Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For That Terrifying Momentum by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 15:26


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 116

28: All Roads Lead Home
It's a good thing you didn't let Ginny behind. It's a lot more believable than what Rowling did ("I always knew you would dump me, but that's why I love you so much..."). So, good work!

Hm, what's wrong with Scott? Does that mean he's been pulled off the case? Maybe so that your story doesn't diverge so much from canon? Now, you've lost that battle long ago, so why try? Oh well, I guess I'll see...
Caleb Nova
Monday 15th October 2012 01:21
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
It's a good thing you didn't let Ginny behind. It's a lot more believable than what Rowling did ("I always knew you would dump me, but that's why I love you so much..."). So, good work!


I've discussed this a few times. I couldn't keep Ginny, as I had written her, in character and have the same response as in the book. It really doesn't work.

Hm, what's wrong with Scott? Does that mean he's been pulled off the case? Maybe so that your story doesn't diverge so much from canon? Now, you've lost that battle long ago, so why try? Oh well, I guess I'll see..


I believe Scott was just attempting to report in.
  Quote
xaphanea
Sunday 10th April 2011 12:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

28: All Roads Lead Home
I realized after I reviewed your ending author's note that I never reviewed this chapter. I apologize.

I love that Scott convinced Harry to bring Ginny along. When reading the books I wanted to smash his face in for not doing that, and I thought that her being so understanding was completely retarded. All of the points brought up in this chapter are true, and it makes the most sense for them to be together. (Love the Spidey reference, btw, that was perfect!)

Your flow is beautiful here as well. The chapter starts off so desperately melancholy and slowly progresses to everyone standing up straight again, and taking life by the balls. It's realistic and didn't feel rushed. Wonderful wonderful work!

You deserve a standing ovation, keep writing and creating! And I know I've said this a million times, but if you ever decide to write an original story about Scott and Lila's universe I want those novels on my bookshelf! Keep me posted on new writing endeavours and you will have my support!

~xaph
Caleb Nova
Sunday 24th April 2011 01:12
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
I realized after I reviewed your ending author's note that I never reviewed this chapter. I apologize.


Well, you don't really have to. But since you did, I do have to respond!

I love that Scott convinced Harry to bring Ginny along. When reading the books I wanted to smash his face in for not doing that, and I thought that her being so understanding was completely retarded.


Ginny's quiet acceptance when Harry essentially tells her to be a good woman and stay out of trouble has always bothered me. It bothered me when I read it, long before I started this story, and it still bothers me now. It just seems so incongruous with everything we've learned about Ginny in the books previously. It's also more than a little patronizing. In our equal society, it's not Harry's place to tell Ginny what she can and can't do with her life.

(Love the Spidey reference, btw, that was perfect!)


That was born out of reading the Ultimate Spider-man series, in which the events occur pretty much as Scott relates them. Peter and MJ kept pushing each other away and of course it was always pointless. Scott says it's because of the UI and Primes, but the real-world fact is that in a comic book with a limited cast of main characters, it's always going to come back to them.

Your flow is beautiful here as well. The chapter starts off so desperately melancholy and slowly progresses to everyone standing up straight again, and taking life by the balls. It's realistic and didn't feel rushed. Wonderful wonderful work!


Thanks. I'd like to say that's what I was trying for, but I think most of my success are subconsciously performed.

You deserve a standing ovation, keep writing and creating! And I know I've said this a million times, but if you ever decide to write an original story about Scott and Lila's universe I want those novels on my bookshelf! Keep me posted on new writing endeavours and you will have my support!


We'll see what happens. There may be a sequel on the way - I've had a few ideas.
  Quote
LittleTom45
Wednesday 23rd March 2011 21:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 23

28: All Roads Lead Home
This is a great story. I like your style. Keep up the writing. I look forward to the next chapter.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 16th April 2011 11:10
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
Sadly for you, the next chapter was merely a bloated author's note. But thanks for the kind words.
  Quote
Dad
Sunday 20th March 2011 09:55


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 480

28: All Roads Lead Home
I have just re-read this chapter because I was checking up on any new updates on Phoenixsong. It I s a great original story but it is also good that you are one of the few authors that seem to be using Phoenixsong these days.
Thanks.
Caleb Nova
Saturday 16th April 2011 11:09
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
Oh, I don't know about that. There have been other stories updated since mine. Specialty sites like this don't see the kind of traffic that fanfiction.net does, but not many do.
  Quote
Kori24601
Friday 18th March 2011 10:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

28: All Roads Lead Home
Your Ginny IS jkr's Ginny. You just allow her to be herself a little more than JKR did, I think. And I like that. So I suppose calling her "your" Ginny is misleading, because she's still JKRs, very much so. :-)
Caleb Nova
Saturday 16th April 2011 11:08
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
Oh, well that's okay then.
  Quote
Kori24601
Wednesday 16th March 2011 22:40


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

28: All Roads Lead Home
Excellent chapter, as usual. I love your Ginny, she's great. Keep up the good work!
Caleb Nova
Friday 18th March 2011 04:19
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
I wish she wasn't my Ginny, but I don't know how to write JKR's Ginny.

