Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
gymnastgal19
Sunday 5th June 2011 16:18


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

3: Weekend
Nice way to get harry out of the hospital!
Arnel
Monday 6th June 2011 01:27
3: Weekend (Author Response)
Hey, he deals with dead bodies quite a lot in his job so why not impersonate one? Thanks for the compliment.
  Quote
mutt n feathers
Wednesday 27th April 2011 07:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

3: Weekend
Oh, my heart broke for little Albus at the beginning of the chapter, but it's such a real moment. Sometimes our hearts and heads hurt too much, and we just want to have some different pain to take its place.

Those boys -- that was a brilliant prank! The Marauder's are my personal favorites (which you know) but that was a prank that lived up to their legacy.

The mystery thickens -- just what a good story needs.

Excellent,
MNF
Arnel
Wednesday 27th April 2011 08:36
3: Weekend (Author Response)
Mutt,
Not only is the prank Marauder-worthy and a way to lighten the mood of the story, it's pretty important to the plot. The Potter boys, like everyone else, need to let off steam and what better way than to make the entire school itch?

I'm sorry your heart broke for Albus, but at fourteen he still is learning how to cope with the intense emotions he's feeling. This was the best solution he could come up with and Uncle Ron was there to help him pick up the pieces.

Thanks for reading,
Arnel
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Tuesday 26th April 2011 05:12


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

3: Weekend
I promise this review isn’t going to be as long as my last one!
God, that opening scene with  Albus was incredibly emotional. You did a fantastic job writing that. I think he is definitely most like Harry. I adore how well you have written him. I also love Ron’s support of him.

I love when theres mysterious goings on, for example, a certain set of notes being incorrect and missing.

I’m not sure how you feel towards constructive critism “I could care less what you want me to do” – ‘could care less’ is an American colloquialism and, since Harry Potter is British, really it should be “couldn’t care less”. I feel horrid for pointing it out, but you also used a few American spellings of things like “apologize” – which should be apologise.

 I love the idea of them sneaking out the morgue to hide from the media! This chapter was great and I can't wait until Thursday to read more  
Arnel
Tuesday 26th April 2011 10:50
3: Weekend (Author Response)
You've found me out... I'm an American trying to write like a Briton. Because I'm writing/playing with someone else's British characters, written in the finest British tradition, I'm trying my best to not sound like an American. Therefore, I welcome any constructive criticism my readers give me and appreciate knowing that I should have used "couldn't" in that sentence. I have now filed away your tip to use in future writing and will also pass it on to the other American writers I beta for.

I have a good friend, Jedi34, to thank for the opening scene of this chapter. We talked at length about what I wanted to do and he assuaged my fears that I was making Albus too babyish and/or girly by assuring me that when they feel secure teenaged boys will allow their pent-up emotions to spill out: in Albus' case, Uncle Ron was there to share his grief when the tears did finally come.

I'm glad you've picked up on the mystery this story is becoming. Keep in mind that anything could be a clue to the solution, even if it seems to be something innocuous. I'm also glad you like Harry's exit from St Mungo's... the less media attention, the better.

Thanks for your thoughtful review. Thursday is not that far away...
  Quote
Melindaleo
Monday 25th April 2011 15:58


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

3: Weekend
And now I've caught up! I love the relationship between Ron and his nephews! So enjoyable to read, and I really loved Ron's insight to Harry's teen years. He really has outgrown that emotional teaspoon!

I was encouraged by the tingling in Harry's foot - more and more like Susan! Woot! Love the tenacious Healer and his determination to find that missing original.

I also like the idea of counselors at the Rehab facility to help patients cope with these life altering situations. I've been told repeatedly that Brits don't use shrinks in near the frequency we do here, but counselors for this sort of thing feels very right.
Arnel
Monday 25th April 2011 23:26
3: Weekend (Author Response)
You're going to see a lot more of the mature Ron in this story because his role in the investigation will be important. Because of what JKR has said in various interviews about Ron being the one to help George after the war, it was easy to write a more caring Ron who could be counted upon in times of stress.

