Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
gymnastgal19
Friday 3rd June 2011 13:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

1: Reaction
I bet the two suspects have something in their mouths like pills or something that they use to fall asleep or clamp their mouth shut lol

I hope harry gets better soon
Arnel
Friday 3rd June 2011 21:10
1: Reaction (Author Response)
Good guess about the two suspects, but they have no wands and they were searched when they were processed on the night of the raid. So... something else is happening.

I'm not sure what you think of as "soon", but Harry's in for a long and difficult recovery after falling thirty feet into the pit and banging his head hard enough to cause brain swelling.

Keep reading... I look forward to more of your reviews.
  Quote
mutt n feathers
Wednesday 27th April 2011 07:46


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

1: Reaction
Hey sweetie, Wow! what a start! Quite the impressive story and I really like the tone and movement you've put in. Due to my personal life, some of this hits close to home (but you knew that), however I trust that you will put it all in perspective and handle such delicate things with the grace and poise that you carry in your everyday life.

Thanks for giving me the privilege to read it early.

MNF
Arnel
Wednesday 27th April 2011 08:11
1: Reaction (Author Response)
Mutt,
This story wouldn't be what it is without your gentle criticism, eagerness to read the latest chapter, and support for my efforts. I appreciate everything you've helped me with and I'll do my best to portray this difficult subject as kindly as I can while staying true to JKR's characters.

Arnel
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Tuesday 26th April 2011 02:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

1: Reaction
I'm sorry I haven't reviewed sooner, I had to take an (extended) trip to France. So was unable to have my Thursday doses of this fic! I loved this chapter.

First, I found the way you approached it beautiful, the gentle referances to Ginny as "mummy"; it was incredibly sweet and touching.

Second, Hermione's apperance was well timed and not over bearing - I find that often in fics, people just use Hermione as a filler and she becomes too "in your face", or, they just forget Hermione all together. But you imput was great, she was there for the family and I think it was much needed.

Third, Ron and Albus's relationship was lovely to read, Ron's emotional support of Albus was fantastic and I felt truly touched by it.

Right, i'll stop babbling on now and read the rest! A great chapter - thank you for posting
Arnel
Tuesday 26th April 2011 10:01
1: Reaction (Author Response)
Thank you so much for your heart-felt review. It was definitely worth waiting for and I hope your trip was everything you wanted it to be.

I'm so glad you like my story. There will be a lot of "scene time" for Harry's children in this story because one of the main themes is family love. Lily hasn't grown out of her childhood yet, so her referring to Ginny as "mummy" was very natural to write. I also like to think that at forty, both Hermione and Ron have outgrown their teenage limitations and grown to be loving, caring adults; raising a family will do that to you rather quickly because you realize that you are the example your children will emulate! In this chapter, Hermione has two men to worry about as well as her best friend, so she puts her own needs and opinions to help her family members. "Uncle Ron" is a favorite character of mine. As another reviewer put it, he's outgrown his emotional teaspoon and learned to comfort and emotionally support those around him.

Again, thank you for taking the time to tell me what you think of my story. I look forward to your next review.
  Quote
Kelleypen
Saturday 9th April 2011 06:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 416

1: Reaction
I really like this, Arnel. I love how so much of it is from the children's points of view, especially Albus. I'm worried for Harry, but I hope you won't do anything permanent to him.
Arnel
Saturday 9th April 2011 06:58
1: Reaction (Author Response)
I don't blame you for being worried for Harry, Kelley. You don't fall thirty feet and usually survive, so in a way Harry's already lucky.

It's been fun writing the children. They're all so different and have their individual quirks that make them unique people. I hope you continue to like how I've portrayed them.

Thanks for your kind review. Until Thursday...
~Arnel
  Quote
notadryeeye
Friday 8th April 2011 16:27


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

1: Reaction
I absolutely love your characterization of the three kids. The way you've not only written them in the story, but explained them in your reviews is exactly the way I guess I had always thought of them individually. This story is so different from any post-DH story that I've stumbled upon before, and yet it's a situation that makes total sense for someone to tackle. Harry, for all he went through in the war, has a very dangerous job in being an Auror and it's refreshing and, at the same time, terrifying to see the worst happen to him as a result (In my mind a debilitating injury is possibly worse than death for someone like Harry). Thank you for the wonderful start to this story and I can't wait til next Thursday!
Arnel
Friday 8th April 2011 21:21
1: Reaction (Author Response)
I'm really glad you like how I'm writing the children. My years as a classroom teacher and as a mom have helped my characterizations of the three immensely. JKR gave us a glimpse of their personalities in the DH Epilogue, so I followed her lead.

Not many people want to tackle writing about a forty-something Harry Potter. However, last October I began wondering what Harry would be like at my age (I'm a little older than he is in this story) and one thing led to another and this story is the result. I'm glad you're enjoying it and will be returning to read chapter two next Thursday.

