Register | Login
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For That Terrifying Momentum by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
TomRiddle
Tuesday 20th November 2012 05:09


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

27: This Morning's Account
Caleb,
My grandfather died earlier today. And what Scott said struck true. I don't believe in any specific afterlife, and if i did i hold no illusions that the dead spend their time observing the living.
While it may or may not be intentional. the words you typed rang true. We mourn the dead, but they do not mourn us.

Just another example of how much i love your writing and hope you never stop.

Thank you Caleb.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 20th November 2012 13:06
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
A difficult review to respond to. The words in this chapter concerning the grieving process are not comforting, in the traditional sense. Scott is voicing a very Kharadjai-based point of view concerning death.

I'm glad you took whatever you needed from them.
  Quote
xaphanea
Monday 7th February 2011 04:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

27: This Morning's Account
Excellent chapter as always! I really enjoy Scotts attitude and the way he's so up front and brutally honest. Looking forward to the next update. What type of dog do you have?


I have a toy poodle who is also currently twitching in her sleep next to me, and after having cats for seventeen years, her non-shedding-ness is a very beautiful thing!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 8th February 2011 19:23
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
Those crazy magic dogs and their non-shedding ways.
  Quote
xaphanea
Monday 7th February 2011 04:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

27: This Morning's Account
This chapter was heavy on my heart, glad to have Scott to lighten the load a little. As for your USB drive, that's awful!! That happened to me once before, back in the days of floppy disks that just loved to get corrupted for no reason at all. I tried so hard to rewrite what I'd written, but it was frustratingly horrid because I knew it had been so much better the first time. It's a terrible angry lost feeling, and my heart goes out to you. I am glad, however, that you're willing to continue, for us readers' sake.
On a side note, this update came into my inbox at the perfect time. I just reread the entire Dark Tower series by Stephen King in about three weeks (had to put my life on hold for that, lol!) and was worrying about what to read next. I find after reading incredibly rich stories whatever I pick up next feels so... thin. ^_^' So a good dose of Caleb Nova was exactly perfect! Keep writing hon, and give your dog a snuggle, I'm sure he'd apologize profusely if he could.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 8th February 2011 19:23
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
This chapter was heavy on my heart, glad to have Scott to lighten the load a little


Rather dark, you think?

That happened to me once before, back in the days of floppy disks that just loved to get corrupted for no reason at all. I tried so hard to rewrite what I'd written, but it was frustratingly horrid because I knew it had been so much better the first time. It's a terrible angry lost feeling, and my heart goes out to you. I am glad, however, that you're willing to continue, for us readers' sake.


If I gave up after every setback, I wouldn't have gotten past ten chapters at the most, probably. And how far back are we talking with the floppys, you mean the most recent ones to go obsolete, the three and a halfs, or the ancient eight inch floppys that you would play Space Invaders off of?

On a side note, this update came into my inbox at the perfect time. I just reread the entire Dark Tower series by Stephen King in about three weeks (had to put my life on hold for that, lol!) and was worrying about what to read next. I find after reading incredibly rich stories whatever I pick up next feels so... thin. ^_^' So a good dose of Caleb Nova was exactly perfect!


From Stephen King to me, talk about a step down. The only thing I have on him is that I'm not writing the same story about an author in Maine that I've already written a hundred times. But that's probably temporary, since I just haven't had a chance to reiterate TTM ad nauseum yet.

Keep writing hon, and give your dog a snuggle, I'm sure he'd apologize profusely if he could.


Maybe. If I confronted him he'd probably start barking at me, provoking my other dog to attack him in a fit of excitement.
  Quote
LeprechaunJV
Saturday 22nd January 2011 22:25


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 132

27: This Morning's Account
Caleb Nova
Thursday 3rd February 2011 22:39
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
Why thank you kind person.
  Quote
Kori24601
Monday 10th January 2011 16:04


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

27: This Morning's Account
Excellent chapter as always! I really enjoy Scotts attitude and the way he's so up front and brutally honest. Looking forward to the next update. What type of dog do you have?
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 18th January 2011 02:40
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
The dog which broke my USB (and who is currently twitching in his sleep next to me) is apparently a soft-coated Wheaton terrier, whatever that is. He's some sort of magic dog that doesn't shed. My other dog doesn't shed either, but he's not twitching in his sleep and is therefore less interesting.
  Quote
lizzypotter14
Saturday 8th January 2011 20:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 11

27: This Morning's Account
The wait was worth it. I can almost see the wheels on Harry's mind trying to come with ideas on how to get his friends and Ginny away from him. I would like to know, how are you gonna play this one; especially from Scott point of view, and he's commitment to have all his primes in one single place.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 18th January 2011 02:39
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
Yeah, that could be a problem for Scott. We shall see how he handles it.
  Quote
No Idea Why I Smile
Thursday 6th January 2011 15:17


2nd year
Num. of Reviews: 72

27: This Morning's Account
Hmm. I have a strong feeling Hermy will become something bigger than just a girl...and maybe all of them will..e.tiher that or your showing her feeling the shapew as completely a random occurrence and will never ever again happen.

but when does that ever really happen? XD

I read this over two days, so I kinda am blank on most of it right now...due to several things, which I shall not bore you with here. I did read it though, and as always, was glad to do so. Hopefully well see the next chapter soon, and sorry bout your USB
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 18th January 2011 02:38
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
Hmm. I have a strong feeling Hermy will become something bigger than just a girl..


