrong--and fought on Harry's side instead of Voldemort's in the Battle of Hogwarts.) As a mother of a boy, I admire her greatly and it seemed fitting that she'd spend so much time in the kitchen while she fretted over her own and her surrogate children, Harry and Hermione. Thank you for writing to me.
  Quote
rich.sanidad
Friday 6th August 2010 13:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 13

Molly's Tale
Great story! I like its efficiency too -- you covered so much ground in only a few thousand words.
Arnel
Friday 6th August 2010 14:20
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
I'm glad you do. Actually, each section felt like a small story all on its own to me, as if Molly was sitting after the battle going through a Pensieve full of memories and picking out the most significant ones. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
RIPHedwig
Sunday 11th July 2010 08:17


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 210

Molly's Tale
This was lovely Arnel
Have you read Como Agua Para Chocolate / Like Water For Chocolate? This story very much reminded me of that book, which is centered all around food and recipes. It's a good read, though I studied it for my Spanish A Level so I never want to see it again atm!

I loved the idea of the stories that came with the food at Fred's funeral, though it was nice that that was just a side line, and we as readers never get to know why exactly Fred came to love Toad in the Hole

Thank you for another great story
Arnel
Sunday 11th July 2010 21:11
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
You're welcome. I'm really glad you liked the story. I've never read Like Water for Chocolate, so I didn't get my idea for the story there. As for the stories associated with Fred's favorite foods, the focus of that part of the story was for Arthur to show Molly that there will always be some sort of family connection that everyone remembers and helps to keep the stories/memories fresh in everyone's mind. A similar example is that I learned to make bread and sew from one grandmother and how to can food and knit from the other. There are family stories associated with all four activities and whenever my family gets together we share the old stories as well as make new ones.

Thanks for a great review.
  Quote
Kelleypen
Friday 9th July 2010 21:17


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

Molly's Tale
So what happened with the Scooby -Doo costume?

Well done on the story. I can easily see Molly using cooking as her stress reliever.
Arnel
Friday 9th July 2010 22:21
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
Scooby-Doo now resides in a rather large box in our extra bedroom. He served his purpose as a Halloween costume two years running, as well as a weekly dress-up reward for good behavior at school. My son outgrew the costume three years ago but I just haven't had the heart to give it to another child yet.

I'm glad you liked my story. In many ways, Molly and I are a lot alike, so it was very easy to see how she could turn to her kitchen when she needed that stress reliever. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
ngayonatkailanman
Thursday 8th July 2010 16:36


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 195

Molly's Tale
Excellent work. Very focused. You used one activity - cooking. Marvelous. Then you told a chronological story each time Molly cooked. Absolutely genius. Well done.
Arnel
Thursday 8th July 2010 22:24
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
I see Molly's year as moving from one event to another through the meals she creates. Cooking is a balm for her and through this series of events, she copes with what the year brings. As she nourises her childrens' lives with her wisdom, so she nourishes their bodies every time the family sits at table. Thank you for your review.
  Quote
lizzytish
Thursday 8th July 2010 16:06


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 9

Molly's Tale
What a lovely story. The ending made me cry. I work as a hospice nurse and just recently we lost two young people. I can imagine their mom's doing this for them too. Please keep writing, you have a real talent.
Arnel
Thursday 8th July 2010 22:20
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
It seems this story has touched people on many levels from bringing back childhood memories to helping them cope with recent events. Thank you for sharing how my story has touched you.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 8th July 2010 10:46


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

Molly's Tale
Yes, I can picture Molly cooking in all of these circumstances.

Why were you asked to take this story down? Is cooking seen as too explicit?
Arnel
Thursday 8th July 2010 13:40
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
Once I had decided on which situations I wanted to write about, Molly took over and the story just seemed to write itself. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
wluer96
Thursday 8th July 2010 06:17


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

Molly's Tale
That was very sweet, thank you! I often turn to baking/cooking when I need to clear my brain, so I can definitely relate.
Arnel
Thursday 8th July 2010 06:35
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
I'm so glad you liked the story. There's just something soothing about creating something nurishing when your mind is in termoil. Thanks for reading and reviewing.
  Quote
Dad
Wednesday 7th July 2010 23:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 478

Molly's Tale
I read this last night and thought I had left a review saying what an excellent read it was. This morning I checked for new updates and saw this story had (0) reviews so I had to read it again to see if it was the same story. Well worth a second read.
Arnel
Thursday 8th July 2010 05:59
Molly's Tale (Author Response)
If your the "Dad" who left a review over on the other site I post at, I appreciate your kind words. I was asked to take this story down, so I'm glad you were able to find it here and took the time read it again. Thank you for reviewing, too.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Tuesday 1st April
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004