Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Anniversary by MyGinevra

Showing 1 to 7 of 7
Patches
Tuesday 12th April 2011 04:34


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Anniversary
Oops, I just read three stories and I didn't realize that this was a complete story. Very well done but it could also be a beginning of a bigger story. Thanks for writing. p
MyGinevra
Tuesday 12th April 2011 08:06
Anniversary (Author Response)
Hey Patches! How's my favorite reader? I'm so glad you liked Anniversary. As the summary says, I wrote it for a contest on SIYE to describe the first time Harry says "I love you" to Ginny. When I saw that, I knew I would write a story for it. At this point, I'm not planning to continue with it, although I can never say definitely that I never will.

You certainly summarized the angst in Harry's life in one paragraph.

Thanks for leaving a review.

--Peter
  Quote
Patches
Tuesday 12th April 2011 04:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

Anniversary
Wow! This is an amazing beginning. It is really hard to imagine being at war your whole life in one way or another. Harry was orphaned at 1 yr. 3 mos. He was abused and made to work too hard for over 10 years at the Durseley's. He found out his parent were murdered at 11 and discovered why the Durseley's hated him and still had to go back there each summer then he had to deal with Voldemort for 7 years while trying to learn magic and get along with people. Some who liked him, some who hated him and some that wanted things from him. Now the war is over and he is dealing with loss and guilt and remorse about people who just died as well as those in his past. A lot to deal with but he needs to realize that a lot of other people are going through some of the same things. Losing a family member, their home, their friends. I think now he is beginning to see that he isn't alone. He needs to help others and let them help him. I think being able to talk to Ginny now will deffinitely help. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. p
  Quote
parakletos
Monday 11th April 2011 14:32


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 209

Anniversary
Overall I liked this although I thought the ending was a bit rushed.

A couple of points of local colour:

'Enough already...' well, perhaps, but not on this side of the Atlantic.

'check' should be spelt 'cheque'.

MyGinevra
Monday 11th April 2011 19:17
Anniversary (Author Response)
Thanks for reading and reviewing Anniversary. There is always a question, in my mind at least, how far a non-Brit (like myself) should go in using Briticisms in HP fics. I guess I go with what is comfortable to me and doesn't look like I'm straining to be "correct" and maybe using an idiom incorrectly. It's very subjective, because obviously "check" looks correct to me but not to you. In this instance, however, it's pronounced the same way so unless Harry were spelling it out, I don't think it matters.

As for "enough already," I had no idea that it would not sound right to a Brit. What would you suggest?

Thanks again!

Peter
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 7th April 2011 11:54


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 485

Anniversary
Good ending, But I am sure I have read it before. Where? Or am I just going senile?
MyGinevra
Thursday 7th April 2011 12:46
Anniversary (Author Response)
Dad, if you are as old as I am then you very well may be going senile. But the story is also posted on SIYE (I entered it in their last Challenge) and FanFiction.net.

Thanks for the reivew.

--Peter
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Monday 4th April 2011 08:00


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

Anniversary
It's a joy to read you again. Harry and Ginny have a lot to work through, as does many of the rest of the family. Bill, Fleur, and Ron seem to have made peace with all that has happened and are ready to move on with their lives.
MyGinevra
Monday 4th April 2011 11:03
Anniversary (Author Response)
GK, its so good to hear from you! Thank you! I think there may be a story in all that working out that you mention.

--Peter
  Quote
JustAFan
Sunday 3rd April 2011 23:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 31

Anniversary
Wow! What a roller coaster! That was really good. I bet that they're still in for a rough time though. They really need to talk.
MyGinevra
Monday 4th April 2011 06:08
Anniversary (Author Response)
Thanks for reading and reviewing. Life is full of bumps and bruises, ain't it?
  Quote
GoDons
Sunday 3rd April 2011 20:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

Anniversary
Read this story more than once, but I love it just as much as I did when I read it the 1st time round. Can't wait for your new H/G story some time this year
MyGinevra
Sunday 3rd April 2011 21:35
Anniversary (Author Response)
Thanks, and I'm happy that you liked it the second time, too.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Sunday 2nd November
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004