Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For A Less-Than-Perfect Love by RSS

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
shahinshaikh90
Saturday 12th November 2011 06:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
i think harry and hermione should call molly weasley as mrs.weasley not molly
  Quote
Ursulabear
Saturday 15th October 2011 01:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
Interesting idea to explore Harry's emotional numbness. I just cannot figure such a heart-to-heart taking place between two guys. It is typical girl talk. There is no reason Ron starts on this, besides it is out of character (even phasing in a more mature Ron), Ron being very shy about any show of emotions. There should have been at least a reason for two guys getting to this kind of talk, but right now I cannot figure out what. Ginny would not complain about Harry's emotional distance to Ron of all people.... Ron would not gush about Hermione to his friend for no reason. Maybe Harry could inadvertently witness something between Ron and Hermione, and have a soliloquy of sorts.
  Quote
Weaselsu
Saturday 2nd July 2011 11:03


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
I just read all 19 chapters you've gotten so far and I think it's great. I love Hermione and all the inner monologue of Harry and Ginny is great. I can't wait to see how the doctors visit is gonna go and for them H/G to get back together!
  Quote
Aishord
Saturday 27th November 2010 20:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
I really enjoyed this chapter of your story, and how Ron is almost completely different. I like how he's so sure of himself. I LOVE how Harry isn't positive about his feelings for Ginny, because so many writers make him love her when honestly they weren't romantically involved for a very long time. So I loved how you made it much more realistic.
I also understand how Harry doesn't want to or think he needs to wonder about his future and if his future concerns Ginny; honestly, he thought he was going to die just a few months previously!
That was a long review, wow. But I just love your writing style (wish mine could be like it) and love your story.
RSS
Tuesday 30th November 2010 07:20
1: Do You Love Her, Mate? (Author Response)
Thanks for leaving a long review! I definitely enjoyed reading it! I'm glad you understand where Harry is coming from and and that you like and appreciate his realistic perspectives on love and the future. There is alot more to read, and I hope to hear from you again! -R
  Quote
Kori24601
Thursday 30th September 2010 10:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
Very sweet! My favorite HP fanfics are the ones that take place after Deathly Hallows. I love reading peoples ideas about Harry and Ginny get back together. I've only read your first chapter but I already feel it's the most realistic idea of their reunion. Most people seem to think that Harry killed Voldie and then ran to Ginny and they lived happily ever after. Which is sweet, but not at all likely. Harry's got some serious baggage and needs to figure out how to live! I look forward to your updates!
RSS
Friday 1st October 2010 13:31
1: Do You Love Her, Mate? (Author Response)
Thank you. What a great review... I did imagine that it would be a rough road to "normal' for Harry, and that it wouldn't be sunshine and roses directly after he managed to kill Voldie, which is why I began writing my own version down. I'm glad you like the story, and I hope you will continue to read. Cheers, R
  Quote
juliet
Thursday 23rd September 2010 15:01


7th year
Num. of Reviews: 303

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
How difficult it must be for Harry to think ahead - this was a future that he never gave himself the opportunity to imagine during the war. I also like how you have captured Ron's growing maturity - this was evident also in DH. Well done
RSS
Friday 24th September 2010 17:48
1: Do You Love Her, Mate? (Author Response)
Thanks. It was a stretch for Harry to think of the future during the war and of course this is important to remember here. Glad you liked Ron in this bit. Thanks for reading and the review. Hope you will continue to read more!
  Quote
fio
Sunday 29th August 2010 09:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 18

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
love it!!
can't wait for the next chapter!
RSS
Sunday 29th August 2010 18:06
1: Do You Love Her, Mate? (Author Response)
Thank you for the review!! So happy you enjoyed.
  Quote
jeanne
Saturday 28th August 2010 06:30


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 508

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
This is the most realistic picture of Harry ever written. His life with the Dursleys was the foundation of his lack of recognizing feelings of any kind. He likes the kisses, hugs and being with Ginny but just can,t put a name to his feelings. You,ve started off just right. keep up the good work and let Harry evolve at his own pace, not Ron,s or any one elses. Great start.
RSS
Saturday 28th August 2010 12:48
1: Do You Love Her, Mate? (Author Response)
Thank you! I'm glad you feel like I've started off right, and nailed an accurate representation of how Harry would have felt at this time, judged by his past experiences. Thanks for the advice as well. Harry will have plenty of time to let his feelings evolve and I hope you will read along as they do! Thanks so much for the great review!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Friday 27th August 2010 04:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
The answer is, "Yes, I enjoyed reading your story." I can picture Ron having this conversation with Harry.

This about sums it up for Harry-
Harry finally decided that ‘loving’ Ginny would perhaps be something he intended to do someday. And he knew he would know when that someday had arrived.
RSS
Friday 27th August 2010 09:20
1: Do You Love Her, Mate? (Author Response)
I’m glad you enjoyed the first chapter and that you felt the conversation between Harry and Ron was realistic. Thanks for the quote as well, Kate. Getting to the point where ‘someday’ has arrived, will be frustrating to say the least, for both he and Ginny but Harry will get there eventually, as we know! Thanks so much for leaving a review! - Rebecca
  Quote
Felix Felicis
Thursday 26th August 2010 18:36


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 201

1: Do You Love Her, Mate?
Very well written. You did a fine job of showing Harry's confusion and regression when he finally was free to live his life and allowed to have a real future. He just doesn't know what to do with himself! Of course, we all know the real truth, but that makes the story even better. I also love what you've done with Ron. That strikes me as just like him; deeper than he first appears, and able to learn lessons from everything that happened over the last year. Perhaps that's one of the reasons this is a great story: for once Harry is taking lessons from Ron!
Thanks for sharing!
RSS
Friday 27th August 2010 09:08
1: Do You Love Her, Mate? (Author Response)
Thank you for reading! I appreciate your review, my first on Phoenix Song, so thanks for the welcome! I agree on how Ron learned many lessons about loss and love during the war, lessons which were quite eye opening! Luckily Ron was able to learn from them, as you said, and yes, whether he realizes (and likes it) or not, Harry will learn a few more lessons from Ron throughout the story. I suppose I have gone and turned around the dynamic of Ron and Harry's friendship yet this is exactly as I imagine it would have been at this point in time! More than anything, I’m very pleased about your reaction to Harry’s situation and thoughts in this chapter; that you found them acceptable and that you found the portayal to be done well. I hope you will read more Felix and thank you again. Best, Rebecca
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 10th October
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004