Register | Login
Story of the Week: You Know Who's On First By Iniga  Image of the Week: Quidditch victory By AgiVega  
LATEST STORIES AUTHORS TOP 10
STORIES OF THE WEEK COMPETITIONS SEARCH

Reviews For That Terrifying Momentum by Caleb Nova

Review Navigation:PreviousNextShow All
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
kopfsalat2000
Sunday 14th October 2012 15:59


3rd year
Num. of Reviews: 125

30: Core Competencies
Hello there,
I might have been a little harsh in my last review - let me make it up to you by saying that this chapter was fine and just made me want more of that stuff
Cheers.
Caleb Nova
Monday 15th October 2012 01:21
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
Well, there's a little more to be had.
  Quote
KickedAbyss
Tuesday 2nd August 2011 04:32


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 2

30: Core Competencies
Uhm. Cliffhanger anyone? This story took some getting used to, but in terms of interesting reads and proper use of the English language it gets top marks.

I need more! Why does it say completed!?
Caleb Nova
Sunday 21st August 2011 00:16
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
Uhm. Cliffhanger anyone? This story took some getting used to, but in terms of interesting reads and proper use of the English language it gets top marks.


Thank you. I know it was a difficult concept, but I tried very hard to sell it.

I need more! Why does it say completed!?


Because this story is completed. There won't be any more chapters for That Terrifying Momentum. There may, however, be more chapters of something else.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Saturday 16th July 2011 17:14


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

30: Core Competencies
P.S. Although I stand by what I said before, I must admit that in cases such as the one you presented in the last chapter/author's note (C/A/N ?) where the future status of the story is unclear, a short chapter with less wait time can be more satisfying in bringing the news earlier that the story will continue.
Though sincere and original, this came to my mind when I read another review after posting mine. In your response to that review, you said the next phase was in the works, but in your response to other reviews you called this an epilogue-type piece. So now I am confused and anxious again; is this the end of your work on this story, or not?
Caleb Nova
Sunday 31st July 2011 02:46
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
P.S. Although I stand by what I said before, I must admit that in cases such as the one you presented in the last chapter/author's note (C/A/N ?) where the future status of the story is unclear, a short chapter with less wait time can be more satisfying in bringing the news earlier that the story will continue.


Probably.

Though sincere and original, this came to my mind when I read another review after posting mine. In your response to that review, you said the next phase was in the works, but in your response to other reviews you called this an epilogue-type piece. So now I am confused and anxious again; is this the end of your work on this story, or not?


This story is finished. There won't be another chapter of That Terrifying Momentum. As for whether there will be more chapters of something else... I've done some work, but nothing is finalized.
  Quote
The Pharaoh
Saturday 16th July 2011 17:01


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 41

30: Core Competencies
I've said it before I think, but I don't know about the majority of readers, but I presonally find long chapters to be better, and very long chapters to be best, especially when chapters are months+ apart. I would rather wait longer and read a more substantial chapter than have more, shorter chapters and more frequently relive the frustration and anxiety of having nothing left to read in one of my favorite stories ever and wanting to read more. That said, it is of course up to you.
Regarding the elements of the chapter itself, it seems as close to a "filler" episode of an anime series as I can remember seeing in writing off the top of my head (though that doesn't say much as I can rarely recall much off the top of myy head). I mean this only in the sense of the role a filler episode plays in relation to the entire series, not to compare your work with anime. It displays certain known characteristics of main charaters (mostly Scott) without moving the plot forward, almost like a rehash, and most likely is meant to hold the audience over until something of more densely plot-moving content substance is developed and put out. For example, it seemed like you were playing up Scott's verbal wit; his careless?/playful? personality (I don't really know how to describe it), with his climbing in through the window and sitting on the swings' bar; and his war-centric professionalism where Harry, etc. would balk, with the bait idea.

I understand this is the last period of time when Harry could be reasonably expected to come near Surrey or that playground, but is your mentioning the concept of coming full circle, and writing this scene in the first place, way before the story's over, a reflection of uncertainty about/unwillingness to continue writing this story that you might have?
Caleb Nova
Sunday 31st July 2011 02:44
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
I've said it before I think, but I don't know about the majority of readers, but I presonally find long chapters to be better, and very long chapters to be best, especially when chapters are months+ apart. I would rather wait longer and read a more substantial chapter than have more, shorter chapters and more frequently relive the frustration and anxiety of having nothing left to read in one of my favorite stories ever and wanting to read more. That said, it is of course up to you.