A fat girl?

and maybe all of them will..e.tiher that or your showing her feeling the shapew as completely a random occurrence and will never ever again happen. but when does that ever really happen? XD


Well now that you've said that, it will never, ever happen again.

I read this over two days, so I kinda am blank on most of it right now...due to several things, which I shall not bore you with here. I did read it though, and as always, was glad to do so. Hopefully well see the next chapter soon, and sorry bout your USB


I received a new and improved USB for Christmas, and therefore require no pity.
  Quote
Aragorn
Thursday 6th January 2011 06:11


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

27: This Morning's Account
There's something quite satisfying about this chapter. Scott's interactions with Kylie added a lot...and was pleased by the potential for a deeper, stronger, cleaner connection between Scott and Ginny. Suspect that she's going to respond positively to being treated seriously by him.

Thanks again...
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 18th January 2011 02:37
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
There's something quite satisfying about this chapter.


Sexually?

Scott's interactions with Kylie added a lot...and was pleased by the potential for a deeper, stronger, cleaner connection between Scott and Ginny. Suspect that she's going to respond positively to being treated seriously by him.


Sort of seriously, anyway.

Thanks again...


But of course.
  Quote
Dad
Wednesday 5th January 2011 03:57


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 503

27: This Morning's Account
So glad this story is progressing. I hope you did not shout too loudly at the dog.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 18th January 2011 02:36
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
Nah, I didn't shout at him. He ran away too fast for that.
  Quote
Glacialis1
Tuesday 4th January 2011 17:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

27: This Morning's Account
Definitely been a while since you updated. For the first couple of paragraphs I couldn't remember who Kylie was. Thought for a moment the girl Scott fancied was Kylie at his bedside, but you never explained how she got in. Then I realized who Kylie was. That aside, it was a good chapter. Interesting foreshadowing with Kylie, is her bad home life going to play into her following Scott and Harry on their quest or will she be more helpful on the home-front. Still trying to figure out why you put that there, because you don't throw stuff like that in there just for giggles.
I like Hermonie being used to set things right with getting the locket where is should be and her being confused by it. Sounds exactly like what would have happened with her, whereas Luna would have just gone with it, no questions asked and told everyone the Nargles had given her the instructions so she did it. I hope to see a strong emergence of Neville. He is a character that had a lot of potential that hardly got used by J.K and is often passed over by most fan-fic authors, probably because it is hard to keep track of so many characters. I will be sad if he we don't see Lil and Scott banter for a while, that is always some of my favorite, but the Banter between Scott and Harry and Scott and Ginny is getting better all the time. Keep up the good work.
Caleb Nova
Monday 17th January 2011 23:40
27: This Morning's Account (Author Response)
Definitely been a while since you updated.


I know. It actually wasn't entirely my fault this time, poor Sherry was super busy over the holidays.

For the first couple of paragraphs I couldn't remember who Kylie was. Thought for a moment the girl Scott fancied was Kylie at his bedside, but you never explained how she got in. Then I realized who Kylie was.


Yeah, you were thinking of Sophie.

hat aside, it was a good chapter. Interesting foreshadowing with Kylie, is her bad home life going to play into her following Scott and Harry on their quest or will she be more helpful on the home-front. Still trying to figure out why you put that there, because you don't throw stuff like that in there just for giggles.


Or do I? You never know when I'll want some giggles.

I like Hermonie being used to set things right with getting the locket where is should be and her being confused by it. Sounds exactly like what would have happened with her, whereas Luna would have just gone with it, no questions asked and told everyone the Nargles had given her the instructions so she did it.


Those crazy Nargles. Hermione is certainly more prone to question, though in this case she didn't get a lot of answers.

I hope to see a strong emergence of Neville. He is a character that had a lot of potential that hardly got used by J.K and is often passed over by most fan-fic authors, probably because it is hard to keep track of so many characters.


It can be. The temptation when switching POV is just to do everybody in turn, and sometimes that works, but often it wouldn't. The trick is figuring out which perspective serves the chapter best. Obviously, I don't always get it right.

I will be sad if he we don't see Lil and Scott banter for a while, that is always some of my favorite, but the Banter between Scott and Harry and Scott and Ginny is getting better all the time.


Scott and Lil interacted a bit last chapter, but I know what you mean.

Keep up the good work.


Keeping up the reviews is a big help when it comes to working on this story. I crave the approval of strangers.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Wednesday 24th August
Author: Sovran
Story: Meaning of One, Part Two: Chambers and Secrets
Author: Author by Night
Story: This is the Life
Thursday 11th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Wednesday 27th April
Author: Author by Night
Story: I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up to No Good
Monday 7th March
Author: Author by Night
Story: Outside the Bubble
Friday 12th February
Author: parakletos
Story: Tiger Stripes
Wednesday 13th January
Author: Melindaleo
Story: These Cuts I Have
Tuesday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: Beholders
Saturday 5th December
Author: parakletos
Story: A Spanner in the Works
Friday 20th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Worth a Thousand Words?
Monday 19th October
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Wednesday 7th October
Author: angelmorph
Story: A Different Boy Who Lived
Author: Author by Night
Story: Spectators
Tuesday 29th September
Author: angelmorph
Story: How Hard Could it Be?
Thursday 17th September
Author: Author by Night
Story: The Dragon King
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Code ©Jeconais, 2004