You and I seem to have heard the same thing about how infrequently the British use psychologists, but a little research into the health care services provided by various hospitals did yield a few facilities similiar to the one in this story. From what I understand there are injury support facilities for patients like Harry. I also looked at several different job listings and was gratified to see there were openings in various locations for physiotherapists, so I knew it would be all right for me to create The Groves which is basically an injury support facility.

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you found a few minutes to enjoy my story.
  Quote
GoDons
Thursday 21st April 2011 20:54


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

3: Weekend
Thank you for this latest instalment. The fact Harry has a little feeling below his waist is encouraging and maybe there's hope for him yet that he'll recover from his freak accident. Looking forward to the next chapter
Arnel
Thursday 21st April 2011 22:45
3: Weekend (Author Response)
"Recovery" for someone in Harry's position can mean a lot of things: it can mean learning to cope with his injuries and then going back into mainstream society as a disabled person; it can mean healing to a certain point, such as learning to walk with crutches, but not have full use of his legs; or it can mean a full recovery with no lasting side-effects. These are the possibilities that await Harry. Hopefully, he will learn to live with whatever result is in store for him. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
notadryeeye
Thursday 21st April 2011 18:41


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 4

3: Weekend
Once again, I'm really impressed with the different POV's we're getting, especially the children's reactions. The beginning sequence with Ron and Albus was really perfect. It's how I expect Ron to be as an Uncle and how I imagined him to be feeling, not just about helping with Albus's grief, but his own.

I wasn't sure before this chapter how a story would go that saw Harry go straight into his home environment right away without any sort of intensive re-learning and adaptation program. So I'm glad to see you've got him going to rehab somewhere to not only come to terms with things, but learn the skills to move on with his life and family. I'm really looking forward to any exclusively Ginny/Harry moments to come.

Well done once again! Can't wait til next week
Arnel
Thursday 21st April 2011 22:54
3: Weekend (Author Response)
Reality dictates that Harry needs to learn many things before he can rejoin society and I would be remiss as a writer if I didn't research the avenues available to people like Harry so he can go back to his job. I've read several stories where Harry goes straight to Hogwarts or back home after being injured and it just didn't sit well with me because that's not what happens in real life.

Harry's children are important to this story because they have their own roles in this drama. The offer comic relief and demonstrate how people of different ages cope with tragic situations. I'm glad you liked the Ron/Albus scene. It's one of my favorites in this story mostly because we see the person Ron has become... I always thought he'd turn out as loving and supportive as I've written him here.

Thank you for your kind review. I look forward to next week, too.
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 21st April 2011 14:29


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

3: Weekend
This is an excellent chapter. I'm sorry the children are suffering so much from Harry's injuries but that is to be expected. Harry is deffinitely going through the stages of grief. Despair when he was told he was a paraplegic; Anger at his friends and coworkers; Grief over his loss; Frustration over his inablility to take care of himself. Now he is on his way to rehab and will have to deal with that. Of course his mind is wondering about how Ginny is feeling and what she thinks about having a husband that can no longer satisfy all her needs. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. pms
Arnel
Thursday 21st April 2011 15:03
3: Weekend (Author Response)
I'm so glad you think I'm doing a good job showing what's happening to Harry and his family. The woman who is helping me with the realities of recovery agrees with you. Next chapter will have a scene between just Harry and Ginny. I think you'll be happy with it. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 21st April 2011 09:07


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

3: Weekend
Poor Albus! He was so honest with his Uncle Ron-
"I tried listing potions ingredients, counting sheep, naming all of Jupiter's moons, but everything reminded me of my dad!"

His concern about his home changing is also so typical of his age.

And what happened to Harry's Admittance Form? What was his condition when he arrived at the hospital? Will the re-hab work?

I tend to be a bit claustrophobic so was creeped out by Harry leaving the hospital in a body bag.

Very interesting story, dear friend.
Arnel
Thursday 21st April 2011 11:24
3: Weekend (Author Response)
As much as Albus tries to act grown-up, I still see him as quite the child. Since he's the worrier of the the Potter brood, I've chosen him to speak for all three children; he voices their worries about their father and what's going to happen to their home because of their father's injuries.

I promise I answer all three of your questions about Harry in up-coming chapters, even though the poor man is just as claustrophobic as you. He, Ginny and I all blame it on the Dursleys!

Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Tuesday 5th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004