I usually write a chapter until I think it's done. The chapters are unified with a common theme or just a single period of time, or maybe even a series of events that I wanted captured in one go. When that's done, so is the chapter. In the middle of the story this lead to some very long sections, long enough I felt it prudent to cut them in half. Later, when some of the plot was more action oriented, the chapters became shorter. There's no definable method to it... I stop a chapter when I think it should be stopped.

Regarding the elements of the chapter itself, it seems as close to a "filler" episode of an anime series as I can remember seeing in writing off the top of my head (though that doesn't say much as I can rarely recall much off the top of myy head). I mean this only in the sense of the role a filler episode plays in relation to the entire series, not to compare your work with anime.


I'm glad you're not making that comparison, because I can't stand anime.

It displays certain known characteristics of main charaters (mostly Scott) without moving the plot forward, almost like a rehash, and most likely is meant to hold the audience over until something of more densely plot-moving content substance is developed and put out. For example, it seemed like you were playing up Scott's verbal wit; his careless?/playful? personality (I don't really know how to describe it), with his climbing in through the window and sitting on the swings' bar; and his war-centric professionalism where Harry, etc. would balk, with the bait idea.


It's an epilogue, nothing else. It brings things back where they started, answers a few questions, and leaves room for more.

I understand this is the last period of time when Harry could be reasonably expected to come near Surrey or that playground


That's true, but not really the point.

but is your mentioning the concept of coming full circle, and writing this scene in the first place, way before the story's over, a reflection of uncertainty about/unwillingness to continue writing this story that you might have?


Yes and no. If I decided not to continue (or to leave it sitting for some time) then I wanted a better closing chapter than I left you with. If I chose to continue immediately, then I set the stage for the next part. Which of these decisions I made is not entirely clear to me yet.
  Quote
xaphanea
Sunday 19th June 2011 20:05


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 19

30: Core Competencies
I'm so incredibly excited. I was hoping so badly that you would continue this story. Bravo! An excellent start to the next phase of your story! I laughed rather heartily over Harry getting aroused about Ginny all tied up. ;D Keep it up!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th July 2011 01:15
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
I'm so incredibly excited. I was hoping so badly that you would continue this story. Bravo! An excellent start to the next phase of your story!


Still undecided what the next phase will be, but it's in the works.

I laughed rather heartily over Harry getting aroused about Ginny all tied up.


And, really, what's not arousing about that?

Keep it up!


And a very sincere 'keep on truckin'' to you too.
  Quote
scwatcher
Monday 13th June 2011 22:23


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 8

30: Core Competencies
And here I thought Scott and Harry were on an extended sabbatical.

Your line, "And core competencies is pointless business jargon designed to express a very simple concept in a complicated way so that it takes up more time at meetings, Scott explained." is one of the painful truths of being in the corporate world.

Synergy, ecumenical and self evaluation are more of the same. The amount of life that can leak away in meetings is astounding.

Thanks for the update.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th July 2011 01:09
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
And here I thought Scott and Harry were on an extended sabbatical.


They were, for a time. What comes next is still up in the air, but at least partially written.

Your line, "And core competencies is pointless business jargon designed to express a very simple concept in a complicated way so that it takes up more time at meetings, Scott explained." is one of the painful truths of being in the corporate world.


I just enjoy deliberately obtuse expressions like that. Especially synergy. Synergy!

Thanks for the update.


Thanks for the review.
  Quote
Glacialis1
Monday 13th June 2011 21:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 6

30: Core Competencies
Not exactly your most exciting chapter, of course any Chapter with Scott's sarcasm is worth reading. I am just excited you have decided to continue. I like that you had Harry and Scott return to where it all started for them, very poetic. Can't wait to see what comes next.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th July 2011 01:07
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
It's just a little epilogue. I wasn't trying to be exciting or drop big plot revelations. It's my outro. Glad you enjoyed the sarcasm.
  Quote
Dad
Monday 13th June 2011 11:12


Hogwarts alumni
Num. of Reviews: 482

30: Core Competencies
Good talk, though the plot did not advance too much. It may have needed an Author`s note (No. That`s a lie)!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th July 2011 01:06
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
Yeah, it didn't need a note. It's an epilogue, and I think I tested everyone's patience with the previous chapter.
  Quote
Chatmandu
Monday 13th June 2011 10:34


4th year
Num. of Reviews: 153

30: Core Competencies
Well...

5 points for the clever canon way of letting us know how to correctly pronounce Scott's name and race. 10 points for not using Viktor Krum to do it.
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th July 2011 01:06
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
I think I should have earned triple points if I'd figured out some way to shoehorn Krum into this story at all. I don't know why or how I could possibly use him.
  Quote
Kori24601
Saturday 11th June 2011 23:51


1st year
Num. of Reviews: 39

30: Core Competencies
Awesome, Caleb! I was so happy to see that you added another chapter! I love the fact that Scott is showing up in the middle of the night and throwing rocks at Harry's window so they can "plan" lol. His "back up plan" is great!

