Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
gymnastgal19
Monday 6th June 2011 12:21


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

6: Action
Yay! Harry's getting better
And that is sick that whoever was doing that spell on Harry was being aroused by it > <
at least now we know that the mastermind behind this is/was a nurse...
Arnel
Monday 6th June 2011 12:41
6: Action (Author Response)
Yes, the operation has helped his physical condition immensely. And I agree the criminals in this story are quite sick in the head... but then, again, the Death Eaters took perverse pleasure at causing others pain. I guess this batch doesn't fall far from the tree...

Oh, my only comment about the clues is to tell you to keep in mind that anything can be a clue to the identity of the mastermind and his/her minions.

Thanks for your comments.
  Quote
sherryola
Friday 13th May 2011 20:52


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 1

6: Action
Hi,

This is sherry from Melinda's list. I finally registered for this site so I could read your story and review.

This is fantastic. It's a long time since I read a good HP fic or since I found one I liked. I love the characters so much. I htink you have them behaving, acting, feeling, in very canon ways. I love the kids, the flashes of Hogwarts, love seeing some of the old gang together.

I hope this site sends out alerts of updates, because I'm completely engrossed and want to read more of it. You are a fine author, and I truly enjoy this.

sherry
Arnel
Friday 13th May 2011 22:09
6: Action (Author Response)
Sherry,

It's so good to see you as one of the Phoenix Song Flock. I hope you'll read more than my stories here on the site. We have some excellent writers who post here: Melindaleo, Ghostwriter, RSS, Jedi34, MyGinevra... all recognizable authors, I'm sure.

I'm so glad you like the story. When I first started writing it I wanted the children to all have different personalities as well as try to keep the characters we know and love act like they might in canon, but only twenty years older. I'm glad you think I've accomplished that goal.

Thanks for letting me know you're reading the story here. I look forward to your next review.

Until next Thursday,
Arnel
  Quote
Melindaleo
Friday 13th May 2011 10:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

6: Action
The ringleader is a woman!!! Excellent twist! Of course, my mind always goes to Umbridge - but that wouldn't work in a hospital. A woman who was in Potions who has a grudge against Harry. Pansy Parkinson comes to mind...

Oh, this is so exciting. Your level of detail is excellent, and I'm so glad that psychopath couldn't cast another spell through the window at poor Harry.

How shocking for Ron to come outside and find the entire team dead. Yeeps! This woman isn't messing around. I have to admit, I'm on pins and needles waiting for Ron to get the news about those little pins in Harry and the attempted murder. I promised I'd wait a while to read so it wouldn't be a whole week, but obviously that didn't work out!
Arnel
Friday 13th May 2011 11:09
6: Action (Author Response)
As one of my other reviewers put it, "___ has no fury like a woman scorned." You'll see in future chapters just how nasty this particular witch is, and no, the scorned woman is NOT Umbridge... but a good (and chuckle-worthy) guess, no less. To add to the mix, this witch has surrounded herself with "minions" who are just as psychopatic, creative, and sadistic as she is. I wouldn't put it past one or two to take the initiative and do something really awful on their own.

The needles Healer Stilwell extracted from Harry's back are just part of the evidence Ron and his team are amassing as they build their case against the criminals responsible for hurting Harry. They have the foot prints from the Apparition site and from under Harry's window. They have the vials of extra needles Ron found in the pit as well as the vial Ginny found under the window. They also have the potions Susan found in the cupboards in the cellar, plus the evidence that the potions were used for something nefarious in the results of the detection spells the Aurors cast. The Aurors will prevail!

I had to smile because you couldn't wait for more chapters to be put up. Thanks for telling me about it.
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Friday 13th May 2011 05:55


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

6: Action
Thank you. I think I suffered a minor heart attack when the object exploded and everything hit the fan. I loved the detail of the medical procedure, (I’m training as a surgical nurse so it makes me happy to read good medical procedures in fiction!!)

“to the tiny waiting room where Mrs Potter and her supporters waited.” I can just picture it now, Ginny and all her family sat around waiting. Its a beautiful image and if harry was in this situation, we all know thats what would happen.

I also adore the interaction between the aurors, I can almost feel the fear they must be feeling and attempting to mask. Its making me so curious to find out more about these potions and whoever is behind them!!
It is so sad to see Ron doubting himself because of the deaths of the aurors, its funny really, but thats exactly how Harry would have reacted, and I think this shows the similarities between their characters – so often we are shown their differences – and it’s very interesting to finally see some of their key similarities.

Who is this witch?!!? I’m so impatient. I’m surprised it’s a woman, call me stereotypical but I presumed it would be a man.
Ginny and Hermione were so loving, I adored that little scene between them, it was so intimate and beautifully subtle.

