Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
The Boss
Monday 11th July 2011 02:48


5th year
Num. of Reviews: 214

4: Settling
Ohh wow what a gripping ending to the chapter! I am enthrawled in this work of yours Arnel and I am looking forward to reading the remaining chapters that have already been published!

Regards
The Boss
Arnel
Monday 11th July 2011 09:40
4: Settling (Author Response)
I'm glad you like the story and want to continue reading. Thanks for letting me know.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Sunday 5th June 2011 16:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

4: Settling
:S What the hay... So there must be some sort of spell that they didnt perform on him... I wonder who the person in the shadows is..
Arnel
Monday 6th June 2011 01:30
4: Settling (Author Response)
Answering the second comment first, I'll just say the person is definitely up to no good. And yes, the spell the A and E Healers didn't perform is pretty important to discovering all of Harry's injuries. Keep reading. I'm looking forward to your next reviews. Thanks for commenting.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Wednesday 11th May 2011 16:03


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

4: Settling
Yipes, there was a cliffy! But it gets deliciously curiouser and curiouser. I so love and I'm glad he's still on the case.

You seem very well aware of what goes on with these kind of injuries. Is this all research, or do you know someone who went to a facility such as this. I'm really impressed with the level of detail. I do so love details!

Keep up the good work, Arnel!
Arnel
Wednesday 11th May 2011 22:37
4: Settling (Author Response)
It looks like I'm dropping all the right clues to keep readers like you guessing and wanting to read more. I have many favorite characters in this story, all for different reasons, and Ron is one of them. It's been fun writing him as a mature adult.

Most of the details in this story come from my reasearch, a grandmother who spent the last six months of her life in a hospice facility and also conversations with a close friend who is chronically ill. I'm with you... details make the story seem real and believeable. I'm glad you approve.

Thank you for your review.
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Wednesday 4th May 2011 17:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

4: Settling
I only spotted one thing today - just letting you know, its the National Health Service, not organisation (though it is an organisation, of course). But everything else has been completely spot on - you're such a good British impersonator!!

I adored Molly and Ginny's interaction. In all honesty, it reminded me of my mum and the way she looks after me. No matter how old we get, our mums are still there for us and it was touching to see that reflected in your work.

I also loved Kendra/James, I like that we see some of that romance again, its a nice touch and is nice to read, to step back from Harry's ailment and see that his children are still teenagers with a social life and interests of their own. You're doing an amazing job with the characters.

I can't compliment the way you are writing the characters enough, when Harry snapped at Ginny - it was so very real, and I love that you are showing just how hard this entire process would be. I like how you have ensured we see that Harry is struggling, and he isn't just sucking it up and being "a hero", but he's showing that he is human too.

Who is this shadow man!? haha. I loved the chapter. Sorry for the late review, by the way. Too much work, too little time

Thank you for posting, it was great!

  Quote
Patches
Sunday 1st May 2011 13:20


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

4: Settling
This is quite an involved story. I am glad you are going into so much detail. As usual you are writing something really different and I love your stories. I understand the trip out of St. Mungos. I'm glad that Ginny opened the body bag as quickly as she did. That didn't help as much as it could have but it was good. I'm glad the healer noticed that problem. I'm so glad that Healer Stilwell is still looking for information and that he finally has the original admission form to St. Mungos for Harry. That should help. It looks like things are still going badly with Harry but with this new information hopfully Healer Stilwell will be able to fix it. Thanks again for writing. I look forward to more of this story. p
Arnel
Monday 2nd May 2011 01:14
4: Settling (Author Response)
As a reader, I have always admired those published authors who can take multiple unrelated subplots and slowly weave them together into one cohesive storyline. When I sat down to write this story, I determined this was the story I'd try such a method of storytelling. I'm glad you find I'm succeeding.

Harry's problems seem to be compounding with each chapter as evidenced by his reaction to his exit from St Mungo's. You'll learn more about his reaction in the next chapter as well as what will be done for him by the staff at The Groves and Healer Stilwell.

Thanks for another thought-provoking review. I look forward to your reaction to chapter four.
  Quote
GoDons
Thursday 28th April 2011 22:08


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

4: Settling
Well done. Really enjoyed this latest instalment and looking forward to next week's chapter. Thanks for sharing
Arnel
Thursday 28th April 2011 22:30
4: Settling (Author Response)
I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter and are willing to tell me so. Until next week, thank you for the review.
  Quote
mutt n feathers
Thursday 28th April 2011 16:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 14

4: Settling
I really like James girlfriend, Kendra. She seems like she has a good head on her shoulders and that she's helping him think things out.

The mystery with the hospital paperwork -- that's troubling. Someone is really up to something pretty rotten.

That ending, wow, what a cliffie my dear. You are certainly keeping your readers on the edge of their seats!

MNF
Arnel
Thursday 28th April 2011 21:26
4: Settling (Author Response)
When I was creating the new characters for this story, as well as the children's personalities, I decided that James needed a girlfriend who would balance him as well as his mother balances his father. I'm glad you like her. I do, too.

I know you know the end of the chapter and the debacle with the paperwork are both pieces of the same puzzle, but for now, that's all I'm admitting to. Luckily, my readers only have a week to endure between this chapter and the next. Thank goodness for Thursdays.

Thanks for the thoughtful review.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 28th April 2011 08:11


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 964

4: Settling
The concealed wizard...
muttered a curse under his breath.


Quite a cliffie, Evil One!
Arnel
Thursday 28th April 2011 13:17
4: Settling (Author Response)
That it is. It also sets up a lot of what's to come in the story. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Friday 18th July
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
Author: Northumbrian
Story: It Takes Two A Duet
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Question
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Strangers at Drakeshaugh
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004