It was also good to see Harry still thinking about Ginny. There hasn't been much Ginny and she's easy to forget about, good to know Harry hasn't forgotten her!

Your story is pure genius. I already know what's going to happen in a general sense, but it is so different and creative that it pulls me in and reminds me that I don't know what's going to happen at all lol.

Thanks so much for continuing this story!!!!!!!
Caleb Nova
Tuesday 5th July 2011 01:05
30: Core Competencies (Author Response)
Awesome, Caleb! I was so happy to see that you added another chapter! I love the fact that Scott is showing up in the middle of the night and throwing rocks at Harry's window so they can "plan" lol. His "back up plan" is great!


But were you as happy as I am to see another review? We should compare notes.

And yes, it's less of a backup plan and more of a doomsday scenario. Presumably, Harry wouldn't survive to see it.

It was also good to see Harry still thinking about Ginny. There hasn't been much Ginny and she's easy to forget about, good to know Harry hasn't forgotten her!


It's true that Ginny didn't show up much for the first half of the story, but I think she has a strong presence by the end. And hey, cut me a little slack. She has like, four lines in the real book six (and certainly no scenes from her POV).

Your story is pure genius. I already know what's going to happen in a general sense, but it is so different and creative that it pulls me in and reminds me that I don't know what's going to happen at all lol.


I like that description.

Thanks so much for continuing this story!!!!!!!


Thank you even more for continuing to review!
  Quote
Showing 1 to 10 of 10
If you enjoyed this work, take a moment to review the story. Your comments are their only payment.
This author is not accepting unsigned reviews.
Login for signed reviews.
Latest Stories
Sunday 24th August
Author: Caleb Nova
Story: Vis Insita
Monday 18th August
Author: St Margarets
Story: Mountains and Molehills
Thursday 31st July
Author: Wings
Story: Heart of Gold
Author: Arnel
Story: Ancestors
Sunday 13th April
Author: parakletos
Story: The Sins of the Fathers
Thursday 30th January
Author: Arnel
Story: Curing Dudley
Tuesday 24th December
Author: jedi34
Story: Flying Free
Sunday 15th December
Author: Author by Night
Story: So This Is Christmas
Sunday 27th October
Author: Antosha
Story: A New Life
Sunday 29th September
Author: St Margarets
Story: The Not-So-Newlywed Match
Author: GovCampbell
Story: Indefinite
Saturday 27th July
Author: Author by Night
Story: Thread
Wednesday 19th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: First Sight
Sunday 16th June
Author: Northumbrian
Story: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.
Author: Northumbrian
Story: Tales of the Battle
Saturday 13th April
Author: Northumbrian
Story: The Mind of Arthur Weasley
More
Perfect Imagination: A Harry Potter Beta Reader directory.
Latest Art
Tuesday 20th January 2009
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Lost Prophecy
Artist: tripperfunster
Image: Kitchen Argument
Artist: Hito
Image: Harry and Ginny
Saturday 10th January 2009
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Potter Cast Conquer Olympus I
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project-Ch.23, OotP
Artist: mary-dreams
Image: Remus and Tonks - More Than Meets the Eyes
Wednesday 15th October 2008
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Wiinter Ginny and Hermione
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Bellatrix Lestrange
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: The Silver Doe
Saturday 11th October 2008
Artist: Sanna
Image: Ginny Weasley and Harry Potter
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: HP Art Project
Wednesday 6th August 2008
Artist: GoldenSnitch33
Image: Holyhead Ginny
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Ginny Sneaks Into the Broomshed
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Trio-Hats
Artist: bludgerbanger
Image: Notorious Mass Murderer
Friday 13th June 2008
Artist: AgiVega
Image: Lily For Ever
Artist: roby_boh
Image: 1st Year Luna and Ginny
Friday 6th June 2008
Artist: Rae F
Image: A Family Christmas

Help keep Phoenixsong Running - Donate

Harry Potter is owned by J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, and its various affiliates. Without the brilliance of J.K. Rowling, PhoenixSong.net would never exist. The stories we've published here are manifestations of our appreciation for the world that she has created. That said, all fan fiction stories and artwork published on PhoenixSong.net are copyrighted by the listed authors and artists and may not be published or distributed elsewhere without the express permission of the authors and artists.

Artwork for Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione and Fawkes banners created by ReallyCorking (c) 2013

The Admins of PhoenixSong.net, 2004-2007

Code ©Jeconais, 2004