Thanks for reviewing... Arnel
  Quote
kopfsalat2000
Friday 8th April 2011 14:10


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

1: Reaction
Interesting story, I will definitely check for updates regularly!
Arnel
Friday 8th April 2011 14:29
1: Reaction (Author Response)
I'm glad you like the story and will be checking regularly. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
AvantGarde
Friday 8th April 2011 09:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 17

1: Reaction
I think you have been hanging out with Melinda too long because you certainly tortured Harry with enough injuries, lol. I really loved the kid pov's and I found they were appropriately limited to each child's age and understanding (it's a pet peeve of mine to see children either too babyish or adult for their age although I appreciate they can be hard to write). Consequently I am looking forward to some adult pov to find out more though and I am very interested to see what's going on with the suspects in custody as there is clearly something up there. I have to say I am pleasantly surprised that you woke Harry up already if only for a second, the foreshadowing suggests a long way to go yet, but it was great nonetheless.
Arnel
Friday 8th April 2011 14:28
1: Reaction (Author Response)
The funny thing about my friendship with Melinda is that about six years ago, right after the third movie came out, I called her a "foul, loathsome, evil, little [writer]" to misquote Hermione after she'd injured him quite badly in Curse of the Damned . She laughed and seemed to like that I'd called her a name!

I really enjoy writing the three Potter children and I don't have any trouble distinguishing between their ages: Lily is still very much a child, Albus (the family worrier) is a little more perceptive and mature, and James is the most independent of the three who is trying like crazy to act more adult than he feel sometimes.

The reason I woke Harry up so soon is because healing seems to happen very quickly at St Mungo's and I also didn't want to drag the sadness out too much: Harry's family needs him to be awake so he can tell them how his body feels.

I hope that throughout the story I will be giving you the balanced mix of adults and children as I tell the tale. Everyone has their place, even the criminals, in this mystery and my pre-betas say they're enjoying the story very much. I hope you'll continue reading. Thanks for your kind review.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Friday 8th April 2011 07:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

1: Reaction
Harry in a hospital once again - some things never change. I'm interested to see where you're going, and so glad you decided to post. I'm very curious about Susan's hand. Somehow, I don't think that's the end of it. My favorite moment was the one between Ron and Albus. Very sweet. The once a week posting thrills me!
Arnel
Friday 8th April 2011 08:00
1: Reaction (Author Response)
Unfortunately, Harry's choice of profession seems to have almost guaranteed him a bed at St Mungo's at least once a year. You are correct when you say there's more than you think to what has happened to Susan's hand... that's part of the mystery. And if you liked the scene between Ron and Albus, there are many more such scenes in coming chapters. Thanks for reviewing and I'm glad you're looking forward to next week's chapter.
  Quote
Patches
Friday 8th April 2011 01:02


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

1: Reaction
This is a sad chapter. Harry being in the hospital again is hard on everyone who know, respects and loves him. Especially his family. It is really difficult for children to understand when a really severe illness or accicent happens to one of their parents. Especially a parent that is held in such hight regard as Harry is. It is good the children have an understanding of how dangerous Harry\'s job can be and were also worried about the rest of Harry\'s team. That shows a very well taught family about how important everyone is. No one is expendable. It is great they captured two of the people responsible but it is unusual that they can\'t make them talk. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Friday 8th April 2011 06:37
1: Reaction (Author Response)
I'm glad you picked up on the scariness for the family of the one hurt/sick . James and Albus certainly are old enough to understand the gravity of their father's condition while at twelve, Lily is still mostly picking up on the emotion she feels from her mother and brothers. It's always seemed to me that Harry and Ginny would be the sort of parents who would stress concern for everyone in the group of Aurors and I imagine that every one of Harry's team has been invited to dinner at the Potters at least once so the children know who Harry is talking about; that would certainly help the children be concerned for the team as a whole and not just their father or Uncle Ron.

As for the suspects, this is just the tip of the iceberg as they say.

Thanks for your review. Since you seem to like the story, I look forward to reading your next review.
  Quote
HagridsHeart
Thursday 7th April 2011 13:21


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 29

1: Reaction
Another fantastic chapter. I very much like your portrayal of the Potter kids. Can't wait till next Thursday!!

Arnel
Thursday 7th April 2011 13:40
1: Reaction (Author Response)
It's been fun writing the children, they're so very different. I see James as the prankster, the one testing his growing independence and being the one the other two lean on. Albus is the worrier, although he can be all boy when he wants. Lily is still a little girl at age twelve; she can hold her own when she needs to, but at scary times like these, she's not very far from Ginny's hand. I'm glad you liked the chapter. Thanks for the review.
  Quote
Dad
Thursday 7th April 2011 12:06


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 482

1: Reaction
Thanks for posting this on Phoenix song as well because it is getting a bit lonely on here.
Arnel
Thursday 7th April 2011 12:23
1: Reaction (Author Response)
PS is the site where I can post all my stories. All seventeen of them are here, so I tend to think of this site as my "home". Hopefully, the new story will help keep this site going.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 7th April 2011 10:37


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

1: Reaction
Hey slightly Evil Woman!

I like they way you are letting us experience your story from different points of views. You are revealing the characters as you develop the story.

See you next Thursday.
Arnel
Thursday 7th April 2011 11:13
1: Reaction (Author Response)
This is definitely a departure from my normal one-point-of-view stories. I'm trying to use each character to tell different aspects of the story so the reader gets the entire picture and not just part of it. It's fun to write as the different characters, too. See you next Thursday and thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
GoDons
Thursday 7th April 2011 05:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

1: Reaction
Awesome, rivetting story. Can't wait for more. Well done.
Arnel
Thursday 7th April 2011 06:16
1: Reaction (Author Response)
So far, there are ten and a half more chapters complete with more on the way. Glad you liked the story. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 13 of 13
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004