Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
Caesarcaesar
Wednesday 8th June 2011 11:49


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

8: Sorrow
Arnel
Wednesday 8th June 2011 21:07
8: Sorrow (Author Response)
Thank you.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Monday 6th June 2011 16:42


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

8: Sorrow
Awh I feel bad for the Potter kids! Harry shouldnt get mad at them... but alas thats what happens when your injured like that...
Arnel
Tuesday 7th June 2011 01:30
8: Sorrow (Author Response)
I feel sorry for them, too. Unfortunately, when a person in Harry's shoes is struggling physically and mentally with the changes in his/her body, that struggle carries over into how he/she treats others. Harry's having a hard time coping with his new limitations, so when he realized his children were seeing him in his vulnerable state--a first for them--he reacted negatively instead of positively. Thanks for reviewing.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Friday 3rd June 2011 06:39


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

8: Sorrow
This was a sad chapter to read, but all the reactions are so understandable and believeable.

I'm losing my trust in Sylvia, however. Something about her is bothering me. She knows how proud Harry is, and how having everyone walk on him before he's accepted things for himself seemed rather cruel. The revelation that she's also a witch caught my attention as well.

We'll have to watch and see. Thanks for keeping the updates regular!
Arnel
Friday 3rd June 2011 13:24
8: Sorrow (Author Response)
You're welcome. I'm enjoying the weekly opportunity to respond to my readers and as I go through each chapter before I send it to Aggiebell for posting, I'm reminded of little things I mentioned in prior chapters that now hold great importance in later chapters.

Please don't be angry at Silvia. She's human and sometimes she makes mistakes or misjudements like the rest of us. She, Ginny and even Harry knew the children were coming to see The Groves in this chapter, it just wasn't mentioned by any of the characters. Also, if you read the scene outside the PT room before the children go in, it's Albus who impulsively charges inside, catching the adults unaware so that his mother only has time to utter, "oh no" before chasing after him. It was never intended for the children to invade the PT room while their father was working with Silvia: she and Ginny had an agreement that the children would watch through the windows and then have time to ask Harry their questions later after Silvia had talked with Harry. (At the time, Silvia was very certain that Harry would have wanted his children to learn about his progress.) Anyway, Silvia is a Muggle-born witch who works with many magical as well as Muggle patients at The Groves and because of who she works with she needs to be cognizant of the accidental magic some of her magical patients may do when frustrated or angry and be able to counter it or repair the damage they've done.

I hope this helps. Thank you for your thoughtful review.
  Quote
hedwig_edwiges
Friday 27th May 2011 01:13


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 34

8: Sorrow
Maybe make the objects around Albus dance like "Be our guest" in Disney's Beauty and the Beast. Not only during a meal, but during classes, or in the corridors. Everytime Albus enters somewhere, there's a minute or two that the objects dance around him.
Arnel
Friday 27th May 2011 22:49
8: Sorrow (Author Response)
Thanks for the idea! It sounds like a fun scene to write. I appreciate you taking the time to share your idea with me.
  Quote
GoDons
Thursday 26th May 2011 19:15


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

8: Sorrow
Really enjoyed this chapter. My heart went out to Lily an the rest of the Potters when Harry got angry at them for finding him crawling about in the PT room. I'm sure he'll come round eventually, though, and accept that he has physical limitations and, more to the point, be comfortable with his family seeing him like that. Thank you for sharing.
Arnel
Thursday 26th May 2011 21:37
8: Sorrow (Author Response)
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about this chapter. Because of the attitude Harry has taken it's very hard for him to have his children see him so vulnerable. His chidren needed to see the reality of his condition even though it hurt them emotionally. Hopefully, he will learn listen to his children tell him what he's told them for years: it's what's inside you that counts, not what your outside looks like.

Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 26th May 2011 15:24


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

8: Sorrow
This is a sad chapter. It is unfortunate but true that very proud people like Harry hate being seen in awkward positions like crawling on the floor. The fact that he stayed so angry was stupid but understandable. I'm glad that Ginny and her mom and dad stayed and chewed Harry out. He needed to be reminded that his children love him and want to see him. Of course he is still angry about what has happened to him. It was sad about Ron talking to Brodie about his girlfriend that died but I'm glad that Ron was able to be so forthright with him. That helped to let Brodie know he wasn't the only one who had ever felt the way he does right now. I'm glad that Ron let him know he could talk to Ron any time he wanted to. I look forward to more of this story. Thanks for writing. p
Arnel
Thursday 26th May 2011 21:49
8: Sorrow (Author Response)
The friend who is helping me with the thoughts and feelings of a newly-diabled person told me that if the victim's children are old enough, it's best to let them know the truth about their parent. Harry's children needed to see him struggle so they'd understand the true extent of his limitations. That they also felt the brunt of his frustration and anger is unfortunate, but it's a testimony to how much his children love him that they still want to see and be near him.

You had a very good idea about the need for a talk between Ron and Brodie. Thank you for the comment that became that section. It helped give closure to what happened in the woods and I think, brought the two men closer together.

Until next FLoF Day...
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 26th May 2011 13:10


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

8: Sorrow
Sorry about the spell checker substitution of 'nights' for 'nuggets'. It makes for a strange picture.
Arnel
Thursday 26th May 2011 21:50
8: Sorrow (Author Response)
Spell checkers can do the strangest things sometimes.
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 26th May 2011 13:08


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

8: Sorrow
There are so many nights tucked into this chapter. Molly's wise comments about how Harry and George are responding alike was a gem. I giggled at this truth-
“I’ve known many a mother-in-law who has set many of my patients straight one way or another.



This nearly broke my heart-
Her dad didn’t say anything. He didn’t even look at her.

Lily pulled back, stung. He always had a special “hello” for his “sweet pea” and he always returned her hugs.
Arnel
Thursday 26th May 2011 21:56
8: Sorrow (Author Response)
I love writing Molly Weasley. She's so wise and caring and Silvia seemed to know that a good talking-to from Molly was something Harry needed to hear.

Harry's being very self-centered and unkind at the moment and it doesn't seem to register with him that Lily is offering her unconditional love. Hopefully, he'll realize how his actions and comments hurt the people he loves and do some apologizing.

Thanks for your review. Until next Thursday...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Thursday 4th December
Author: Antosha
Story: The F Words 12: Found
Wednesday 3rd December
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 1st December
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Saturday 8th November
Author: parakletos
Story: Stronger and Harder Than A Bad Girl's Dream
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004