I love how Kick- Ginny is in this chapter. I adored this chapter all together, thanks for posting!
Arnel
Friday 13th May 2011 09:10
6: Action (Author Response)
I'm having so much fun reading everyone's speculation about who the female villain is because some people are getting all the clues right and some of the guesses are so far-fetched that they leave me chuckling.

Thank you for letting me know that you identify with the story in some way. I've had other reviewers mention why they do, too, and I'm very glad that what I've written seems plausible and possibly even real.

There will be much more about Ron and the Aurors in coming chapters. They're the ones responsible for finding and stopping the people who are victimizing others, so they'll be in the thick of things until the mystery is solved. Since Ron has been given the responsibility to head the investigation, he's now learning what it might have been like to be Harry when the two were at Hogwarts and Harry was under so much pressure. I do think that Ron has matured a great deal in the twenty-odd years since then and because he had such a great set of role models in Arthur and Molly, he's using what he learned from them growing up and is applying it to his job and home life.

I'm so glad you liked the chapter and thank you for telling me what you enjoyed. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
GoDons
Thursday 12th May 2011 18:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

6: Action
Action...and the pieces are all starting to come together. Really enjoyable chapter and my favourite scenes were the meeting that Ginny had called; the H/G scene in Harry's room etc. Looking forward to next week's instalment. Well done.
Arnel
Friday 13th May 2011 08:37
6: Action (Author Response)
Action takes the story forward and that's what I tried to do in this chapter. I'm glad you liked it. Angry!Ginny was fun to write but the story needed some good, old-fashioned H/G romance, too. Thanks for telling me your favorite parts. Until next week...
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 12th May 2011 15:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

6: Action
This is an excellent chapter and I really like the way that Healer Stillwell has researched and dealt with all the different problems with Harry injuries. He has done an excellent job. YOU TOO! Your writing skills are terrific. The detective work was very well described. It was really sad that Ron lost a whole forensic team but now they know to look for observers around the crime scene. That and they will know that someone was ouside Harry's room trying to do him more harm which they did. The fact that Harry's feelings are improving is great. I'm so glad Ginny was there when he woke up. They need the possitive to help improve their own spirits. The fact that Ginny has started the ball rolling to improve health care at St. Mungos and the rehab center will make a big difference in health care in the wizarding world. Now all they have to do is find the woman in St. Mungos that is behind this attack. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Friday 13th May 2011 08:58
6: Action (Author Response)
Yippee! to you for figuring out where the female villain works! I've had all sorts of crazy speculation in the reviews and it's fun to find that you have all the clues correct at the moment!

I love writing detailed descriptions of things because it's the details that makes a scene real.

As for Ginny, you're right that she's fighting not only for him but for the rest of the British Wizarding population. She sees a place where she can possibly do some good and because she's who she is, she has the pull and the resources to help that good come about. However, both she and Harry need to reestablish the level of romance they shared prior to his accident and so far, there really hasn't been room for something like that in their relationship. They say time heals all things, so we'll just have to wait to see what happens to them romantically.

I appreciate your thoughts and look forward to your next week's review.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 12th May 2011 13:45


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

6: Action
I am certainly in awe of the level of detail you use to make this a more exciting story.
the Healer would be using a high-powered light microscope which was lit using an oil lamp with a specialized lens. This lens was reminiscent of those used in Nineteenth- and Twentieth- Century lighthouse lamps and would focus and magnify the feeble light source many times over until it was nearly as bright as sunlight.


I do have a question about why Harry would be sent to the morgue rather then recovery-
"Do not send the patient upstairs to the morgue yet,"


Hell hath no fury like a woman who does not receive credit for her contributions-
Stilwell—the meddling —made her skin crawl at the thought of his smarmy deference to his patients. Sure, he'd worked some minor miracles on his patients right after the war, miracles that had used the potions and charms she had developed! Stilwell had taken all the credit, when half of it was hers! He'd taken all the reward money, he'd given interview after interview and not once had he mentioned her. He would pay when Harry Potter died and the truth of how he died—because of his arrogance and negligence—came out in the Prophet. The woman went back to work, back to the decision on how to long she needed to lay low before she tested her newest potions on her next victim.



I am sure we will find out more about Silvia Redmond.
Arnel
Friday 13th May 2011 08:46
6: Action (Author Response)
Do you remember how Harry "escaped" St Mungo's at the end of chapter three? The Ministry car was parked just outside and the reporters were none the wiser. Healer Stilwell is using the morgue this way again not only for Harry's safety, but for the convenience it gives his patient and his family.

I'll ask you this... why would someone who is young and dedicated to working with injured patients and who has only a rudimentary knowledge of potions want to harm Harry or Healer Stilwell? Besides, the villain works at St Mungo's and not The Groves. Yes, we'll find out a little more about Silvia, but nothing that will incriminate her. Good guess, though.

Thank you for your thoughtful review.
  Quote
Showing 1 to 7 of 7
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004