Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For For Love of Family by Arnel

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
enyd1
Thursday 19th January 2012 10:56


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

9: Letters
I started to read your story just a few days ago. Even though it is the exam period and I should be studying I can't stop myself from reading chapter after chapter.
Your writing is excellent. The characters are really well developed, I like the way you made them grow and mature on one hand and on the other stay as they had been written by JKR. I also love the way you portrayed Lily, Albus and James.
This chapter was really moving, Harry's finding the letters and finally replying his children nearly made me cry. I totally appreciate your writing the story very emotional and thrilling at the same time.
It is one of the best fan fictions I have ever read.
I can't wait to read some more tonight and learn more about the investigation.
Keep it up, you are a great author ;-)
Arnel
Thursday 19th January 2012 21:08
9: Letters (Author Response)
I'm so glad you're taking the time to read my story. I've had lots of fun writing about forty-something Harry, Ginny, Ron, Hermione and their children because they're in the same age-decade as I am. That makes it easy to retain their original personalities as well as give them a maturity and responsibility they didn't have in canon.

You're right about there being lots of emotional ups and downs. Even though Harry has settled down some, there's still a lot of angst and fluff to come. Maybe by the time you finish reading the entire story I'll have finished and posted the Epilogue and you won't have to wait to find out how everything turns out!

Thanks for writing to me. I appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with me.
  Quote
Caesarcaesar
Tuesday 21st June 2011 09:29


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 27

9: Letters
Again my apologies for being a late reviewer, i'll be reviewing all three chapters now and hope you don't mind the delay!

This chapter was wonderful, it nearly made me cry when Harry found the letters and was absolutely devastated to realise how negligent he had been. I'm so glad, and touched, that he has come around and realised his biggest mistake was hurting those closest to him.

I feel the children'd united front was a beautiful way to show how fantastic Ginny and Harry have been as parents and how their own values have really helped build their children into strong, independent kids who are really willing to work together in a completely selfless way to try and help their father.

I hope we see more of Ron, I feel like he's always been a rock for Harry - and he's matured wonderfully in this fic, as I think he would do. JKRowling would probably be proud reading this - you've done the characters so much justice.

The investigation is really getting interesting and I can't wait to read more and find out more about this suspect!!
Arnel
Tuesday 21st June 2011 21:22
9: Letters (Author Response)
I absolutely love new reviews no matter when they come in.

You're right about how much influence parents have over their children. I've always thought Arthur and Molly raised Ginny and her brothers to be loving, caring people as well as setting the best example of what parents should be for Harry since he spent so many summers with the Weasley family. That the values Arthur and Molly instilled in Ginny and Harry are carrying over to the Potter children is definitely a testiment to Harry and Ginny's use of the values they learned at the Burrow.

You will definitely see more of Ron in coming chapters. One of my other reviewers called him the "go-to" guy for all those mourning loss of life and use of limb. His own life experiences will help him help others as well as close the case on the suspects who insist on experimenting on innocent people.

I'm sincerely glad you enjoyed this chapter and were willing to write such a marvelous review. I look forward to your next one.
  Quote
winslow
Thursday 9th June 2011 08:16


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

9: Letters
I am really enjoying your story! This chapter was so very well done and so moving! Harry has always been a moody git, but it's good to see his love overcoming his darkness. Your letters were perfect for the age of the kids. I'm heading to your latest chapter now... Thanks for writing!
Arnel
Thursday 9th June 2011 09:02
9: Letters (Author Response)
It was definitely time to have Harry pull himself out of his moody self-absorption and only his children's love could make him realize what he was doing to himself and them. I had a lot of fun writing those letters because I needed to go back into CoS and GoF to recall what sorts of things Harry had done in class during those years.

I hope you'll like the next chapter. Thanks for writing.
  Quote
gymnastgal19
Monday 6th June 2011 22:04


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 2461

9: Letters
awh! Thats awesome! Those letters were very well written!
I am loving this story! Normally I dont read stories until they have been completed becuase i have zero patience, but this plot sounded pretty interesting, and Ive read everything else
Please update soon! I dont know how much longer I can wait to read the rest of the story!
Arnel
Tuesday 7th June 2011 01:53
9: Letters (Author Response)
The good news is... I post every Thursday. The bad news... you have to wait three more days until the next chapter is posted!