I will try to keep up the good work, whatever that work may be.
  Quote
Aragorn
Monday 7th March 2011 18:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

28: All Roads Lead Home
Yes, I've already reviewed this chapter...but have just re-read it and am hoping that you are proud of this story.

It's quite a feat you've pulled off so far, so you should be. Strongly suspect that its popularity will continue to grow over time.
Caleb Nova
Friday 18th March 2011 04:18
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
Yes, I've already reviewed this chapter...but have just re-read it and am hoping that you are proud of this story.


I have nothing against you reviewing again. Hell, review all you like! I love reviews. I'm even slightly disappointed there hasn't been much spam around here.

It's quite a feat you've pulled off so far, so you should be. Strongly suspect that its popularity will continue to grow over time.


That would be nice.
  Quote
mekamissey
Saturday 5th March 2011 14:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

28: All Roads Lead Home
So...I know you like to read everyone's input on all the chapters, but I just started reading this a couple days ago. I thought it would be pointless to comment on something that wont be changes. Besides, everything I have to say can be said now. At this point, I think this has been a good story. I did think that you put a bit too much about Scott in the beginning. But that was because I thought it was off course of the Harry Potter story. Although, now that I am at this point I see that there really was not a way to introduce Scott efficiency other than how you did it.
I think that you have played Scott's character very well. As far as Ginny not liking him, most real life situations happen like that. A group if friends will not always like a newcomer. Especially with Scott's personality. Someone had to not like him. It puts a bit of reality in the story.

Thank you for giving me enjoyment for the past couple days. But now I have to find something else to read til you post the next chapter.
Caleb Nova
Friday 18th March 2011 04:17
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
So...I know you like to read everyone's input on all the chapters


Oh yes, indeed.

but I just started reading this a couple days ago. I thought it would be pointless to comment on something that wont be changes.


Hey, you never know. I've replaced content in old chapters before.

Besides, everything I have to say can be said now.


Yeah, I suppose so.

At this point, I think this has been a good story. I did think that you put a bit too much about Scott in the beginning.


I think so too. I regret it, but if I went back and rewrote it I'm honestly not sure how I would change it.

But that was because I thought it was off course of the Harry Potter story. Although, now that I am at this point I see that there really was not a way to introduce Scott efficiency other than how you did it.


There might have been a better way, but I'm not good enough to write it. As I just said, I'm not sure what I would do differently.

I think that you have played Scott's character very well. As far as Ginny not liking him, most real life situations happen like that. A group if friends will not always like a newcomer. Especially with Scott's personality. Someone had to not like him. It puts a bit of reality in the story.


Ginny's objection to Scott has a lot to do with how he (she thinks) is manipulating Harry.

Thank you for giving me enjoyment for the past couple days. But now I have to find something else to read til you post the next chapter.


Something better, no doubt. I'm afraid I don't have any current suggestions for you within this fandom.
  Quote
Aragorn
Sunday 27th February 2011 20:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 37

28: All Roads Lead Home
Of course, it's been a long time since I read the first chapters, but I have to say that I do believe your writing has continued to get stronger and more potent the further you've gone with this. A really beautiful chapter! Definitely will take your Ginny over JKR's any day. She let her fire out.

Plus, loved Ron at the end. Truly rich characterizations of your whole cast.
Caleb Nova
Friday 18th March 2011 04:14
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
It's been a number of years, so I sure hope I've improved. And ideally, my Ginny is JKR's Ginny, or very close to it. But I know I've fallen short of that and almost created my own Ginny. At least you enjoy her presence.

Yeah, I felt Ron needed his say in this.
  Quote
LeprechaunJV
Sunday 27th February 2011 13:24


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

28: All Roads Lead Home
Caleb Nova
Friday 18th March 2011 04:12
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
Rock on.
  Quote
pottervader
Sunday 27th February 2011 04:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

28: All Roads Lead Home
Thank goodness for Scott, otherwise Harry will have made a real mistake. They've gone through much more than in the books and they might not have been able to get back together after a breakup like that. I bet the Harry in the book series had regretted his decision once he learned that Ginny wasn't as safe in Hogwarts as he thought. Good job.
Caleb Nova
Friday 18th March 2011 04:12
28: All Roads Lead Home (Author Response)
I don't know if the Harry in the books regretted it or not... but then, my memory of book seven is not the best.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 11 of 11
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two ó A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004