Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For Harry Potter and the Sword of Gryffindor by Hank

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
cam
Friday 27th April 2012 13:07


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

16: Repossessed
This story is fantastic.

Is it abandoned?
Hank
Sunday 29th April 2012 18:33
16: Repossessed (Author Response)
No, unfortunately reality has been getting into the way of my plans to update. I've also exhausted my initial timeline and I really need to construct another before I move foward too much. I am working on the next two chapters. I just need to figure out how I'm going to integrate a crucial scene between Harry and Ginny. It's the point in the story where Harry finally realizes just how special Ginny is. Of course there is also going to be some fun with Dumbledore and Snape, too. Don't worry, I haven't given up on this story. It just has to sit on the backburner for a while until I can break loose some free time.

BTW - thanks for the kind review! I greatly appreciate it!
  Quote
zak.thomas@education.nsw.gov.au
Wednesday 20th July 2011 00:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

16: Repossessed
great stuff love your story's
Hank
Wednesday 20th July 2011 09:00
16: Repossessed (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! Chapter 17 is in the works, but it might be a bilt slow in coming out. I need to develope a new time line as my old one has just about run out...
  Quote
zak.thomas@education.nsw.gov.au
Wednesday 20th July 2011 00:57


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

16: Repossessed
great stuff love your story's
  Quote
johnapple
Monday 11th July 2011 11:53


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

16: Repossessed
I like this story very much. While i think Harry and Dumbledore should work together ; I don't think Harry should ever be on friendly terms with Dumbledore - just cordial working terms.
I am a 64 year old grandfather of 5. I would never let one of my grand children, nor any of my 3 children even stay is a school with those so called "professors" .
Those people seem to be more worried how they are respected by students instead of caring for the students.
I see no redeeming qualities in Snape. An hole is an hole- the only thing that ever comes out of an hole is ; and Snape is full of it.
Thank you for your wonderful story.
Hank
Monday 11th July 2011 12:44
16: Repossessed (Author Response)
I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! Yes, Snape is a you-know-what and it is beyond me that anyone would allow someone like that to teach children. That being said, JKR sure has created some interesting characters, hasn't she? And I hate to admit it, but Snape is one of my more favorite characters to write. I guess I've been around so many sociopaths that it's easy writing for that character... Pity poor Harry as his destiny in this story is going to be evermore intertwined with that of Snape. Things will get easier with Dumbledore, but then again, Harry has always been just a piece on a chessboard in a game being played between Tom Riddle and Dumbledore... Cheers!
  Quote
johnapple
Monday 11th July 2011 11:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 28

16: Repossessed
I like this story very much. While i think Harry and Dumbledore should work together ; I don't think Harry should ever be on friendly terms with Dumbledore - just cordial working terms.
I am a 64 year old grandfather of 5. I would never let one of my grand children, nor any of my 3 children even stay is a school with those so called "professors" .
Those people seem to be more worried how they are respected by students minsteas of caring for the students.
I see no redeeming qualities in Snape. An hole is an hole- the only thing that ever comes out of an hole is ; and Snape is full of it.
Thank you for your wonderful story.
  Quote
Rocky692000
Sunday 5th June 2011 13:25


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

16: Repossessed
good chapter keep em coming really enjoying reading this
Hank
Monday 6th June 2011 08:28
16: Repossessed (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! Chapter 17 may be a little while in coming (hopefully not as long as chapter 15). I've got to create a new timeline to work from and flesh out the existing draft.
  Quote
Dad
Sunday 5th June 2011 12:41


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 482

16: Repossessed
I think Harry needs a short talk with Dumbledore and tell him to get lost if he allows Snape to continue as he is.
Hank
Monday 6th June 2011 08:36
16: Repossessed (Author Response)
Heh... Gotta love Snape. I'm planning on growing Snape's character over the course of this story, much like I'm planning to do with Dumbledore. He and Harry will become closer, just don't expect Snape to be any nicer to him. In my opinion he has to maintain a front which will allow him to pass for a spy within the circle of Deatheaters and more criticaly, Voldemort. He has a tricky path to follow. In order to be of use to Dumbledore he has to remain able to move in Deatheater circles. In order to do that he has to appear evil. In order to appear evil, he has to be evil (to a certain degree).