I had fun writing the letters. The childrens' personalities are so different that each letter needed to reflect their individual spirits. I'm glad you liked them.

Thanks for all the thumbs up. I look forward to your next review. Thanks for writing to me.
  Quote
Melindaleo
Friday 3rd June 2011 07:01


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 457

9: Letters
Very nice update, and it's such a relief to see a little progress being made. I'm particularly glad to see Ron going to visit Harry. Harry needs him, even if he doesn't admit it.

I loved how you got George involved in this too and hope the lead will continue to bring more clues to who has done this to Harry and how ti fix it.
Arnel
Friday 3rd June 2011 13:46
9: Letters (Author Response)
You sound much happier in this review! And yes, it was about time Harry realized he was only hurting himself and accepted the love and support his children are willing to give him.

Would you believe that George has been involved from the beginning? His involvement has been subtle, but it's been there since the first chapter and he'll continue to be important to the rest of the story as well.

Thanks for your thoughtful review.
  Quote
GoDons
Thursday 2nd June 2011 21:28


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 22

9: Letters
A very emotional chapter, balanced out with a bit of commic relief in places. Harry has come a long way, and I'm so happy to see he's communicating with his children and family again. He's right too in that it what's inside him that counts, not always what he looks like on the outside. Looking forward to next week's instalment, and much thanks.
Arnel
Friday 3rd June 2011 02:18
9: Letters (Author Response)
When I write my more emotional chapters I try very hard to give them balance because that's the way real life works. I hope my writing mirrors that reality. Harry has taken a long time to discover that the love he feels from his family is unconditional and that his children love him no matter what. Next week's chapter is rather emotional, too, but on a different level. Thanks for your kind review. Until next week...
  Quote
Patches
Thursday 2nd June 2011 14:32


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 1157

9: Letters
This is excellent. I am so glad that Harry finally got out of his pitty party and read his mail. The fact that it finally occurred to him that his children love him as he is not as he thinks he should be was excellent. I'm glad Ginny let him find this out on his own and that Ron was there when he finally realized he needed to talk to Ron. That helped them both to get back together. It is really something when a detail about a prank was the catalyst that helped them in their research on the case. I'm glad Harry wrote to the kids and aplogized to them for his behavior. I'm sure they are all old enough to forgive him for his recent actions because he was hurt so badly and needed to recover mentally as well as physically. I look foward to more of this story. Just a side note. I have been reviewing a story I really enjoy and was surprised that the author asked me not to reveal so much about a chapter in my review because they didn't want other reader's to learn so much about the chapter before they read it. I think people that read reviews before the chapter are ruining the enjoyment of reading the story by looking at other people's opinion first. The author should realize that people will do what they do and not worry about what the fans read first. I guess I should write that to the author in question. Thanks for listening to my ramble. p
Arnel
Thursday 2nd June 2011 15:49
9: Letters (Author Response)
I'm glad you chose me to listen to your rant. I'm quickly learning that there are lots of people who try to decide on which story to spend their time reading by looking at the reviews. I'm one of those authors who likes the practice because even though reviewers inevitably put spoilers in their reviews, those spoilers, in my opinion, just make the prospective reader want to find out how the author approaches the events in the chapter/story. If you're wondering whether or not to continue writing such detailed reviews to me, please continue to do so. I enjoy reading your opinions.

I'm really glad you approve of how Harry finally decided that he needed to stop feeling sorry for himself and accept the love and support of his family. As a mother, I watch my ten-year-old son testing his limitations almost every day and I am of the firm opinion that if a lesson needs to be learned the hard way, then that's the way it should be. Once Harry learned the lesson he needed to, he was able to put aside his anger at Ron, too. And yes, Harry's children did accept his appologies.

Thanks for writing. I look forward to your next week's reveiw.
  Quote
yiota
Thursday 2nd June 2011 13:48


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 15

9: Letters
Finally! Harry has made the progress that was important for him to make: he realised he needs to stop shutting his family out. Mental well-being is one of the most important factors that influence recovery. I'm looking forward to the next chapter!
Arnel
Thursday 2nd June 2011 15:38
9: Letters (Author Response)
I completely agree with you. Accepting the love of your family is one of the main themes in this story because it's the people who love you how stick with you through thick and thin. Harry needed to learn this the hard way and now that he has, his recovery will definitely take a turn for the better. More excitement next chapter...
  Quote
Showing 1 to 8 of 8
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004