In the next chapter, you will see more of what I'm talking about. I just don't want to give it away yet...
  Quote
Melindaleo
Friday 3rd June 2011 06:36


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

16: Repossessed
Thanks for the shout out, and it's nice to see you back and posting again. I've waited a long time for that breakdown!

I loved Hermione in the last chapter and was so happy it was Ron that got through to her. While I didn't mind seeing Draco get what's coming to him at all, I'm sorry it resulted in Harry having to talk to DD. I enjoyed seeing Harry stand up for himself. This DD is not as endearing or loveable.

My favorite at the moment is McGonagall. I'm eager to see her take on the Quidditch league, and my money is on her. It's nice to see her warmer side and being so protective. I wouldn't want to go up against her.
Hank
Friday 3rd June 2011 09:04
16: Repossessed (Author Response)
Melinda - thanks for the review! It's good to hear from you again! Yeah, guilty as charged - I've been letting this sit for way too long. Oddly enough, most of this chapter was already written. I was just trying to get through chapter 15 (an exercise I really did not like). Then, once 15 was finally finished, I decided that I wanted to make chapter 16 a lttle longer. I needed something to set Harry off before meeting Dumbledore and Snape volunteered to do it for me. I can always count on him!

Be patient with Dumbledore. I promise things are going to swing around in the next chapter. He's already started it by handing Hermione her Prefect badge back. The turnaround will become more evident in chapter 17. Of course, given his position in the war against Voldemort he will always be keeping some secrets...

I'm surprised you didn't mention Snape. He's the one you need to keep your eyes on. Re-read that last bit about Snape in chapter 16. Hold on to your hat because Harry is going to be in for an extremely wild ride with our favorite Potions Master!
  Quote
LeprechaunJV
Thursday 2nd June 2011 21:16


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 131

16: Repossessed
Nice Chapter....

Hank
Friday 3rd June 2011 09:07
16: Repossessed (Author Response)
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed it!
  Quote
Grandma Kate
Thursday 2nd June 2011 14:52


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 966

16: Repossessed
Hank, congratulations on posting your story at Phoenix Song. I've just read the first sixteen chapters and am enjoying it tremendously. You write well and paint memorable pictures of your characters. It is very hard to maintain sympathy for Dumbledore and Snape while reporting on their actions. Good Job.
Hank
Thursday 2nd June 2011 18:21
16: Repossessed (Author Response)
Thank you for your kind words. I must acknowledge my betas, Nancy, Shannon, Rachel, Magnolia Momma, Sonic Dale, Pascal, and especially Orca who helped develop my writings. Without them, this story wouldn't be nearly as good as it is. This story is actually quite old and they have all help along the line.

As far as Dumbledore goes, it is my intention to develop and humanize his character to a greater extent than JKR did. This story was originally conceived shortly after Order of the Phoenix came out. It was my thought that it would take a great deal more between Harry and Dumbledore to bring them back together, especially after Dumbledore ignored and just about abandoned Harry during book 5. This has been part of the storyline: it just has to get to the part where Dumbledore realizes his mistake. McGonnagall has just about gotten him there. This chapter will push him over the edge and make him realize what he has done. You will see this bare fruit in chapter 17.

As far as Snape goes, it is my intention to retain him as an enigma. Harry's apology has changed things a little bit. Harry's revelation as (oops, I can't give this away yet) will change things even more. We will get to see some more of what makes Snape tick, too.

At the point where I am now in the story I've got to make a decision on how much canon to incorporate going forward. This story was conceived with the idea of propagating the existing canon forward and this juncture will allow me to insert the horcruxes into the story. I'm still figuring this out and I want to determine how far to go. The original ending I have in mind is still valid as far as I'm concerned, I just need to determine how far to detour into canon and then go back into the original plot plan.

Thanks for the review!!!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004